We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jailer's Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 10 Bardstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shepherdsville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I recently stayed one night at the Jailers Inn in the Garden room, which was very roomy and nice. However, I was very disappointed in the overall appearance of the outside property. The courtyard, where breakfast was served needed a lot of work! Any flowers present were dead, the well area was filthy, there was a broken rocking chair, and dead leaves from the previous fall littered the patio and walkway. A weed eater & blower would have done wonders to make the outside more appealing. It is in a great location, and Bardstown is beautiful, but I will not stay at the Jailers Inn again because for my money I prefer establishments that put more effort into the overall experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    48
    22
    12
    2
See reviews for
30
100
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hoxie, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The Jailer's Inn Bed and Breakfast was a delightful surprise! We first stayed there in 2010 on the spur of the moment and loved it so much that we returned this summer. The inn is situated in downtown historic Bardstown, KY next to other beautiful historic buildings, some of which date to the 1700s. There is not an elevator since the building is old, so be sure to request a bottom floor room if you are unable to climb a flight of stairs.

Paul, the host, was courteous and friendly. We stayed in the Garden Room during a hot spell and Paul was gracious enough to bring a window air unit and install it in our room. The room we stayed in was very spacious, including the private bath, and the beds were comfortable. There are some neat clues hidden around the room, so be ready to put on your detective hat!

Attached to the inn is an old jail which can be toured free as a guest of the inn. There are interesting artifacts left in the cells, too...

The inn is reported to be haunted, but we weren't aware of that when we first visited. However, one night around 1:00 a.m. we heard a metal door shut outside of our room, just as a jail door would sound. However, when I got up to investigate, I couldn't find a source for the sound. Hmmmm........

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlh112564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Jailer's Inn is an old converted Jail from the early 1800s. The rooms are very large although they could do with some minor renovations. The location is excellent if you are exploring Bardstown and/or the Bourbon Trail. The hosts are lovely and will give you a tour of their historic property. If you are looking for a B&B in Bardstown, I highly recommend giving this place a try!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerzeeGrlinEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nc
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this B&B in Bardstown, KY. It's fun telling others that we spent time in jail. Dixie was a very gracious hostess and made some delicious breakfasts for us. Felt very at home and comfortable staying here and meeting with other guests.

Room Tip: 2 rooms have queen beds, The Library and the Victorian Room. There is also 1 suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nc_sunny_bluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have to say the Jailer's Inn is a unique place. I mean, when will you PAY to stay in a jail by choice? We did. It was interesting. We were on the Bourbon Trail with another couple. We stayed in the family suite which was nice - the only issue was that it was a shared bathroom. The property could use some care: cleaning the front stoop, trash in the old well, sprucing up the back area where breakfast is served would help a lot. Dixie was our Inn-mate. She was hobbling around on her walking cast and was bruised all over from a second fall, but bless her, she was all over that place. Breakfast was not quite up to par with the other Inns or B and B's where we have stayed. The jail has a very interesting history. We really enjoyed that part of the stay. The jail cells, seeing photos of where the gallows were on property, stories and poems by the inmates all added to the "ambiance".

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ohkyflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branxton NSW
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

arrived late in the afternoon without a booking.. Greeted by wonderful hostess Dixie Travelling with another couple so were happy when able to get two rooms. Our "Colonial Room" had a mish mash of furniture & decoration that worked to provide a quirky experience. The bathroom included a jet bath big enough for two. Very comfortable bed. No hauntings on the night we stayed but enjoyed the atmosphere & overall experience. Loved the journal in our room, enjoyed reading comments from past guests. A shame some pages had been torn out of the journal.
Breakfast cooked & served in the back garden by Dixie was delicious. Enjoyed the tour of the old jail and stories shared by Dixie. Would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 5 is supposed to be the most haunted
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairypixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I took my husband to "jail" for his birthday and we had a great time. Paul is a wonderful host and the Inn is in an ideal location for exploring Bardstown, the Bourbon Trail, and My Old Kentucky Home. The breakfast at the Inn was scrumptious and there are lots of great places to eat within an easy walk. Highly recommended for a fun stay in the area!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTQSZ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bardstown
0.4 mi away
General Nelson Inn
General Nelson Inn
#2 of 8 in Bardstown
400 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Bardstown
Hampton Inn Bardstown
#1 of 8 in Bardstown
728 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Bardstown Inn
Old Bardstown Inn
#4 of 8 in Bardstown
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lebanon
Hampton Inn Lebanon
#1 of 2 in Lebanon
285 reviews
17.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Shepherdsville
0.9 mi away
Bourbon Manor Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jailer's Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailer's Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Jailer's Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 111 W Stephen Foster Ave, Bardstown, KY 40004-1415
Location: United States > Kentucky > Bardstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bardstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iron bars on windows, 30 inch thick limestone walls, and a heavy steel door slamming behind you may not sound like the typical tourist accommodation. However, Jailer's Inn is anything but typical. The historic Jailer's Inn, circa 1819, in the center of Bardstown, Kentucky offers a unique and luxurious way to "do time." Jailer's Inn is a place of wonderful, thought provoking contrasts. Each of our seven guest rooms are beautifully decorated with antiques and heirlooms, and offer private bathrooms, some with a double Jacuzzi. All located in the renovated front jail, built in 1819. The back jail, built in 1874, is basically unchanged; you get a chilling, sobering look at former conditions in the old Nelson County jail used in full operation up until 1987. Catch a glimpse of life seldom seen in these two historic jails listed on the National Registry of Historic Places. On spring and summer mornings, as you sip hot coffee and chat with other guests over a full breakfast in the courtyard, it's difficult to imagine all of the previous uses of the courtyard, a place to visit forlorn relatives or even the centralized location of the Nelson County gallows. Come "do time" in jail and unlock an adventure in history. Whether you sleep in the elegant Victorian Room, rest and read in the Library Room or enjoy the peaceful setting of the Garden Room, it will be a "captivating experience." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Jailer's Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jailer`s Inn b&b
Jailer`s Hotel Bardstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing