We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our third stay”
Review of Old Talbott Tavern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old Talbott Tavern
Ranked #5 of 10 Bardstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed for the third time in May, 2012. The Daniel Boone room is the one we always ask for. May is off season, I guess, because the room was very low priced. Meal was great, as always and we met a nice couple from Australia. When we drive through Kentucky, we detour to Talbott Tavern and Bardstown.

Room Tip: Daniel Boone Room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eleanor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 156 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I returned to the Old Talbott Tavern from a year ago and again had a delightful visit. Our lunch was served quickly and the staff was very friendly.

Just to walk around the Inn and to think who might have visited or stayed there is exciting in of itself (if you are a history buff). The location is excellent (center city circle area) for from here you can walk the whole downtown.

Great photo ops also.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrMarc9491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

It has been several months since I stayed at the Old Talbott Tavern and I am planning to go back soon. I stayed in "The Generals Quarters" The room was so lovely, staff was friendly and I loved roaming around and reading the historical facts and seeing pictures. I think we may have even caught a glimpse of a ghost! Can't wait to go back for another stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We travelled through town on our way back to Louisville from a Makers Mark Bourbon tour. The setting is quaint and very historic. The food was what you would expect in a tavern - good quality and reasonably priced. If you are driving through the area, it is worth a stop.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wally434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had read the reviews on this traven, and they were mixed. It was old and lots of histroy that is why we decided to give it a try.
I can say we were not dissapointed. The rooms were clean and nice size. Everyting you would need. I guess the olny thing I had concern for was no elevator. I have bad knees so that was a challenge. If you can't do stairs, you won't want to stay here.
The staff was friendly, the girl that checked us in was very helpful.
We did eat in the restaurant, was very interesting, We had a 6:30 reservation and had to wait. Also the service was slow and no refills on drinks. the food was good and hot, but average. We decided to walk down the street the following evening for dinner.
We did enjoy the bourbon bar, good music. Think my husband and I would stay again,if in the area.

Room Tip: Don't get a room over the bourbon bar, on nights with music if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ida F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was really impressed by the room at the Talbott Tavern. From the price, and the photos on the website, I was expecting something a little shabby. However, room was really comfy - spacious, great bed. Not super high luxe, but fine for a couple of nights.

We'd been warned about the noise from the band in the bar, as other reviewers have pointed out, as we were there on a Friday night. Yes, it was loud, but we'd been made aware, so we just went downstairs and enjoyed ourselves!

All in all, really pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USAroadtrip_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Lincoln room at the Old Talbott tavern recently and we absolutely loved our time at this historical must see.We stayed on a Friday night,and the band didn't bother us too bad,however the drunk smokers outside were VERY loud.There were no signs of ghosts or anything paranormal,but that's OK because that isn't why we stayed here. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly.We will definately stay here again,but maybe on a weeknight next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kejola1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bardstown hotels
0.8 mi away
Old Bardstown Inn
Old Bardstown Inn
#4 of 8 in Bardstown
96 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Bardstown
Hampton Inn Bardstown
#1 of 8 in Bardstown
798 reviews
0.4 mi away
General Nelson Inn
General Nelson Inn
#2 of 8 in Bardstown
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bourbon Manor Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Mary May House
Mary May House
#6 of 10 in Bardstown
8 reviews
0 mi away
Jailer's Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Talbott Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Talbott Tavern

Address: 107 W Stephen Foster Ave, Box 365, Bardstown, KY 40004-1415
Location: United States > Kentucky > Bardstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bardstown
Price Range: $90 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Talbott Tavern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn and restaurant. Stay where the likes of The James Gang, Abraham Lincoln, and General George S. Patton have visited. You will find a vast amount of history in this building. Enjoy the world's oldest bourbon bar and eat great southern cooking in our restaurant. Full breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Old Talbott Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Talbott Tavern Hotel Bardstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing