We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small town with Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Wilderness Trail Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barbourville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed in this hotel about three years ago and thought it was appropriate for what we needed - clean, smelt good and comfortable. So we thought we would stay there again, since also in this area, we have stayed in really terrible places as well. They have remodeled this time around. Our room smelt so fresh and clean when we walked in and the sheets were as white as white could be. The room was soooo clean and comfortable and even pretty modern. This was a great surprise since we thought it was good the first time around and being in a smaller town. The price you pay is an absolute deal considering the room. The continental breakfast was a little sparse but enough to grab something quick with nice to-go cups for coffee. The staff was very hospitalble, forgot toothpaste and they provided this complimetary and also had a headache in which they had individually-packaged pain relievers, which were complimetary as well. Great stay and I would highly recommend this hotel. A quick word too of this area - be cautious if staying anywhere else, especially in Corbin, check your room before you pay. There are some horrific hotels in this area even with chain names you trust and prices that will not reflect AND managment that will NOT make it right after you have paid. I have stayed here twice now and will definitely return again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 221 and the room was huge compared to average. Staff told us this is here favorit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessisever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 119 of 119 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

The is one of the best Best Westerns I've ever stayed at-and I have an account with them! Rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfast was excellent, and they had the typical frig and microwave but the "extras" really made the difference. They have a nice fenced in swimming pool. In addition to the typical chairs, they have a number of tables for socializing. There is also a rack of towels @ poolside ready to be used. On the landing for the different floors there is outdoor furniture to gather, relax and/or talk. There is a Wendy and a KFC across the parking lot...no need to drive! Overall, an outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mercynurse62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Motel staff was very nice. Room was clean and comfortable. I wish they would get queen beds but we enjoyed our stay/peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

This is the only place to stay in Barbourville. You will need to travel about 30 minutes backk to Corbin for any other lodging. The good points were the room had a small fridge and microwave and wifi was available at no charge in the room. The hotel did honor our request for a lower level room for my wife's elderly parents as there is not an elevator to the second level This is a basic hotel and you should not expect it to be anything else. It was not dirty and you can sleep and shower here.

The down side of my comments: The shampoo was a foil package of which only one package was provided. Nicer amenities were not a priority here. The breakfast was very limited with cold cereal, coffee, orange juice, and inexpensive donuts. The breakfast room was very small with one table that had six chairs around it. Four people at the same time would create a crowded room. We also had a room that faced the road and you could hear the traffic if this is an issue for you. There were rooms on the backside of the building away from the road.

As I said, this is the only place to stay in Barbourville. The people were nice. Just don't ecpect too much and you will be OK.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ldwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

This place was amazing! The staff was the nicest and friendliest people that made me feel welcomed and at home. I can't compliment this place enough! Super quiet, CLEAN, and cozy. EXCELLENT!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melena99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

had to pick up a college team and drive them to north georgia. decided to go up the day before so as usual, i go to tripadvisor and searched for hotels. this unreviewed property popped up and i decided to take a chance. it was one of the most pleasant surprises i have had all year. from the 1st time i called them (which was after midnight, 15 minutes away) until i checked out this morning.
the people at the front desk were very personable and professional. the exterior of the property was very clean and cared for as was the lobby. when i walked into my room, my reaction was "wow, what a gem". the room was spotless, had a large workdesk, 2 beds, a settee, frig and microwave. when i walked into the bathroom, on the wall was a full size mirror. the bed was one of the most comfortable i have slept on lately and the comforter was not the usual hotel type. it felt more like staying at a relatives home!!! i was only supposed to stay one night but when i finished with my group, i wanted to stay here one more night. i checked in, this time at 0245 and the guy at the front desk was the same as the night before and he remembered me so it was very friendly. i was so impressed with this property, i notified other bus drivers in my company and we will use this hotel for all future visits.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idriveyousafely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barbourville
10.6 mi away
Pine Mountain State Resort Park
18.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Middlesboro
15.7 mi away
Best Western Corbin Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Corbin
Hampton Inn Corbin
#2 of 12 in Corbin
508 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
#1 of 4 in Williamsburg
445 reviews
22.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Wilderness Trail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Wilderness Trail Inn

Address: 1476 S US Highway 25e, Barbourville, KY 40906-7317
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Barbourville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barbourville
Price Range: $108 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Wilderness Trail Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Wilderness Trail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wilderness Trail Hotel Barbourville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing