We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rumah Mertua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rumah Mertua
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ngaglik
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

We booked for a night but ended up staying three because the staff was so friendly, the food so good and the overall environment very peaceful and quiet. The spa therapists were also very good and offered outstanding value for money. I would definetely go back despite the distance from the centre (about 20-30 mins by taxi due to heavy traffic, less than 40,000 rupiah).

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chiara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    144
    29
    8
    3
See reviews for
121
189
28
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Wonderful place, especially the grounds and the pool - a relaxing oasis. Room was just ok but spotless. The sheets smelled moldy, but maybe it's due to the climate. Towels a bit threadbare/rough but always clean. Good and simple food in the restaurant with fair prices. Pleasant staff with great service. I highly recommend this place. If you can, pay a bit more and get a room in the back with private veranda otherwise it can get noisy since front rooms are next to breakfast and reception area and sound insulation is non-existent. About 25 min away from airport. I think it cost us 65,000 rupiahs when we got a car from the airport and hotel charged us about 90,000 or 95,000.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YeviNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

This small hotel is one of the best place to stay at Jogjakarta. About 15-20 minutes by car from downtown, rumah mertua surrounded by banana plantation and some local housing. It's the best choice to relax after travel around the noisy town.

The service also really good. Staff are really helpful and kind. We check-in around 7.00am, although the regulation states that check in time is at 2.00 pm. After that we got the welcome drinks and snack. I took the family room that accomodate 4 people and really satisfied with the room - clean, spacey, with mini bar, strongbox, and neat bathroom.The breakfast also good.

Room Tip: Take the family room if you travel with a lot of people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwing_Low
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Rumah Mertua is a lovely resort nestled amidst a kampung (a small village) away from the main road and the main shopping district. But not to worry, Malioboro Street is just a short taxi ride away (approx 15 mins - 35.000 Rp) and the journey to the airport should take approx 25 mins - 50.000 Rp.

The service here is impeccable. The staff are friendly, helpful and attentive. Rest assured that they are also proficient in English. You can request to take-away breakfast if you have an early flight to catch or if you are heading to Borobudur for sunrise, just like what we did. You can also pre-order your breakfast the night before if you intend to do an overnight trek at Mt Merapi. We did just that and they went an extra mile to serve us our "breakfast" at 12 noon in our room after we returned from the trek. They can also help you to call for a taxi if need be.

We stayed in a superior double room which is a good size for my partner and I and we didn't have any issues with the level of cleanliness. In fact, I thought it has a very homely feel to it. The only thing you may wish to take note of is, it takes a minute or so for the water in the bathroom to heat up. The room that we had is situated at the back of the resort hence is quieter than the others, I guess. It has a verandah which we didn't use. But I do see other guests having their meals and drinks there.

We stayed for four nights and free wifi is available in the room as well as in the dining area throughout our stay. If possible, I would recommend to have your breakfast in the dining area and take in the sights and sounds of nature. Just be forewarned that there may be guests who smoke (if you are a non-smoker). On the contrary to what most reviewers said, I thought the food are pricier as compared to what I can get outside.

All in all, I won't hesitate to return again if I'm looking for a relaxed vacation to Jogja.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment! There are only 11 rooms and they get fully booked very fast. Onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Min82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Rumah Mertua a charming little place with friendly and helpful staff. The room we had a verandah overlooking the pool and garden, great way to start the day with breakfast on the verandah, listening to the birds and have a slow start. Food reasonably priced and delicious. Loved the local cakes that were served on arrival. Our driver 'Use' knowledgable of local sights and good places to eat.

Room Tip: have a room with the verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherandSandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

This small charming hotel felt like home every time we returned to it. The staff were exceptionally friendly and attentive and helped us with language, train bookings and general advice. They were simply fun to enjoy a conversation with. The dining room was the real surprise. The room itself opens out onto the verdant courtyard and one can always hear the fountains and relax in the shaded veranda. The wait staff, especially Supir, was helpful and ever courteous. And the food coming out of that small kitchen was excellent. We ate at the hotel at least twice a day because of the value and genuine home cooked taste. Have the rjistafel, it was excellent. Our room which was behind the pool (very relaxing) had its own patio with comfortable seating. The room itself was simply but tastefully furnished. We had a problem with the AC leaking but when we mentioned it to the staff, it was fixed immediately before we returned from lunch. The hotel is definitely not in the center of town but it is only a 45,000rpi taxi ride to the palace and when you are coming from the airport, you shouldn't have to pay more than 65,000rpi.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnandBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
256 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

The hotel is O.K and has beautiful garden and swimming pool setting. The Dining room and breakfast service from the staff is very good. The bed in standard and family room are hard.
They do not have enough blankets. Deluxe Room has better view. It is rather hard to get early check in / out. Location is not good.

Room Tip: Bring your own blankets and they have very hard bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atmoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngaglik
5.8 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
3.5 mi away
Student Park Hotel Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Alamanda Villa
Alamanda Villa
#1 of 18 in Sleman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
3.9 mi away
Eastparc Hotel
Eastparc Hotel
#1 of 20 in Depok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
5.5 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#10 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumah Mertua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Mertua

Property: Rumah Mertua
Address: Jl. Palagan Tentara Pelajar | Gang Padma 5, Ngaglik, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta > Ngaglik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ngaglik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rumah Mertua 1.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Rumah Mertua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumah Mertua Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing