We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rumah Mertua Boutique Hotel & Garden Restaurant & Spa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ngaglik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This is one of the places where the minute you come in you know you made a good choice. It concerns a small traditional Javanese hotel on the outskirts of Yogja with 11 nice decorated rooms and with very helpful and friendly English speaking staff doing everything to make you feel at home. Also they can arrange most of your trips for a fair price including cycling tours to Prambanan and Borobudur.

I had selected this hotel because of its location, price and positive reviews at Tripadvisor which I think they really deserve. Located north of Yogya this hotel offers a good base for all your trips in and around Yogja without being bothered with the traffic congestions of Yogja city. The hotel is located only 27 km from the Borobudur, 23km from the Prambanan Hindu Temple, 15 km from Yogya centre, 45 km from Parangtritis beach and 100 km from Dieng Plateau. See the location map attached.

The hotel is located in a quiet area and together with clean and comfortable beds they offer you the best conditions for a good sleep. One night we stayed in the Standard room and the second night we tried the Deluxe room because Standard was not available. They are different in price but both value for money. The Deluxe room offers you more space and a terrace next to the swimming pool where you can use your breakfast. On the table you will find a bell that you can use to draw the attention of the staff. There is no need to feel reluctant to use it because the staff likes to please the guests and comes with a big smile.

After a busy program this place is the right place to relax. Besides the swimming pool and a nice tropical garden they offer traditional Javanese oil massages and delicious meals in their restaurant.

One point of attention: If you would like to order a wake-up call mind that their wake-up system is not automated and set your own alarm as well. The boy who had a night shift at our day of departure simply forgot our wake-up call but fortunately it didn’t affect our program that day and also because he apologized with a humble and friendly smile it will not affect my final score for this place. Without hesitation I give 5 stars for this diamante and I would be happy if I get the chance to stay there again. Really good value for money and a place I can definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms around the restaurant might be more noisy during breakfast and diner time.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nico O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
There are newer reviews for Rumah Mertua Boutique Hotel & Garden Restaurant & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 499 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

Exceptional service - warm and hospitable - in a beautiful setting. Highly recommend for families traveling with children. We had free babysitting during dinner and the food is specially prepared to please even the pickiest eaters.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rakhee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had a pool facing room and it was sheltered from the pool by a row of small trees and shrubs, offering us cosy privacy when we sat on our patio (which had a comfy day bed, small breakfast table and 2 chairs). We love the pool, very Indonesian in style and dappled in sunlight by the surrounding plants and trees. A great place to cool off and unwind after a day of sightseeing.

The service at the Hotel is as wonderful as mentioned on Tripadvisor: we had 430am morning call on 2 mornings, and hot breakfast was ready and served at our patio by 445am as requested. We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant twice and the food was good with large portions.

We knew the Hotel is out of the way but took it anyway as we had our own transport. Highly recommended if you plan to spend time at the hotel chilling out, or have your own transport.

Room Tip: Poolside facing rooms offered lovely ambience.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leong48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I choose this hotel based on trip advisor review. It's said that this place was outside of the city and quiet. It's absolutely true and I'm happy I choose this hotel as the traffic to the city was very heavy. As stated on the other comments, your first impression will be: this place was so small. But it's actually quite big at the back and they have a small swimming pool. Just like the name (parent in laws house), this place looks like a house and I instantly feel comfortable.
i paid Rp 710.000 per night and it's totally worth it. The service was excellent. The employees were friendly and always ready to help. On our second day, we have to leave early (6am). They packed an american breakfast in a box for us. The food taste was great although there were not many selections.
This hotel provide free tea coffee and wi fi all day long. I will definitely go back to this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank v_lee_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My sister and I stayed at Rumah mertua when we visited Jogja last week. I love the ambience of the hotel. It makes you feel like you are staying in a house of your relatives instead of a hotel.

The food was great too. We ordered the Rijstaffel for dinner and all the dishes were great. A good size for two too.
All the staffs are very polite and friendly. They always smile and they speak very good english.
The room that we got, Room no 6, was spacious and comfortable

It was a bit isolated though so it might be a bit of a challenge to get there. But it was located behind Hyatt and a lot of the locals seem to know about it so you can ask around.
I personally like the location because it was a quiet place to relax and rest after the trip to the crowded Malioboro and Prambanan ( holiday season ).

Will absolutely stay there again if I visit Jogjakarta again

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angel4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This hotel was recommended by someone who grew up in Yogyakarta specifically for a stay by my parents from the US who would not be used to the 4 a.m. call to prayer. And as promised, the hotel was well away from mosques and really quiet. Other reviews have mentioned the location outside of the city as a minus, but in this case, it was definitely a plus. The staff is friendly. The pool is semi-private and beautiful. The menu is not real diverse, but the free breakfast is very very nice. We had the 2 rooms overlooking the restaurant which were beautiful and not too noisy at all--we are early to bed and early to rise people. With a hired driver with an agenda for each day who met us at the hotel, the location was not an issue at all. Also the price for what you receive is INCREDIBLE!

The only minus might be the bathroom because it was quite standard, but not a real concern at all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is one of many good place to sleep when travel to Jogjakarta.
Good ambience, truly resemble Indonesian culture.
Good room, clean shower with good tv channel.
Wifi also available upon request.

Swimming pool although a bit small, but clean.

No buffet here for breakfast. A la carte menu only.

A bit far from main town (15 mins travel). Situated among local people's housing area. Not a good place to walk around at night.

Have a good spa (indoor and outdoor)!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AswadGagaGebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngaglik
5.8 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 206 in Yogyakarta
612 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
5.4 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#60 of 206 in Yogyakarta
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#10 of 206 in Yogyakarta
970 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alamanda Villa
Alamanda Villa
#1 of 19 in Sleman
466 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
#30 of 206 in Yogyakarta
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumah Mertua Boutique Hotel & Garden Restaurant & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Mertua Boutique Hotel & Garden Restaurant & Spa

Address: Jl. Palagan Tentara Pelajar | Gang Padma 5, Ngaglik, Yogyakarta 55581, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta > Ngaglik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ngaglik
Price Range: $30 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumah Mertua Boutique Hotel & Garden Restaurant & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Rumah Mertua Boutique Hotel & Garden Restaurant & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumah Mertua Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing