We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too far away from Yogyakarta”
Review of Rumah Mertua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rumah Mertua
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ngaglik
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“too far away from Yogyakarta”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

If you want to visit Yogyakarta, it is better to book another hotel. Rumah Mertua is located a 40 minutes drive from the city. The rooms are clean, but noisy. Since breakfast is served outside you can hear people eating, laughing etc in the early morning and late evening. After 9 AM there are frequent power cuts in this village. The hotel has no generator. All services are expensive : food, drinks, laundry. Staff is very nice. The pool and garden are nice. The bathroom is for dwarfs. Conclusion : there are 1001 better places to stay if you want to visit Yogyakarta.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Belgiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    145
    29
    8
    3
See reviews for
122
191
28
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Just short review : Nice restaurant, small lobby but the AC was bad and the bed was not comfortable at all. The location is out of the town but the staff was extremely nice. Two thumbs up for the cleanliness.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MayDiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Yogyakarta is quite a busy city - but if you stay at the Rumah Mertua (The Father in Law House), you will definately get a feeling of coming home after a stressful day out in the streets of Jogja. The hotel is located 6-7 km. away from the city centre, but it is easy (and cheap) to go there with a taxi or with the hotel car.

The staff are very friendly and polite - always trustworthy and willing to find the best solutions. The breakfast is truly delicious with small snacks, fresh fruit and great dishes (try the banana or pineapple pancakes). Tea and coffee is served for free during the day. The restaurant also serve fresh food the whole day - and we enjoyed every meal.

The pickup-service from the airport was excellent - and our tours to Prambanan and Borobudur was easilly being made with the hotel car.

The hotel has a nice pool, well-functioning AC and it's clean. If I had to write something negative, then I must say that the walls are thin and the bed could be a bit more comfortable. Even though - you will have a very good time at the Rumah Mertua.

Thank you very much for your hospitality and the warm welcome to Indonesia!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EirikH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We are very happy with our stay in Rumah Mertua. We booked two rooms with Rumah Mertua (king and twin beds) with airport transfer and were very pleased at how smooth the bookings went.

The boutique bungalow hotel is very well maintained and had a nice garden and swimming pool.

Our two rooms (king and twin beds) and bathrooms were spacious and clean.

Staff at Rumah Mertua were friendly and attentive. We had booked a full day tour with the hotel and was very happy with our tour guide cum driver, Imam as well.

The hotel is about 20 mins by taxi to Malioboro, but we did not mind it because it is very quiet compared to staying near the main shopping street.

Overall, it was a pleasant and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andaluciababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterworth, Malaysia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at Rumah Mertua, had a wonderful holiday with a stay at this friendly boutique hotel. Feel like a home, match the hotel name, Rumah Mertua- in-law's house.

We stayed in standard room, there are a reading area right outside our room, for those like reading, there will be nice area to spend some time.

Hotel provide a la carte breakfast every morning, the breakfast come with assorted fruit cut, and some local snacks. A colorful breakfast served, cheer up a day. I love the breakfast! Especially Guava juice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sayki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is in a quiet position in Yogyakarta, far from traffic jam and smog.
It's a very nice place, well organized, with kind and very competent staff.
Staff is avalaible at every time, speaks very good English and could organize no expensive tour in the neighbourhood.
As regards the hotel: there is a very beautiful pool, a good and not expensive restaurant and also the basic standard rooms are very nice and clean.
Wifi is free and works well.
Perhaps among the hotels I visited in Indonesia this is the only one with no surprise, beautiful and clean as You can see on the website.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValeriaS_Roma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at the Rumah Mertua / Yogyakarta. We arrived very late but nevertheless the staff was handelling our Check-In very fast and professional. We even got a welcome drink and some snacks upon entering our standard room with a nice king-size indonesian-style-bamboo bed. The room itself was clean, it had a safe, a fridge, a dirty clothes basket and a wardrobe. The bathroom was also clean with a very small washbasin and a nice, warm shower. The hotel offers free WiFi, you can book your Tours here and they always have a smile for you. The pool in the garden area is small, but very clean and we always found a free deck chair. You can choose your breakfast from a menu and they offer very good indonesian food all day long. The only negative thing were the towels: After using them once they spreaded a nose-unfriendly smell. The hotel is about a 20-minute drive from the city center in a very quiet area. I recommend this one to all of you, who don't want to reach everything within a footwalk but who can enjoy a quiet, lovely place with great service and friendly people.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenaManuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngaglik
5.8 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 202 in Yogyakarta
588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
3.5 mi away
Student Park Hotel Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
#28 of 202 in Yogyakarta
857 reviews
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Yogyakarta Adisucipto
5.5 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#10 of 202 in Yogyakarta
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumah Mertua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Mertua

Property: Rumah Mertua
Address: Jl. Palagan Tentara Pelajar | Gang Padma 5, Ngaglik, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta > Ngaglik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ngaglik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumah Mertua 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Rumah Mertua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumah Mertua Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing