We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rumah Palagan Yogyakarta
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Java Resort(Yogyakarta)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DOM Hotel Jogja(Yogyakarta)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Popi(Sleman)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Artotel Yogyakarta(Yogyakarta)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
29
40
14
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
40
14
7
1
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 91 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Hate to be one of the guest who gives a poor review of this guest house as the staffs are really nice but it's really a let down because the guest house condition is considered quite poor. The beds creak and there is a musty smell when we first checked in but it got better after we turned on the air condition. The linen and towels are old and have a terrible smell. There is wifi but connections pretty slow so it's pretty frustrating. Location wise it's not great as it is away from city and hard to find good food around the area. A positive is that it is quiet and peaceful and you can be assured of a good nite sleep away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The breakfast is simple to say the least and can be much better. The staffs are helpful and always ready with a smile.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oh-Jo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

The thing that impressed me most about this place was the service provided by the courteous and friendly staff. They were really prompt with all my requests and even helped me get a sim card and start making international calls! (which I felt was not that easy)
I was not carrying my laptop so they provided me with their laptop at the lobby which was really convenient.
Step out of your room and you are surrounded by gardens and a fish pond, what better way to relax!

Room Tip: Most of their rooms are almost the same, the only difference being the size of the rooms, the bigger the room the more you pay.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saif2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We rented the whole 14 hotel rooms for our university classmate reunion on February 4-5, 2012. Our group size was 49 pax, not counting others staying outside Rumah Palagan, in total was approximately 60.

It was an excellent service starting from phone-call reservation until we left the hotel. All extra beds we requested were available right at the room we asked for. The hotel management arranged wonderful local foods for as much as 60 pax!! Sound system we used were also perfect with additional electone style live music, all of these were without charge!! We were allowed to use their restaurant space for the reunion pivot activities day and night during our stay. The management and staffs were really pay attention to details during our stay, and again, our group were as much as 49 pax. The only downside was that this property is adjacent to houses which were severely disturbed when we sing, laugh, scream until late at night (we shouldn't sing and scream until 12 at night, btw .... LOL)

I would recommend this property for group stay as well as couple or family.

Excellent, excellent, excellent ..... from the most junior staff up until the manager and even the owner went extra miles to serve us.

Room Tip: President Suite is definitely the best one :)
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julhandiarso H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We had no problems at Rumah Palagan. The room was comfortable and airy, the housekeeping prompt, the staff friendly and obiliging. Two events stuck ouot in our trip. The first was when our baby was unwell during the trip and the reception promptly helped with medicine at 4am in the morning. The second was that they had breakfast ready during the two days that we had to leave early on day trips.

Room Tip: Try to get the presidential room.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Having lived as a foreigner in Indonesia for over four months, the Rumah Palagan provided the perfect retreat from the crowded, noisy streets of Java. The rooms are clean, air conditioned, and unique. The gardens are spectacular, and the pool just lovely- we spent two of our four days in Jogja just sitting around the pool. The staff bend over backwards to please, going so far as to offer me a ride on a motorbike to an ATM and calling a restaurant to put our order in for us. It is quite far from the downtown hub of Jogjakarta (though taxis and drivers are easy to arrange, at fairly reasonable rates) but it is surrounded by a number of excellent restaurants. Try "Sawa" or ask about "Pasta Gio."

Room Tip: Rooms are all double occupancy only. Twins are available!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OntarioAvidTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews