We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay near Cerro Pelón”
Review of J.M. Butterfly B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Macheros
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
J.M. Butterfly B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay near Cerro Pelón”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The location near the reserve in Cerro Pelón couldn't be better. The B&B is clean, roomy & comfortable as well as being a good value. Joel and his family were wonderful hosts and the food was excellent. The idyllic pueblo of Macheros is a peaceful respite from the city. I would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulOutWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    8
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
43
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Our two night stay could not have been more enjoyable. Our room was spacious and clean. We had a great view of the mountains and countryside. As other reviewers have noted, Joel is the perfect host. We enjoyed spending the day with him as he guided us to see the butterflies. Joel's mother and sisters prepare the food; it is simple, but everything is homemade and delicious. It was a very nice experience to stay in the small Mexican town of Macheros and to get a glimpse of daily life there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oaxacacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

All the good things said about this B & B are true. Joel is a wonderful host and speaks good English. He offered to pick us up at the Zitacuaro bus station for a reasonable fee. Alternatively you can get a collectivo to a place called La Piedra (I heard about it from another person so the spelling might be wrong), and then take a taxi for 50 pesos to get to his place. If you have difficulty finding Macheros on Google map, it is just 2km north of the village of Capulin.The village of Macheros is small and charming and very safe. The room is big enough for the 2 of us and very clean. His mother cooks wonderful chicken mole and the trout from the farm is delicious, and both priced very well.

We hired Joel to lead us to the sanctuary and saw so many butterflies, though we came a bit too early in the season (Nov 23) and only 1/4 of them arrived. The hike is 2 hours and quite strenuous, If you choose not to take the horse. We are regular hikers, and the hike is still a challenge for us. When we arrived at the place to see the butterflies, we were the only 2 tourists there...

I would wholeheartedly recommend J.M.'s B & B to anyone. This is the highlight of our entire Mexican trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexoz02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We cannot thank Joel and his family enough for the great experience we had staying in Macheros. We stayed in a very comfortable newly renovated bedroom and ensuite with King sized bed in Joel's house. Out the windows you have beautiful views of the village, surrounding forest and mountains. There's an open fire place in the lounge room that Joel lit each night and it was great to sit on the plush lounge suite in front of the fire and have some good conversation. Joel has a trout farm as mentioned, with clear water continuously flowing through it - dinner each night was trout we freshly caught ourselves with nets, then Joel's sisters prepared it immediately to make the most delicious dinner we've had in a long time. Breakfast was similarly amazing, eggs (we always chose to have them Mexican style), fleshly squeezed orange juice, coffee spiked with cinnamon... fantastic. We sat on the patio in front of Joel's parents house to eat, watching hummingbirds buzzing around the flowers nearby. All this is in the centre of the village and it felt so homely to hang out with Joel's family with kids playing in the street and other families popping around.

Oh yeah, and the butterflies! Making the trip up to Cerro Pelon butterfly sanctuary was an experience I will never forget, incredibly beautiful and awe-inspiring. Joel was a great guide and bought a quality packed lunch. Macheros is the closest entry point to the park which is in no way overdeveloped and seems remarkably untouched/not over-touristed (as does Macheros for that matter). In my opinion you definitely need to go on a horse, unless you are an exceptionally fit mountaineer - it's a very steep, rocky, dusty climb at altitude that takes 2 hours on horse back. We had a little saddle pain afterward but it was worth it.

The whole deal including accommodation for 2 nights/all meals + drinks/tour/horses/transfer to and from Ziticuaro bus station came to just under $300 USD which was great value. We wish Joel every success in his cottage industry ecotourism venture. Get here before it gets discovered!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_dalmation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

At JMs Butterly B&B you will experience genuine, caring hospitality with Joel as your host, and his extended family will welcome you with warm smiles and delicious meals. You will find a clean, cozy and secure B&B for you to rest in before and after your trek up into the Cerro Pelon with Joel as your guide. The monarchs are in good hands once they finally return for winter with this family and the others who work as caretakers of the oyamel forest. I will be returning for another chance to see the butterflies !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBrownlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed with a film crew at Joel's B&B and we had the privilege of staying there for a few days and meeting his family.
Joel is a great guide for whomever wants to go see the Monarch Butterflies in the mountains.
He and his family were so hospital to us and you have to try the delicious fresh trout for diner.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sophie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My friend and I stayed two nights at Joel's B&B. I loved the setting in a valley among the trees and mountains. Joel picked us up and took us back to the bus depot in Zitacuaro. His father has a trout farm so we had delicious grilled fish both nights cooked by his sister. The rooms were simple and clean. Joel was an excellent host, speaks English and was our guide to the Monarch butterfly site which was magical.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to J.M. Butterfly B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.M. Butterfly B&B

Property: J.M. Butterfly B&B
Address: Buenavista-El Capulin | El Capulin, Donato Guerra, Macheros 51030, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Estado de Mexico > Macheros
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Macheros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JM's Butterfly B&B is 5 min from the entry of the Cerro Pelon Monarch Butterfly Reserve. We are located in Macheros, a sleepy, bucolic town nestled in a valley with stupendous views of the sunset and surrounding Sierra Madres. The B&B has excellent views, comfy beds and a communal fireplace. The restaurant next door offers fresh trout and homemade Mexican food. We are a locally-owned and family-run business. Staying with us combines the best of private lodging with as much of a family-homestay as you want. Tours of the butterflies are available Nov-March, or come by in the off season to relax and hike in a small farming community/internet free zone. We are 2.5 hours from Mexico City and Morelia. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing