We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience a bit of Americana off of Highway 96”

Carriage Crossing Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Yoder
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Experience a bit of Americana off of Highway 96”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you find yourself in the heart of Kansas along state highway 96 do yourself a favor and stop in at Carriage Crossing. This restaurant is owned and operated by the Amish community at Yoder, KS. The ambiance is spare and utilitarian - about what you'd expect to find in an Amish community. The food is classic midwestern comfort food. The service is friendly and accommodating.

I visit family in Kansas with some frequency. I always make it a point to have a meal at Carriage Crossing. On my most recent trip I stopped in for a late breakfast. I had sausage, eggs, hash browns and shared a large cinnamon roll with others in our party. Carriage Crossing's cinnamon rolls are made for men who work at hard labor on Amish farms. They are 8" in diameter, smothered with butter frosting, and DELICIOUS!

Eggs are eggs and the hash browns were unremarkable, but the sausage was homemade and very well seasoned. I didn't have pie on this occasion, but homemade pie is always available and always exceptional.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NC608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    48
    15
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Excellent food great time friendly service Good Pie If you are ever in Yoder ks Check this place out

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Familykk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
1 review
“GREAT FOOD & GREAT SERVICE!!!!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Carriage Crossing Restaurant always has great food!!!! I have never had a bad meal here. I've had their breakfast, lunch, dinner & desserts and it is always delicious!!!! Their cinnamon rolls and pies are amazing!!!! There is a gift shop in the front of the restaurant. It has great gifts!!!! Will return often :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharaya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, KS
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Pies”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have been to Carriage Crossing for the full meal experience before, but I never found it the food as a whole to be outstanding. What is really good about the place is the pies! You can go in and get an entire pie or slice to go, if you choose to. It's worth the stop!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank kscagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An Amish Restaurant”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Carriage Crossing is a nice place for a fried chicken dinner (their specialty) but also for sandwiches made on some of the most delicious bread we have ever tasted, followed by a slice of homemade pie. Their raspberry iced tea is really good too. The wait staff (some Amish, some not) are very nice and professional. They have a large and interesting gift shop there as well. We will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loperfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carriage Crossing Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Carriage Crossing Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing