We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
14
28
4
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
14
28
4
3
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 49 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2016

We were there at the end of May 2016

Make sure to arrive at a reasonable time...We came in very late, and the incredibly kind owner of the nice antiques store in the square contacted the Manager who let us in. Breakfast was nice, and the drive through the Wine Country was beautiful (We actually had no idea previously about that...).

The road construction going on when we came into this pleasant town looked like it had been absolutely bombed...Check before visiting to make sure it's finished!

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RickBrosseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2016

Nolay is a bit out of the way for wine people coming to visit the entire Cote d’Or, but it’s quiet and close to Chagny and that south area of Vineyards/Climats. The Hotel is not hard to find as Place Monge is so small. There is a bar/bistro across the place under the same ownership as the hotel. As this is a small boutique hotel, the reception is not attended 24/7. Any difficulties finding someone at the hotel might be remedied at the bar.

Caveats: Hotel-front parking is limited, though some alley parking presented no problems. Again, this is a small boutique hotel; it appears that all the rooms require some stairs and there are no phones in the rooms. There is also an Italian restaurant very close that will do in a pinch but I wasn’t thrilled (see my review). Church bells start at 08h00. Only the restaurant was a negative me.

The rooms are spacious and the furnishings are old antiques, while the radiator heating looks brand new. I had a very cozy room temperature during my stay in chilly March. Classic shuttered windows looked out on the Place with a clear view of the Church with the very-rare bell tower. As I understand it, there are only 4 ancient bell towers left in France that have mechanical ”people” that actually ring the bell (see photo). The bed was very firm and the light switches were easily accessed from bed.

This hotel is very French, except for the upgraded heat. The view from the front two rooms is wonderful! The Wifi is very good; I kept a signal outside the hotel, across half Place Monge.

Room tip: Get one of the two front room for a great view.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank hoohoolian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2016

Three star hotel on the village square. Excellent rooms and breakfast. Charming hosts with the Pocheron family. Convenient to the vineyards of the Beaune region and six km from Santanney. We would definitely return to this hotel.

Room tip: The extra large rooms above the dining/ breakfast room.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnv69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2014 via mobile

Lovely old but well kept cosy hotel on the central square of Nolay. Perfect halfway stop from Utrecht to the South of France.
Beautiful garden and big clean quiet rooms with large beds.
Breakfast was ok

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank wim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We had thought we had booked a the Chambre d'hote 'Au temps d'autrefois' - however that, and this hotel, share the same phone number (the organisations are each run by a sibling, apparently). As this was not explained when I called the Chambre d'hote - we found I had booked us into the hotel (a bit more expensive). Our room looked straight onto a wall and below was an alleyway with dustbins in. The room was clean. Using the shower in the bath flooded the floor, unless we sat in the bath holding the shower attachment. We had an unexpectedly early departure the next morning, so cannot comment on the breakfast, however we were not charged for that. Nolay is small but the hotel is in the delightful central square, and has a lovely courtyard of its own.

Room tip: Ask if you don't want your window to face a wall.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dendy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews