We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Mexican food”

Neives' Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 24 Restaurants in Winfield
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shell Knob, Missouri
Level Contributor
120 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We always enjoy the friendly service and wonderful food at Neives' whenever we are in town. Try it, I am sure you will enjoy it, too!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mkraus63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“canned food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

never got chips/salsa, ½ way through our meal we asked for chips/salsa, salsa tasted like tomato sauce (even the hot), the tostada had some beans and a huge pile of lettuce for $6, it was soggy. The food tasted like it was out of a can. The wait staff was unprofessional, we had to wait at the register for 10 minutes to pay, they had to find our waitress to ring us up. I will never go there again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank jane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, KS
Level Contributor
80 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Popular, But Not My Taco”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

This restaurant is very popular and there can be long waits for seating at crunch times. Obviously many people in the area like it. Personally, I can take it or leave it. The food is decent, but not what my taste buds expect in a Mexican restaurant. The service can be very slow and it is not unusual for me to go through two baskets of chips while waiting for my entree.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NashWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good meal, nice place, pleasant staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Unusual building with a bright, clean dining room. Very pleasant waitstaff. Food was very good. Fresh, warm chips that were not salted - yum! Tasty salsa, both mild and hot were good. Meat on the tacos, both chicken and beef, was very tender and flavorful without being over seasoned. I did add salsa to both tacos but in my opinion that is to be expected in Mexican restaurants.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trojan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“high priced canned food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The City of Winfield helped this place get moved in, but I don't think they knew how bad the food would become. In our opinion the meat tastes like dog food smells. Some people get great service, while others get forgotten. We won't be back.

Helpful?
5 Thank Sarge26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neives' Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Neives' Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing