We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nachos and beer”
Review of El Maguey

El Maguey
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Winfield
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nachos and beer”
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We just stopped in for a quickie. There was nothing special about the place but every was good. The beer was cold and it was clean. Wasn't the friendliest service but it was efficient. I'd go back but I'd like to see a little better hospitality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cmarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    15
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goessel, ks
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I love finding great local restaurants when I travel and this one was fantastic. The carne asada tacos were wonderful with meat cut into very small chunks rather than strips. The pico de gallo could have used some fresher tomatoes but that's what you get in November. Salsa was great and the service was superb. Will definitely eat here on my next stay!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good standard mexican food”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Fast service, great drinks, friendly people. Right in the center of town so its easy to get to. Otherwise it is pretty typical Mexican food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CinderOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting but good food”
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

I generally like Mexican food. I was not convinced that eating to a Mexican restaurant in a small town in Kansas is the best idea. And man I was wrong! The food is genuine and tasty. It was excellent! I was very pleasantly surprised. The place is not kept very nicely and the service is, well, just service. But the food makes you forgive the rest of it. I will make a point to return there every time when I visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lsoaita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We go to El Maguey all of the time. The food is consistantly great. The tacos de carne asada is the best I've ever had. The service is a little inconsistant, it depends on who your server is.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1katg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Maguey also viewed

 

Been to El Maguey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing