We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In leiu of the Midland Hotel”
Review of Made From Scratch

Made From Scratch
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Wilson
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I ate dinner, breakfast and lunch on an over nite business stay in Wilson. The steak dinner was great, cooked as requested and large. Breakfast was as good as I have had anywhere. Lunch I ordered from the menu and it was also good, the pie was great. Service was a little slow but very friendly. After all, Wilson with a population of 20, what's the big rush. Enjoy.

Date of visit: September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoeP470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 105 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stopped in for a late lunch on a Saturday. The place was over half full and only one server. Guess what, she worked hard, efficiently, and was friendly. The buffet was filling and tasty. The bierocks were huge and tasty. The mashed potatoes were just like mom made - a lump every once in a while; so, you knew they were real. It was really a filling meal in a lovely little town right off Interstate 70. I'd stop again. Oh, I forgot to mention the homemade pies. They were out of the peanut butter, but the Dutch Apple was heavenly. There were over 10 varieties to chose from.

Date of visit: September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnsonevv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

When you hear "made from scratch" - you think... homemade. False... at least in our experience. Everything was pre-frozen (how do I know? My meal came out half frozen still). The service was inattentive (waited over 20 minutes before we got a waitress and some water... when the owner noticed). The kitchen struck me as dirty looking and you can see the chefs who didn't appear to care about cross contamination, etc. Overall, a very, very, very disappointing experience. Would not go back or recommend. (And you can check my reviews - hardly any are this poor!)

Date of visit: August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Danma11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Small town eatery but that said you will get enough to eat. The hamburger starts at 3/4 pounds and goes to 1 1/4 pound. Enough for even the largest appitite. Nothing fancy and the service was so so. Looked like they had a table reserved for locals and they rotated in and out makes it real home town like. Pies looked great but after the burgers we were no longer hungary. If staying in Wilson it seems like a good consistant place to eat.

Date of visit: August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Clintlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Mom's cookin, a great staff and tasty food at a reasonable price

Date of visit: March 2012
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Made From Scratch also viewed

 

Been to Made From Scratch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing