We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveler rating
200
59
14
10
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
200
59
14
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast sample room basement bar wonderful historic hotel small town chain hotels step back in time meatloaf great history modern amenities rooms are small hard boiled eggs paper moon prime rib jacuzzi room cookie cutter queen bed
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All staff was rude. Owner acted nice by bringing us drinks and then called the cops telling them that we were too loud while having dinner on the outside patio. Passive aggressive to do that rather than just ask us to go to our rooms or keep it down.

Room tip: Be prepared to whisper only at this place, pay a lot for little, and get terrible service.
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank docchris777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Very clean. Interesting historical hotel.you really get the feel of what it must have been like to stay there years ago. I wouldn't recommend it for families with small children because the walls are not sound proof and you can hear everything going on in the other rooms. The rooms are also very small for a family. The train does go by in the middle of the night so it might wake you. We really enjoyed staying here. The town is quaint and interesting. Great place to stay for couples.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Tieust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2019

We stayed at the Midland Railroad Hotel and were pleasantly surprised by its charm. It was in the heart of downtown Wilson, but very close to I-70, making it an easy stopover. on our way to another destination. We loved the historical, antique features -- many of which are original or renovated true to its 1899 origin. We met the owner and heard lots of history of the place. Parts of the 1973 movie "Paper Moon" were filmed in Wilson and at the hotel. Look for photos of the actors in the glass cases in the lobby living room. The website is wonderfully complete! Corner room was very comfortable, with big bright windows, comfortable K bed, well-appointed bathroom. We ate dinner at the patio restaurant -- great service and delicious food. Wonderful drink selections. Take a stroll around the grounds to enjoy beautiful gardens and artwork. We also enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast -- great selection and good coffee. Try the wonderful Midland Mercantile of the same owners across the road. It had really special gifts.

Room tip: Each room is unique. 2nd floor corner room was great!
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L82theScene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2019

Where can I start, the building is beautiful and the staff is very friendly. Breakfast in the morning had some items I had never heard of but I enjoyed them very much. Our bedroom (102) has a veranda with a table and chairs and a handicapped shower. Our room and bed were very comfortable. We will always skip Salina and Hays and stay at the Midland Railroad Hotel. Wilson KS has a great history and is a easy place to relax.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank TravelingMoma44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2019 via mobile

Wilson is away from it all and you could write in the Midland the next great novel.

The Historic Hotel is restored in such a authentic way with no fake tinsel. I can only imagine people in 1902 would recognise it.

Huge bed, lovely wooden furniture, excellent bathroom. Our corner room had three large windows overlooking the Giant Egg.

I loved all the original features like the window over the door and the original shutters in front of the bedroom doors which ones would have served as ventilation.

Great home cooking too and excellent stocked bar.

This is a place you should plan a road trip around and stay for more than a night.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank foodtasterCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews