We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple Haven and Lake Wilson - 2 Great Kansas Treats”
Review of Simple Haven B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Simple Haven B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Wilson B&B and Inns
Garden City, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simple Haven and Lake Wilson - 2 Great Kansas Treats”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Joe and Susan really know how to do a bed and breakfast right. They live next door and you can choose from a master suite on the main floor or 4 private rooms upstairs. They give you all the space you need. There are large living rooms on both floors with cable TV, drink fridge, full house WIFI, nice touches everywhere you look. The house is immaculately clean and well-appointed. The upstairs has a large tiled balcony to relax on at sunrise or sunset. There are several porches around the house for morning coffee and relaxing times. There are plenty of security lights in the parking lot in front for safe storage of your boat (we had a large pontoon boat and they were very helpful in securing it). The breakfast is second to none and they customize it for their guests. We will stay here for every friend and family visit to Wilson Lake.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
18
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Susan runs a modest B&B in an out of the way town along I-70 in Wilson KS. The 5 room B&B is quiet except for the train across the road but I must say they did not keep me awake at night no road noise since the main drag is little used and the interstate is 2 miles away. Susan maintains an all subjects library so you will never want for reading material. A new outside deck area was a nice addition to go along with the second story lounge and upper deck. First floor has the office Master Suite, sitting room and dining area. Susan is a great innovative cook and shops to please her guest at the delightful breakfast. Meet some interesting people around the table as well. Near Lucas, Wilson Lake, Ellsworth and a great eatery in Bunker Hill.

Room Tip: We liked the Country Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clintlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Simple Haven is a perfect detour from I-70's fast pace. Susan is a most welcoming hostess, who serves her guests with sincere friendship. Her breakfasts are delectable. The is an historic old stone house. The rooms are compact but have all the amenities you could want. We thoroughly enjoyed hearing the freight trains go by on their scheduled routes. We highly recommend Simple Haven!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beaker88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

For the first time ever, while traveling... I thought I was home!!
I have traveled quite a lot and stayed in many different hotels, motels and B&B-s. I can say without any hesitation that this was the best place I have ever stayed. The house and decor are charming, the rooms are well equipped and very comfortable. The breakfast is what I wish I could have everyday! Susan is a wonderful person and makes you feel right at home. I am already making plans for visiting this area with family in the future just to stay at Simple Haven.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Houys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
249 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Over the years have tried many bnb's heading East from Colorado...Done...THIS IS IT.
Susan is like an extra bubbly Diane Keaton who aims to please. House is cute and room functional. Love the trains going by and walking around the tiny town. Most of all loved the attention to detail & innovative food...oh my...blackberrie brulee thiing, quiche with a wild rice crust, warm coffee cake, hot biscuits and jelly...oh my it was so good it makes me want to drive back 6 hours just to eat again. STAY THERE...you won't regret it!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank clairann2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Happened to stumble upon this place when looking for last-minute accommodations for a hunting trip. We had no idea what an amazing treat we were in for. We don't even call it "Simple Haven." We call it "Susan's" now. Above the door to the kitchen Susan has placed a plaque which reads "Enter as strangers, leave as friends." That is exactly what happened. She looked after us as a mother and was attune to our every desire before we had the chance to request it. Breakfast was amongst the best home cooking I've ever had and she even gave us some of her very creative recipes.

The bed and breakfast is the most quaint place in town, right next to the old wooden town water tower (which is now a sauna which you are free to use). It's a beautiful limestone structure from the 1800's and has an amazing story. The bedrooms were like something out of a movie. The beds were enormous and extremely comfortable. This would be the perfect place for a romantic weekend getaway or for a small group of friends to book out entirely. There is lots of joint living area for games and watching TV with friends.

All of that aside, the genuine goodness and care that Susan provides makes you feel, as the sign says, like she's looking after her own friends.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chadderdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Staying at Simple Haven B&B was one of the highlights of our trip to Kansas. The breakfast was fabulous (home made apple and walnut pancakes, sausage patties, vegetable frittata's) and cooked with real soul by the super friendly owner and chef extraordinaire Susan. The house is old and full of character, the rooms are comfortable and there is a large communal area to relax in. All in all a special place that i recommend to anyone and everyone

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russjgtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilson
0.2 mi away
Midland Railroad Hotel
20.6 mi away
Fossil Creek Hotel
Fossil Creek Hotel
#1 of 4 in Russell
168 reviews
20.7 mi away
The Lodge At Russell
The Lodge At Russell
#3 of 4 in Russell
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Days Inn Russell
Days Inn Russell
#2 of 4 in Russell
161 reviews
15.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 1 in Ellsworth
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simple Haven B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simple Haven B&B

Property: Simple Haven B&B
Address: 615 27th St, Wilson, KS 67490-8806
Location: United States > Kansas > Wilson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wilson
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing