We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't spend your money no matter how cheap!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Wichita East
Ranked #70 of 87 Hotels in Wichita
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel before a few years ago, and thought we would give it a try again. Don't bother staying here. The staff was helpful when I first checked in. The steps to the room are uneven and dangerous if you are not careful. When I got to my room, the bolt lock was ripped off the wall and part of the door jam was broken. When I went to the front desk, the staff could not move us rooms, they said they were sold out. It stunk like smoke in the room, but the hotel is listed as "smoke free". I did not book this room directly through them, or I would have demanded a refund and left, but the area is sold out and we needed the room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wichitagm, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Wichita East, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you MS,
For staying with us, I see there was some issues during your stay. Let me first stay thank you again for bringing this issue to my attention. We value all of our customers and use your feedback to make improvements to our property. If I could ask for you to call to me directly or email me. I would like to get more details from your stay. Once again thank you valued guest.

Priscilla Gonzales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
There are newer reviews for Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Wichita East
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 719 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Tremeeka L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wichitagm, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Wichita East, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I had to stay here from a Thursday to Tuesday, late June 2013 for my brother's wedding. The only reason being was that my parents and sister had already booked their stay here and so I wanted to stay close by them, otherwise I wouldn't stayed at the Marriott up the road. At first, I thought that the suites were inside the same hotel but it was actually all sectioned up in 8 different building. After you check in at the front desk, and you had to walk through the back to get outside, where you'll be at the pool area and the surrounding 8 buildings. I would say that each building has about 4 suites attached. I as in building #4 and my family were in #3, they put us directly across from each other which was nice but it would had been more convenient had they put us in the same building. As I we walked into the suite you can see and smell that the place is old and outdated. The carpet looked like it needed a good cleaning as it was stained in spots. The place was roomy with a king bedroom downstairs and a queen upstairs with it's own bathroom and shower. There was also a kitchenette next to the living room with a pull out sofa. Expect to hear the air condition going on and off and it could be loud and the internet service is very poor.

They missed cleaning our room both on Saturday and again on Sunday. It didn't really bother me on Saturday as we really stay in the suite that much but when we came back home on Monday after 5:00 passed by, we came back to an unclean suite. I was pretty annoyed by then and called the front desk to get housekeeping. The woman had me on hold for at least 5 minutes and by that time, I just hung up and call back again. The woman answered and I asked her why I was on hold for so long. She explained to me that there was another customer she was helping as no one else was available. I informed her that our suite hasn't been clean for over 2 days and found it to unacceptable. She tells me that all the housekeeper left at 5:00 and no one would be able be out there until the next day. ARE YOU KIDDING ME?? Why would they send all the housekeepers home without completing their job? So knowing how upset I was, the woman whom I found out that her name is Neema, decided to go above and beyond and left her front desk post to come over and clean the suite. I then come to that hotel management left her to take care of the ENTIRE place all by herself!! Why? Because the company is trying to save money. To do that, they had to sacrifice customer service. The poor woman was scrambling all over the place to help all of her customers. As she was cleaning my room, one guy with kids couldn't get in his room because the room key wasn't working. I told her that she can go help him but she insisted that I was more important. I'm sure that by the end of it all, she probably heard an ear full from him. I felt really bad for her. They SHOULD NOT have left her all by herself. Neema should get a raise and The Hawthorne need to get it together. I would never return here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuyenJustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wichitagm, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Wichita East, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you,Quyen.
For staying with us, during your families special time. I see there might have been some unclear hotel procures that the desk agents should have explained to you for extended stay hotel. We do value all of our guest and use your feedback to making improvements to our property. Hope to see you for future stays.

Priscilla Gonzales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

this hotel is a great place to stay on the outside it looks like an apartment complex they have cute little kitchens in them with nice soft beds they also have wood burning fireplace the only thing the rooms are lacking are flat screen tvs

Room Tip: room 614 is a great room
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Drucie S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wichitagm, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Wichita East, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Surprised by the great kitchen in room.
And the really great breakfasts.
Nice, convenient pool area.
Would certainly reccomend this.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Perales J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wichita hotels
11.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Wichita West
1.9 mi away
CrestView Suites Wichita
CrestView Suites Wichita
#46 of 87 in Wichita
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Wichita-East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wichita Northeast
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Eastgate Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
Wichita Suites
Wichita Suites
#56 of 87 in Wichita
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Wichita East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Wichita East

Address: 411 S Webb Rd, Wichita, KS 67207-1307 (Formerly Residence Inn Wichita East)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 87 Hotels in Wichita
Price Range: $63 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Wichita East 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Wichita East. Our pet-friendly hotel near Exploration Place is perfect for an extended stay or weekend getaway. Wake up each morning to our free hot breakfast buffet, then go for a refreshing swim in our outdoor pool, relax in our hot tub or take advantage of free passes to the local Genesis Health Club. Stay connected to home and the office with free Wi-Fi, then head to your spacious suite, equipped with a full kitchen. Free parking for cars and trucks of all sizes as well as dry cleaning services and handicapped-accessible and non-smoking suites are available at our Wichita, KS hotel. Join us Monday through Thursday for drinks and hors d’oeuvres at our weeknight social hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Wichita East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Wichita East Hotel Wichita
Hawthorn Hotel Wichita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing