We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Wichita Airport
Ranked #55 of 88 Hotels in Wichita
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great location. Lobby and hallways smelled like 1995. Bed was rock solid and neither of us had a good nights rest. Good selection of breakfast items.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank LES V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 371 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

Hotel was fine and room was fine. The people next door (118) were noisy - TV on loud at 2:00 am; but we didn't complain - just put the fan on continual and that helped drown out the noise. That is not the staff's fault.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank EARLENE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here a number of times over the years, so we knew we could expect a clean room at a great price. We got that. They have done a nice job of maintaining this property over the years. Some negatives on our last visit: The walls must be paper thin - noise coming from the hallway was quite noticeable, even though the folks were not out of line in their levels of conversation. It is located close to the airport, but Wichita doesn't have many night-time flights, so that's not a major issue. However, the sounds of ecstasy coming from an amorous couple nearby kept me awake for quite awhile. Strangely, smoking and non-smoking rooms are intermingled in the same hallway. On a couple of occasions, I felt overwhelmed by the smell of cigarette smoke upon emerging from my non-smoking room. The continental breakfast? - not much, but about what you expect from a cheap roadside hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KansasExplorer3128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I was in town for my daughter's pageant- 3 kids ranging from 6 months to 13, plus my husband. I am VERY picky about hotels and one of the reviews caught my eye- don't judge it by the outside. Sort of in a not too good area, but these people were very considerate and provided genuine concern for us. They made sure we were equipped with enough towels, and very courteous. The room was very nice, (aged) but clean and spacious with fridge, micro and cable tv for a very affordable price. And breakfast included??? What?? The "high-end competition 10 min away didn't provide ANY of the above. I know this because we knew a few people from this hotel which was where the pageant was held. :) We definitely needed all the ammenities after the expense we spent on her pageant. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Just keep the doors locked. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SIPES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

First time to stay in this hotel and it was a pleasant surprise. Based on the pricing, I did not expect much. I had a smoking room which did not smell like smoke at all. Since I am a non-smoker I appreciated that. The room was very clean and nicely appointed. The A/C worked well which was very important since the temps were in the 100's that day. There are several restaurants within walking distance or a very short drive. It is very near the airport but I did not notice any noise from that even though I was on the top floor. I have already booked another stay there in a couple of weeks! You go HoJo!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elmer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Just stayed again at this property, As always, a great, economical place to stay. Nice, clean rooms, cool breakfast in the morning, and if you"re flying out of Wichita, they will even pay for your cab ride to the airport. The only place I've every stayed while in town. Probably spent more than 30 nights here, and have never had one problem or concern.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rw2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Overall the service was good but the room that we got smelled terrible. I know some of the rooms are smoking rooms, but we got a non smoking room and the smell was a combination of smoke and basement. When I got home everything from my clothes to laptop case smelled. Also don't expect much from the breakfast they offer, a combination of pop tarts and honey buns, I could have eaten better out of the vending machine.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wichita hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Suites Airport
Quality Suites Airport
#47 of 88 in Wichita
185 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Wichita Airport
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Conference Center Wichita Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Wichita East
6.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wichita
Days Inn & Suites Wichita
#45 of 88 in Wichita
346 reviews
5 mi away
316 Hotel
316 Hotel
#20 of 88 in Wichita
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Wichita Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Wichita Airport

Address: 6575 W Kellogg Dr, Hwy 54 West, Wichita, KS 67209-2211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 88 Hotels in Wichita
Price Range: $53 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Wichita Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the Howard Johnson Inn is situated in west Wichita, 1.7 miles from Mid-Continent Airport. All local businesses, restaurants, shopping centers, convention centers, arenas, universities, hospitals, city buildings, and attractions are within 15 to 20 miles of the Howard Johnson Inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Wichita Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Wichita Hotel Wichita
Howard Johnson Wichita
Wichita Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing