We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly great place!”
Review of Hotel at Old Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel at Old Town
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Wichita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Fair notice, I am a total Marriott person and wound up here because the organization paid for it even though I could see a Marriott property (Courtyard) from my window. The hotel is a total remake of an ancient manufacturing venue (Keen Kutter) which was a total wreck before it became a hotel. Whoever bought the old building and turned it into a hotel did a GREAT job! Decorations were expertly done. Check-in was friendly and flawless. Beautiful first floor. Their was a jazz band pumping away in the restaurant area. Free covered parking totally rocks. The room was immaculate and still had the original brick walls of the original Keen Kutter building. We had a minor issue with one of the lamps not lighting, but that was resolved. Lots of great entertainment within easy walking/stumbling distance. Room decor was very nice and the bed was comfy. There was a little kitchen area that you would probably never use. Bathroom was pristine and I loved the lace shower curtains. Nice tile work. Very hard water, though. Free TV, of course. Didn't use the wifi. Good sized fridge but, again, why so large. The breakfast was OK but not quite as good as you would get at a Res Inn for free, but much better than Clarion brands with those horrible little egg disks. I would definitely stay here again and suggest that, if you are visiting Wichita, you give this place serious consideration. Oh, by the way, the charge per night was excellent. You get a great stay at a really reasonable rate. Do it!

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank B1Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
There are newer reviews for Hotel at Old Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 581 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

I had some business in Wichita and the client suggested I stay at the Hotel at Old Town. What a great choice. The décor is charming and really brings you back to another era. I was completely taken by surprise with a kitchenette in the room with a refrigerator, stove top, microwave, dishes, etc. The room was huge along with an equally large bathroom. The hotel and room was spotless. My only complaint is that the heating/cooling unit was fairly loud. The staff were very helpful and made check in and check out easy as could be. The hotel reserved a cab to take me to the airport. I received a car from a car service instead (which is fine) but was not prepared for the price (about double that of the actual taxi ride from the airport to the hotel). I recommend that you ask about pricing so you are prepared. The Old Town area around the hotel is full of shops of restaurants and be sure to stop at the Museum of World Treasures. It is a gem of a museum and has a little bit of everything you could imagine. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quilting4Cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Excellent. Very accommodating. Kitchenettes in rooms with full size frig. Lavishly large bathrooms with beautiful tile, but bring your housecoat and slippers because if the light is on - the fan is on. If the fan is on - that big bathroom and beautiful tile are cold!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WatsonBarefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

If you like history, the Hotel at Old Town is a great place to stay. Lots of interesting information and artifacts about, and a great location in Wichita's old town area, which has a number of bars and restaurants. Nice break from the relentless suburbia that dominates the Wichita metro area. The room (with small kitchen) was comfortable and very clean. The breakfast is extra but the food is good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMSOakland_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My stay at the Hotel at Old Town was terrific. A vendor I am working with suggested this hotel, and had arranged for a fruit / goody basket to be in my room. A nice touch.

The hotel is a converted building, so it has a feeling of deep history. The rooms was very nice, and featured a kitchenette.

One of the best parts of this hotel is its location. We were walking distance to many bars and restaurants, which we took advantage of. There is a parking garage next door to the hotel which made getting in and out easy.

The breakfast was good - slightly above my expectations.

The staff was wonderful. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Wichita.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdrewmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here twice and found it to be very nice and a great value for the money. It's perhaps a mile off the freeway in an interesting part of town.

The rest of this is filler to reach a requirement to write 200 characters.

I wish you a safe and happy trip.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Oilman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here while in town touring with a musical. We had an excellent stay and would stay there again. The staff was very friendly and courteous. The rooms were adorable, even down to the antique phone! Very clean and comfortable.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank JWalter26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wichita hotels
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Wichita
Hyatt Regency Wichita
#5 of 87 in Wichita
677 reviews
0.8 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Broadview Wichita
0.9 mi away
Hotel At WaterWalk
Hotel At WaterWalk
#11 of 87 in Wichita
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wichita Downtown
6.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel at Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel at Old Town

Address: 830 E 1st St N, Wichita, KS 67202-2737
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wichita
#3 Family Hotel in Wichita
#8 Business Hotel in Wichita
Price Range: $117 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel at Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Old Town. All rooms have plush bedding, fully equipped kitchens, free wired and wireless internet, voice mail, oversized desk, and TV. Amenities include a business center, Cupboard, free parking garage, and fitness center. The Old Town location provides over 40 restaurants, shops and museums, all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel at Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Old Town Wichita
Hotel Motel Wichita Kansas Old Town
At Old Town Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing