We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel at Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel at Old Town to your Saves list
Hotel at Old Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   830 E 1st St N, Wichita, KS 67202-2737   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Wichita
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here in September of 2013. First of all, this is a beautiful hotel! The staff was super nice and so helpful. They happily answered all of our questions. There is a little bar in the lobby where a piano player and a guitar player entertained us at about 5:00 p.m. I don't know how long they played because we left and went across the street to the Mosley Street Melodrama for dinner and a show. (If you've never been there, do yourself a favor and go!) I ordered a drink at the bar and the girl working, though she was incredibly nice, didn't know how to make it. But she told me right up front, and I said "Go ahead and try." She got out her book, looked it up and made it. Although it wasn't very good, it had a lot of alcohol in it, so no need to order another drink! ;-) There is a nice little seating area (almost like a courtyard) off the lobby with a water fountain. Very nice ambience! This is also where you eat breakfast (more on that later)
.The rooms have an effeciency kitchen with a refrigerator and a microwave. The fridge even had a working ice maker, so no need to go down the hall to find an ice machine! The bathroom was large and spacious. There were plenty of towels and hot water. The bed was super comfy. There was a little table to sit at if you wished, as well as a lounge chair by the bed. We had an "inside" room and it looked down onto the sitting area. The room was nice and quiet.
We paid the extra $10 for the breakfast, but wished that we had just gone somewhere else. The food was mediocre at best, and not very hot. This would be my only complaint about the whole stay.
After the show at the Melodrama, we walked around Old Town for about an hour. We saw at least 5 different live bands playing at different places. I was surprised to see about a week later that people were afraid to go to Old Town because of a shooting there in the past. We walked all over from about 10-11 pm and never once felt threatened, or unsafe. Nor did we see anything remotely indicating that there may be any kind of trouble. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you're looking for a quiet night's rest, ask for an inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    96
    19
    7
    9
See reviews for
66
131
23
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed for two nights at the Hotel at Old Town for a conference. I loved all the Keen Kutter posters and early 20th century photographs of Wichita decorating the walls. The room was beatiful, the bed comfortable and the sheets ultra smooth. A table to sit at and work, a full size refridgerator for when you are a long term guest, microwave and coffee maker. What more could you ask for? The seat in the shower is nice for when you need it.

The breakfast buffet was a real treat also. I really enjoyed the thick pieces of ham that were there with the bacon and sausage. The staff was very helpful. I agree with the other 5 star reviews. Lots of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTympani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our stay truly was wonderful. The setting is beautiful. The constantly flowing fountain is SO relaxing. The staff is exceedingly helpful. Because of its location, Hotel at Old Town is near many good restaurants as well as fun shopping.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies facing the interior are definitely the best because of the view. The beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 935JayneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here with my teenage daughter over Labor Day weekend for a dance competition that was being held in the hotel's meeting space. Was SO pleased with the level of comfort and service provided! Our room was spacious, gorgeously decorated and SO comfortable! Bed and linens were heavenly. Bathroom huge and well-appointed. Was a bit worried when we heard the rooms had kitchens - but needn't have been. (Apparently I've only stayed in cheesy places with kitchens in the rooms before!) Kitchen was right inside the door and you didn't feel like you were looking at it from different spots in the room. It was also very convenient - we love to keep drinks and snacks in our room.

Speaking of drinks and snacks, I always find it so annoying when there is nothing but vending machines and no stores within walking distance of a hotel. Here they had something I'd never seen: an honor-system "cupboard", which was a small room filled with cold drinks and all kinds of snacks - beyond just the usual candy bars. There were ice cream bars, granola bars, etc., as well as sundries you might have forgotten. You just take what you want, tick the boxes on a convenient little form which you drop in a slot and the charges are added to your bill. We used the cupboard quite a bit, and I really appreciated it.

As others have said, no restaurant - but there were many great options all within very easy walking distance. Staff was very helpful with directions, etc. Breakfast buffet was excellent.

I really had nothing negative to say about the Hotel at Old Town, and would absolutely choose it if I ever find myself in Wichita again.

Afterthought: I did think of two very minor annoyances with our room: 1. There was only a nightstand on one side of the king bed, and 2. Plugs were not very easily accessible. I had to pull the nightstand out a bit to plug in my charger. Neither of things should in the slightest bit deter you from staying here.

Room Tip: Some people have said they had a problem with street noise. We did not. (We did have the air on fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhitePineLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Excellent Choice for downtown Wichita. Furnishings are top notch and well maintained.
We used the block of rooms for a wedding party. Slight plumbing problem was handled
in good time by efficient staff. Breakfast was great. Made use of the business center
computer which was in a quiet area near the lobby.

Room Tip: West side rooms tend to be noisy from street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Hotel at Old Town is a beautiful building, inside and out. There are some great restaurants and pubs within walking distance. There was also a free trolley for the surrounding area. It didn't travel too far outside the area, but it was still a nice option if you don't have a rental car.
The staff was great! Very helpful and always pleasant.
Our group also used the conference/ballrooms across the street. They were excellent and easy to go back and forth between there and the hotel.
Although we weren't too excited about killing time at the historical museum at the end of the street, we ended up staying until closing time - very interesting and worthwhile!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BayAreaTripReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamego, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding. There were many other wedding guests also at the hotel. The rooms were well kept, spacious, and had all of the amenities we needed. There was a roomy lobby that made mingling easy. The buffet breakfast was great, also maybe a little pricey at $10. Still, fresh fruits, meats, eggs, potatoes, waffles, yogurt, cereal, etc. were all included. The wedding reception was held in the center right across the street so we didn't have to drive. Such a wonderful time. Would definitely go back!
PS - No swimming pool nor restaurant on site however there are several places to eat within a block.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the atrium/lobby are excellent. Each has a little balcony that can be accessed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kdouglas_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wichita hotels
0.8 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Broadview - Wichita
6.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Wichita
Hyatt Regency Wichita
#4 of 87 in Wichita
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel At WaterWalk
Hotel At WaterWalk
#9 of 87 in Wichita
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel at Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel at Old Town

Property: Hotel at Old Town
Address: 830 E 1st St N, Wichita, KS 67202-2737
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wichita
#3 Family Hotel in Wichita
#8 Business Hotel in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel at Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Old Town. All rooms have plush bedding, fully equipped kitchens, free wired and wireless internet, voice mail, oversized desk, and TV. Amenities include a business center, Cupboard, free parking garage, and fitness center. The Old Town location provides over 40 restaurants, shops and museums, all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel at Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Old Town Wichita
Hotel Motel Wichita Kansas Old Town
At Old Town Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing