We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Get-a-way!”
Review of Hotel at Old Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel at Old Town
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Wichita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband and I booked an overnight stay at Hotel at Old Town. It was just what we were looking for. We requested a room on the 4th floor after reading some reviews about weekend street noise and I would say that was advice well-heeded. We were in room 421 that looks out over the street toward the museum and the brewery, yet we heard very little noise! The curved windows are really charming. The room is equipped with a full size fridge, a two-burner stove top, a microwave, cute dishes, a few pans.... Just enough for a mutli-night trip. The breakfast is not included, but for $10, the weekend buffet they have catered in was TERRIFIC! I would recommend that without hesitation. The evening piano bar is a real treat. But beware; the brochure with our room key said they offered music until 10 p.m. We planned our evening around that, going to dinner with the intent of then coming back to relaxing with a drink and listening to great piano jazz. We returned to learn that the brochure was "an old one" and the music had ended at 8 :-( But the lobby bar was open until midnight and we, along with several couples, enjoyed a drink in a comfy chair near the atrium fountain. Overall this was a great hotel close to tons of night life, free parking in the garage and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnroses4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
There are newer reviews for Hotel at Old Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 583 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were in town for a wedding and were fortunate enough to spend two nights at thie Hotel at Old town. The rooms are great - high ceilings, great furniture, very clean. Everything seemed up to do date. Jazz playing in the lobby. Friendly staff. Only thing to note if you plan on staying at this great hotel on a weekend: request an interior room facing the lobby or a room away from the street. The area is surrounded by some very nice bars and restaurants and on a Saturday night, it can get very loud. Our sons, in a room away from the street, did not hear the noise but we were kept up until the revelry died down at about two a.m. Otherwise, highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank PhiladelphiaJHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We enjoyed the stay! It was a very nice hotel with a romantic feel. Staff was very professional and helpful. The only negative would be staying on a weekend night (not sure about week nights). There are so many people walking around outside partying and they were so loud throughout the whole night. We could hear people fighting at 2am outside from the second floor. Parking downtown is hard to find but if you stay at the hotel you can use the parking garage right next to the building. You are right in the middle downtown and walking distance to so many attractions. Overall, it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlene v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The hotel is very cool and in a great location for walking to/from Intrust Bank Arena and Old Town Square. It's starting to show its age and could really use some updating in the rooms and lobby. Service was great, room was quiet, parking was very convenient. Despite the decor and fixtures being a bit outdated, the hotel and room were very clean and everything worked great. I'd still recommend the hotel for a great stay.

Room Tip: Fourth floor was quiet and the view down to the lobby was really nice.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildcat8971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Old town is a nice hotel with a lot of ambiance.
1. Clean
2. Good beds
3. Good TV
4. Good breakfast
5. Poor Internet access on the back side of the hotel.
6. Reasonable rates
7. Friendly staff.
8. Good parking
9. Close to restaurants and movie theatre.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Corpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Overall the Hotel at Old Town is an excellent place to stay in Wichita. The staff we dealt with were, without exception, helpful and friendly. The hotel is located smack in the middle of Old Town, with all the ambiance, shops, entertainment, eating and drinking establishments Old Town has to offer right at your doorstep.

The hotel was created inside what used to be a warehouse and they did an outstanding job of creating an excellent hotel out of it, while retaining enough evidence of the building's origins to add lots of interest. In addition to leaving visible some original architectural details, at every turn there's a built-in display of memorabilia from the building's heyday as a warehouse.

Rooms are well appointed and the kitchenette is a convenient touch, though you'd be hard pressed to make it work if you wanted to use it for much more than heating up leftovers or cooking a very simple meal. And any in-room eating has to be done at the desk.

The lobby is spacious, with lots of different conversation areas, well decorated and comfortable, both physically and visually. The live piano (accompanied by a bass guitar) in the evening was a very pleasant touch.

This is definitely not a cookie-cutter hotel. It has an appeal all its own and is a very comfortable, pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrayBeard001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed there for two nights on business, great staff, breakfast was pretty good. The TV channel selection has gone down. No more HBO or Speed channel. Room was clean - overall good place to stay. They used to have better coffee in the lobby, what they have now is not bad just not as good as the Douie Egberts they used to have.

Room Tip: No swimming pool here - the train will wake you up if you are on the north side.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chriszrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wichita hotels
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Wichita
Hyatt Regency Wichita
#5 of 87 in Wichita
677 reviews
0.8 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Broadview Wichita
0.9 mi away
Hotel At WaterWalk
Hotel At WaterWalk
#10 of 87 in Wichita
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wichita Downtown
6.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel at Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel at Old Town

Address: 830 E 1st St N, Wichita, KS 67202-2737
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wichita
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wichita
#8 Business Hotel in Wichita
Price Range: $116 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel at Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Old Town. All rooms have plush bedding, fully equipped kitchens, free wired and wireless internet, voice mail, oversized desk, and TV. Amenities include a business center, Cupboard, free parking garage, and fitness center. The Old Town location provides over 40 restaurants, shops and museums, all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel at Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Old Town Wichita
Hotel Motel Wichita Kansas Old Town
At Old Town Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing