We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stop when in town”
Review of Nu Way Sandwich Shop - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nu Way Sandwich Shop
Cuisines: Soups
Restaurant details
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Must stop when in town”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Homemade root beer served in a cold glass mug!!
They have been around for a long long time. Loose meat sandwiches is what they are famous for!! Curly fries!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sonic1us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I don't get it...”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Its crumbling hamburger on greasy buns. My parents love it. Maybe on a different day with a few beers in me I would've too but this wasn't appetizing.

Helpful?
Thank beccamcfeeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Classic”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Whenever I pass through Wichita, I plan to be hungry and stop at the original Nu Way on Douglas. I have eaten here since I was a kid staying at my Grandmother;s house nearby. Lots of memories for me. The food is trulu unique and American. Love the loose meat sandwiches and steamed buns. Unique places like this seem to be disappearing all too quickly. This place is worth the trip on many levels. Worth planning a visit even if a slight detour is necessary

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hiwayyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“An original you must try”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I am a sucker for a Nu Way. This steamed, crumbly meat sandwich is awesome (similar to Maid Rite). My son loves the chili. I think the onion rings are some of the best I have eaten in a long time. Plus the root beer is perfect. I like to try and eat at the downtown location since it is such a fun old school experience. But the food at this location is the same. If you have never had a Nu Way give it a try when in Wichita.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TrA11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nu Way”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I eat at Nu Way whenever I can I love the crumbly burger and the root beer drinks. The atmosphere is great at the diner.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank brontz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nu Way Sandwich Shop also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing