We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Wichita North Hotel & Suites
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Wichita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was pretty good. Comfortable bed. I was nervous because it only had 2-3 stars on priceline but I was pleasantly surprised. I would definitely stay there again. The only thing I didn't like was that they didn't have body wash in the bathroom, it was bar soap; and the shampoo didn't have a strong smell.... I had a job interview at a zoo so I had to wash my hair 3 times to get the smell out. It's a little out of the way. The restaurant staff were hit or miss.. some were very friendly but others not so much.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vk422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwestern17107, Assistant General Manager at Best Western Wichita North Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you so much for commenting on your stay. Im glad to hear that our front desk staff was helpful and accommodating. Also I know that is nice to have a hot breakfast in the morning so thank you for visiting our country kitchen restaurant. I would like to discuss with you further about the service that your received in our restaurant. It is our intention that all of our guests receive the very best in customer service. That is our motto. Please contact my office so that we may discuss your stay in detail. Again thank you for staying with us and I hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Wichita North Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 575 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

I almost drove on, when I saw the property. It doesn't look great from the outside, with exterior access rooms. When I went in, I was aided by a very helpful desk clerk. He gave me an interior access room and I felt a little better.

The hotel is very old and worn and has a bit of a stale smell. The halls are rather dark. The saving grace of this property is the staff. They keep the place very clean and try their best to be helpful. I found the room to be clean and comfortable and I slept well.

I will likely not return to this hotel, as the area was not quite what I was looking for and the hotel is a little too old for my liking. I would like to commend the staff for doing a great job.

Room Tip: Choose an interior access room if you are a female traveling alone.
Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Thank suzanne9209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwestern17107, Assistant general manager at Best Western Wichita North Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thank you for your comments about our staff. I am happy to hear that our staff was able to provide you with an accommodating room. I would also like to point out that we are making some major renovations to our property in order to provide our guests with the very best customer experience. Hopefully you will stay with us in the near future and enjoy all of the new upgrades that our property will offer. Again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Amazing staff, amazing value! Great place for kids. Great indoor pool and play areas. Nice open areas to just hang out and socialize. The breakfast buffet was great, and really helped give a lot of bang for your buck! Easy access location, and very affordable.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwestern17107, Assistant general manager at Best Western Wichita North Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank so much for your comments. We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay. I'm glad that you had the chance to enjoy the many amenities our hotel has to offer. We pride ourselves on being family oriented. Also families really love our on site restaurant which serves a hot and ready breakfast buffet each morning. Once again thank you and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel was fine, I was at a 3 day convention and could only stay the 1st and 3rd day. I went to get my wife on the 2nd day and bring her on the 3rd, that's where the foul-up was. I had reserved the rooms 2 months early, requesting king-bed smoking room, was told when i checked out on the 2nd day" no problem for the 3rd day. I got back on the 3rd and my room was gone, yes they took $10 off my room charge, but i would rather have gotten the right room, it wasn't smoking or king bed, so came with no fridge for my insulin, they brought one but it took all night to get cold. I saw someone else say the breakfast buffet was good, I guess if you like watery gravy on your biscuits, half cooked sausage, no bacon, no cereal, my wife took 1 bite of the only thing she would try, french toast sticks and said they sucked and went back to her room, this was the consensus by most of the people I talked to about it at the rally, and we do know good food from bad, we're bikers. the convention was great (KS State HOG Rally), the hotel was nice enough but the experience left a sour taste in my mouth. "Oh and I almost forgot, one of the beds had hair in it my wife said pubic, what appeared to be dead bugs, my wife said bed bugs, so in essence we got a room with one queen bed.

Room Tip: ask about amenities for each type room
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TIMBOBfromKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwestern17107, Assistant general manager at Best Western Wichita North Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay. I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. I will share your comments with our staff and will take preventative measures to avoid future incidents. Thank you again. And we hope that you stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was a 1st visit to this location. We were overall impressed with the upkeep of this older hotel. Cleanliness and friendliness were a top priority. We decided that this might be a perfect place to bring extended family for a reasonably priced trip (the breakfast in the Country Kitchen was very good & the staff there, excellent!!). However......the 2nd night there, we were kept awake by "lots" of kids playing (running, screaming & throwing balls at each other hitting doors of rooms, etc..) in the center arcade area & loud music. We called down to the desk (after 11 pm) & were informed that the center area was closed. Told them that we were looking out our door and there were many people still there and VERY noisy. The clerk politely apologized and said that they would clear out the area, 45 minutes later...they were still there & making noises. There was also a band playing in another area of the hotel and we were informed that they were playing till midnight. I know that there was a rally going on in at the location, but what about the people who stopped for a place to stay for SLEEP!! It's too bad that such a nice location has such issues with noise. We complained at the desk again at check-out and was given a discount on our stay, which was greatly appreciated but didn't help the fact that we had a very sleepless night and were drained on our trip home. Don't know if having a room on the outside would have helped with the music blaring till midnight. Even though our kids/grandkids would love the arcade part, not sure if the lack of rest would be worth it.....as I see from another review that they had the same issue. It seems that almost everywhere we travel, other guests letting their kids run wild is an overall theme that ruins many people's experiences at normally great hotel/motel destinations. We hoped that by us letting the hotel know about the situation, they will deal with it before it ruins their good reputation of a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momma12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwestern17107, Assistant general manager at Best Western Wichita North Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay. I apologize for the noise issues that you encountered. We take all of guests concerns very seriously and will be taking preventative measures to help prevent any future occurrences. Again thank you for your comments and I hope that you will give us another chance in the future to earn your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel was fine, but we were the wrong people in the wrong place to enjoy it. This would be an excellent site for families with children who need activity after being in a car all day. In the center of the hotel is an arcade, complete with pool tables, a putting green, and video games. Our room had glass sliding doors that would open right by the putting green. We heard a whole lot of conversation and congratulatory shouting when putts were accurate. We turned the fan on, and that helped a little with the noise. Another source of discomfort for us is that we're accustomed to a very dark room. With the arcade being right outside, it was well lit, and the curtain was not successful in blocking it.

The breakfast was very good; a Country Kitchen restaurant is attached to the hotel, and we were given coupons to the buffet. It was a very pleasant experience.

The room was clean and everything worked well. If you're a couple or traveling on business, I'd recommend finding another place or asking for an odd numbered room. I tried to look over the diagram of the hotel, and it appears that the odd numbered rooms aren't connected to the arcade.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwestern17107, Assistant General Manager at Best Western Wichita North Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your stay. We value your thoughts and suggestions. We will share your comments with our staff in an effort to consistently provide our customers with the very best customer care. Again thank you for your comments and we hope you stay with us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bestwestern17107, Assistant General Manager at Best Western Wichita North Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wichita hotels
8.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Wichita West Airport Inn
7.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront
8.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Eastgate Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel At WaterWalk
Hotel At WaterWalk
#10 of 87 in Wichita
481 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Wichita-East
5.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wichita Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Wichita North Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Wichita North Hotel & Suites

Address: 915 E 53rd St N, and Interstate 135, Wichita, KS 67219-2611 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Wichita North Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wichita
#10 Romantic Hotel in Wichita
#15 Family Hotel in Wichita
Price Range: $110 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Wichita North Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Wichita North Hotel & Suites!A great hotel near Koch Industries combines service and value, and our Wichita hotel has both in abundance for our guests.As a hotel near Wichita State University (WSU), we cater to groups, visiting faculty and students in town to tour the campus. Whether you want a hotel near Kansas Pavilions or a hotel near downtown Wichita, you deserve a property that puts your comfort first. An indoor pool and game area is a great way to relax or engage in some friendly competition. We're just six miles north of downtown Wichita, so slipping into town for some fine dining, entertainment or a special event is easy.Our Wichita hotel offers easy access off of I-35, so commutes are a breeze. With 16,000 square feet of convention space, we're also a popular choice for special events like meetings, receptions and family reunions. Employees of Koch Industries, Alefs Harley Davidson, the National Institute for Aviation Research (NIAR) and Wichita State University often take advantage of our spacious meeting facilities.We offer a complimentary hot breakfast with steaming hot waffles, fresh fruits, a selection of cereal and yogurt and 100% Arabica coffee or juices. With a fitness center and guest laundry, our pet friendly Wichita hotel makes guests feel right at home. Enjoy a swim in the indoor pool or a delectable meal at the attached Country Kitchen Restaurant. Complimentary Wi-Fi, Whirlpool suites and mobility accessibility makes your stay even more enjoyable. An elevator makes both floors of the hotel easily accessible. Nearby attractions include the Sedgwick County Zoo, Old Town Wichita and the Intrust Bank Arena. Spend the day exploring the streets of Old Town, or take the entire family on a trip to the zoo. Friendly staff members at our Wichita hotel are happy to provide recommendations, too.Reserve a room at BEST WESTERN Wichita North Hotel & Suites for a great vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Wichita North Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wichita North Hotel Wichita
Best Western Wichita North Hotel And Suites
Wichita Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing