We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if You're a Night Owl”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Wichita at Old Town
Ranked #35 of 87 Hotels in Wichita
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good if You're a Night Owl”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

This Courtyard Marriott was for the most part enjoyable...up until I got into bed around 9:30. I had a suite located in the front of the building on the top (5th) floor. The room, though maybe a tad dated, was surprising large and worked well for three of us.

But like I said, sleep was a real issue. The hotel is in what seems to be a hip area of town where there are many restaurants and some shops. One restaurant is located directly across the street from the Courtyard and on the only night I was there they had a band playing until 11:15PM. Keep in mind this is a Wednesday night so who know what a Friday or Saturday night is like. The music was rock which at times became so loud in the room it was laughable. I would highly suggest asking for a room in the back of the hotel if you would like to get to sleep prior to midnight.

Besides the loud music, the room was clean. It had the standard bathroom, two TVs, a wet bar, dining table for four, and ample seating. And like I mentioned earlier the room was really large for a one bedroom suite. This truly was a suite with a true separate bedroom, something that seems to become tougher and tougher to find these days.

The breakfast on the lower level, or the basement, that is for purchase was mediocre at best. I would advise against it.

Overall with the exception of the loud music, the hotel was nice. The staff were kind and accommodating, and the hotel was clean. Perfect for those who enjoy a night on the town, but maybe not so great for someone who likes to go to sleep at a reasonable hour.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexM111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    69
    34
    5
    20
See reviews for
40
42
19
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our family stayed at Courtyard by Marriott-Wichita at Old Town for a family reunion. Cleanliness is most important to me when staying at a hotel. Our room was big and very clean. We have two kids ages 18 and 22, and there were two queen beds and a sofa bed, so no one had to double up. There were plenty of little places for our family members to meet and visit in between reunion events. One family member wanted to be moved to a floor closer to the rest of us, and the front desk arranged that with a smile. Employee Teddy drove me to meet up with some old friends, so I would not have to walk in the heat. I did not even ask him to. The entire staff is amazing. The breakfast buffet is delicious and very reasonable. We were encouraged to take snacks up to our room. They also gave us a great rate for our reunion. I've stayed at quite a few hotels in Wichita, but I'll never stay anywhere else. Parking is $8. We did hear some music from the Pump House across the street, but it wasn't so loud, and they have a sound machine that we turned onto "Rain", and we could not hear the music anymore. It turns off automatically during the night, so it does not wake you up. This was really a nice hotel with the very best customer service we have ever experienced.

Room Tip: Rooms in the north east corner are quiet and very big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaudeJennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Was in town for a wedding. Stayed here because it was close to the location of the wedding. The hotel staff were very attentive. The fact that there was breakfast and not just a continental breakfast but a hot one made it all worthwhile I give it two thumbs up. Looking forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hatedluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed at the Courtyard Old Town for business and overall my experience was good and would probably stay again.

Pros:
Great location. Charming part of town
Restaurants just right across the street
Great gym
Breakfast buffet with someone who will make you an egg white omelet with veggies
Nice room overall

Cons:
The bistro serves minimal food, not the Courtyard bistro you are expecting
Their shuttle to the airport starts at 6:00, something not written down

Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bekahsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEL, Finland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed for a week, the location right on the edge of Old Town gives you nice access to night life (especially the Pump House just across the street).
Great staff, helpful. Tidy and fairly spacious rooms. Gym & laundry facilities available free.

Room Tip: If you don't mind (or rather, if you savour) the nightlife, ask for a room overlooking the Old T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willisika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel has a newly renovated lobby. The rooms are a little dated, but still clean and spacious. Staff was friendly at all times. I did arrive late in the evening and chose to eat at the hotel. The food was ok and would recommend to eat it at the bar vs the offer to deliver to the room... by the time it was delivered, the whipped cream on my dessert was melted and the food was cold.

The location is ideal, very walkable to any of the restaurants and pubs in Old Town. Free wifi in the room, but parking is additional fee - which I dont understand since it's an open lot next to the hotel.

Overall, a good hotel, nice staff and comparable to other Courtyard stays.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freqtravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is located in the Old Town with excellent access to a large range of bars, restaurants and nightclubs. The hotel is clean and tidy with friendly staff. I was on the first floor with an enourmous room. Free wifi available but a little slow for my liking. The room suffered from a little outside noise due to the close proximity of a couple of bars that had live music but it was to my taste and finished around 2300 so did not disturb me too much. Issues reported with lack of hot water did not affect me as I was on lower floor, so try and get 1st or 2nd floor rooms. Breakfast was standard and service good. Evening meals are better taken by visiting a wide choice of restaurants all within walking distance of the hotel, as the hotel evening selection is limited. The open unsecured car park (charged in my case $8 per night) is located at the rear of the hotel, is unsecured but for the three nights I was there did not experience any issues. Overall I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wichita hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel at Old Town
Hotel at Old Town
#3 of 87 in Wichita
547 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wichita Downtown
0.8 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Broadview Wichita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Wichita
Hyatt Regency Wichita
#4 of 87 in Wichita
617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Wichita at Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Wichita at Old Town

Property: Courtyard Wichita at Old Town
Address: 820 E 2nd St N, Wichita, KS 67202-2733
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Wichita
#25 Business Hotel in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Wichita at Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott - Wichita at Old Town is nestled in historic Old Town Wichita rests the award winning Courtyard by Marriott Wichita at Old Town, an example of Wichita's revitalization and urban sophistication. This hotel was originally built in 1930 as a warehouse and features the things you desire - contemporary style, an awe-inspiring atrium and the type of service that will make you never want to leave. Here on leisure? Located in the most exciting district of Wichita, you are just steps from some of the finest restaurants, entertainment, theaters, and museums. Here on business? We will keep you connected with complimentary high speed internet and a fully equipped business center. This hotel is conveniently located close to Via Christi, Flight Safety, Textron, and Koch Industries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Wichita at Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott - Wichita At Old Town Hotel Wichita
Marriott Wichita
Wichita Courtyard
Wichita Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing