We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service in town”
Review of Old Chicago

Old Chicago
Ranked #320 of 1,051 Restaurants in Wichita
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Wichita, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worst service in town”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

4:00 pm, Friday afternoon. 21st and Tyler location.
Hadn't been there for about 9 years. Last time we went it was not too bad but obviously we didn't rush back. We got a $10 off coupon in the mail so the wife and I decided to check it out. Ordered two glasses of Merlot. Got them 10 minutes later. We were sitting about ten feet from the bar. We ordered appetizers when the drinks came. 25 minutes later, never seeing our server, and there were only four other tables with people there so they were not busy at all, we asked to see the manager. A guy comes to the table a few minutes later and apologizes, says our server is in the back slicing lemons for the bar. I asked, why she wasn't taking care of her customers. Then another guy comes with a white shirt on and he is "The Manager". He said he would check on the appetizers. We told him NO THANKS, we are leaving and please bring us our check for the two drinks. After a short converstion he agreed to take care of the drinks. We might check it out again in another 9 years but I highly doubt it. That place needs a management change for sure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chazCjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    6
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“No piazza lunch buffet like the Old Towne location”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Been here a number of times. Just average. Beer is cold and staff is nice. It's a chain what can I say. Have had business lunches here and at other locations and the clients seem to prefer the OC with the pizza buffet at the other locations. The chain should be consistent if they can.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edlin101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The service was terrible.”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had excruciatingly long waits to be greeted, to receive drinks and food took forever, with incorrect orders and no compensation for bringing incorrect food after such a long wait. Our waiter forgot to bring sweetener for tea and we had to ask several times, got our orders wrong, someone dropped our daughter's order and she had to wait 10 more minutes on top of the 45 minutes we had already waited for our food. They said they would comp that, they said they would box up the rest of our son's food, and they said they would bring us a tea to go, and they forgot all those things. In the end we just wanted to get out of there!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jpate8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Center, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“STOP changing the menu!!!!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Last year I would have given this place an "Excellent" rating. This used to be our go-to spot. It has a great variety of beers, it's right across from the movie theatre, and the menu WAS great. However, they have been subtlely (and not so much) changing the menu over the last six months or so, and it is going downhill quickly. Several items have been changed for the worse, in my opinion, and others have been removed completely. One constant, though, seems to be that with the crappy changes have come higher prices. We used to come here to sit at the bar -- the bartenders are still great-- eat food, drink some beers, and catch a game. We don't come here very often anymore because we don't care to eat here (unless we want a pizza-- they haven't messed that up yet). Also, the last time we were here, I ordered a black and tan. It was about 20% black, 80% tan.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MFehrenbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“race to the bottom”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

They seem to be in a race with MacDonalds to how can shovel as much bad food down your throat as possible. Not sure who is winning but I know we are loosing.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing