We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Atmosphere and Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sweet Basil

Sweet Basil
Ranked #605 of 1,035 Restaurants in Wichita
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
116 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere and Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

My girlfriend and I picked this because Sweet Basil was voted as the most romantic restaurant in Wichita. We were very pleased with the atmosphere, and the service was phenomenal. I had the Filet Mignon with a Cracked Pepper Sherry Demiglaze. It was really well-prepared and had great flavor and tecture. The house veggies were also very good. I would like to visit this restaurant agin to try the more traditionally Italian dishes.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank niel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    7
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly atmosphere, great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Noon buffet offers a wide variety and is an excellent value. The service is always very good and staff recommendations are reliable. Reservations are strongly suggested for evenings.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Italian excellence on the plains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We eat at Sweet Basil once a month. First, the reception is warm and welcoming. The menu has something for everyone (vegetarian pasta to steaks). The wait staff receives great training. Finally, the prices are very reasonable. Great atmosphere for seeing old friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 73Dwight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Kansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A "sweet" place to eat.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We ate at Sweet Basil 2/16/2013. Getting a table - The Saturday after Valentine's Day. The place was packed with the earliest we could get in being 8:15. We live about an hour away so it worked for us - but call ahead for reservations. We were seated upon arrival, and were able to snag a booth. The tables are spacious for 2. Ambiance - They had decorated with hearts and a fresh flower for every table. Music was playing at the right level. Tables are fairly close but not too close for private conversation. Food - Tried the bruchetta and greek salad, which happened to be on "special". Both were good. The house salad with italian dressing had a bit of a kick (in a good way). Entrees - chicken parmesan and bistec italiano - both excellent! I accidentlly left my entree knife on the salad plate... was able to cut both the chicken and steak with a normal table knife so yes - they were both very tender. My only issues were that seasonal vegtables are served with the entrees... I was provided carrots (very yummy), broccoli, brussel sprouts, and yellow squash. My date was given cauliflower and zucchini - they tasted as if they had all been cooked together... maybe it was just coincidence - maybe it was chef's choice... I just found it a bit odd. Also the tables are a bit high, maybe it is to shorten the distance from food to mouth...again not a deal breaker. Our server, Bree, was Great. From some of the comments we overheard the other diners were very pleased with their servers as well. Price - App for two (but would have also worked for 4), 1 reg salad, 1 special salad, 2 entrees and 2 glasses of wine for about $60. Good value! Overall - would recommend!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Botanicaofkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
Level Contributor
111 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Chicken Piccata!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Have never gone wrong with the Chicken Picata. Sweet Basil has been around for many years in Wichita, and it is one place that always seems to get it right every time!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Basil also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing