We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“So much for so little” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   104 S. Broadway, Wichita, KS 67202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Wichita
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“So much for so little”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Having stayed at a lot of hotels in Wichita, including the venerable Hyatt many times, all I can say is that there is a new leader in town. The Ambassador punches way above its weight. First, it is very well located. Second, it has been completely renovated. My room was huge, with very up to date appointments, lots of good lighting, excellent (and quiet) HVAC, a good bed, very quiet room, and a great, large bathroom with a good shower, light, etc. The included toiletries were good quality. The furniture was very high quality. All in all, I would have expected this quality in a first-rank big city hotel--but in Wichita? And for $160 per night?

The restaurant is also quite good. The menu is not your typical commodity mid-west focus-on-the-beef type menu. Much better quality, and much better diversity.

The staff are quite nice--not too gushy or obsequious, but helpful and direct.

It is a keeper. If you need to stay in Wichita, you ought to consider it first.

Room Tip: Get a high floor and get a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suitcasepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    43
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
33
63
13
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the Labor Day weekend as a launch point for our visit to the Eisenhower Museum and Library in Abilene. This hotel is located right in the heart of downtown, close to the Old Town Marketplace,other major attractions and the interstates to take you to surrounding areas. The young man at the reception desk was perfectly suited for his position...welcoming and accommodating! As others have stated, the rooms are large and clean and the beds are extremely comfortable! The amenities in the bathroom were top class and the sitting bench was a nice classy touch. On the downside, the lack of a pool keeps this hotel from being a truly "5 Star" property. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Touche57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great downtown location marks this hotel a great place to stay if traveling for business. Newly remodeled, the rooms are quite large and stylish. It has a boutique feel and the service was exceptional. Meeting spaces were very nice well suited for small or medium sized groups. The restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We are going to be staying here again soon for the second time. This place is wonderful. Very peaceful and clean. The beds are so comfortable. The rooms are big. The bathroom spotless and huge!!!! You will love it. The staff is great!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

My fiance and I frequent many hotels & this is almost the nicest one in town I say almost because there is no pool and u have to pay to park but the place is beautiful top to bottom with the best blackout curtains ever in life. The bed was a dream so ask for a late check out and sleep in if u can. The bed made us miss breakfast so we caught lunch & had the most awesome gourmet cheeseburger (does that even exist? YES) and duck fat fries. They are making magic in that kitchen. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kikiboo316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The Amassador is a cute boutique hotel, with many luxurious appointments - decorative curtains, plush designer carpeting, chic furniture, sleek and modern design and colors, spa feel to the bathrooms. But a few things are lacking, such as the total privacy of a locking bathroom door, a sleeper sofa that pulls out for additional sleeping in such an expansive room, beautiful bathroom faucet only trickles water, the see thru mini fridge that only contains two V8 splash juices but remains locked - not sure how to open it. The walls a pretty thin, I could hear coffee being brewed next door. When I called the front desk a couple of times for extra pillows, towels, etc - the response time was fast. There are kuerig machines, hot cocoa and tea but they were out of regular coffee and stocked the room with decaf. When calling the front desk they advised they were out of stock and brewed a pot downstairs and brought it up immediately. The parking garage is a short walk away and it cost $6 per day. If leaving during the day, let the front desk know when you've paid, to avoid multiple payments to the machine. Great hotel for newlyweds, couples and business travel. I don't recommend for families due to the lack of family friendly amenities such as a pool, which we miss and always make use of when traveling as a family. Overall it was the best value for our family, as we were in town for the MAYB tournament. I would only return if hotel availability was limited in the Wichita area again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezuma, ks
Level Contributor
207 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hands down, without question the best hotel stay I've ever had. I travel to wichita on a regular basis for business and pleasure and have made the rounds with the major hotels. I started with the Broadview, but when they closed to remodel I switched to the Hyatt. I got sick and tired of the Hyatt due to the noise and crowding of inconsiderate drunken conventioners attached to the hotel, so I moved over the Marriott. Was happy with the Marriott UNTIL I TRIED THE AMBASSADOR.
I will never stay at another hotel in Wichita as long as the Ambassador is open for business. Everything you read about the incredible service and friendly staff is true, if not understated. Check in was the easiest I have ever encountered anywhere, which makes a difference when you are tired from travel. We stayed on the 12th floor in a standard room (not the corner king).
Upon entering the room you notice just how pretty it is. The colors of the rooms themselves are soothing to a weary traveler. The bathroom is huge, and the closet was bigger than the room I grew up in as a kid. Here is another small factor that made my day: The iron worked! Usually hotel room irons have been beat to death and I hate trying to iron and having water leak out onto my clothes or stain them or damage them. Every detail of the Ambassador is customer oriented and flawless.
But the single biggest factor in my decision to return is the complete absence of noise. No screaming kids running up and down the halls. No elevator noise all hours of the day and night. No drunken idiots yelling in the halls at 2 am coming back from Oldtown. NOTHING BUT SERENITY! There wasn't even AC noise, and I like my room COLD.
The most fitting description of the Ambassador and it's rooms: Sanctuary. I can't wait to go back. In fact, I'll be there in two weeks. Just booked it.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 12th floor in 1203. Not far from the elevators and at the hallway junction so I exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MontezumaSocialClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wichita hotels
0.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Broadview - Wichita
6.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Hotel at Old Town
Hotel at Old Town
#3 of 87 in Wichita
4.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Wichita
Hyatt Regency Wichita
#4 of 87 in Wichita
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel At WaterWalk
Hotel At WaterWalk
#9 of 87 in Wichita
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection

Property: Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection
Address: 104 S. Broadway, Wichita, KS 67202
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic style meets contemporary design and tailored service at the Ambassador Hotel Wichita. Located within the beautifully renovated Union National Bank Building - at the the core of the city’s center at the crossroads of Broadway and Douglas Streets – this luxury boutique hotel ushers in a new paradigm of an unrivaled hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing