We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful property with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Wichita
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful property with excellent service”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We attended a wedding reception on the second floor overlooking the corner of Douglas and Broadway. The food and the service were both top notch. The room we stayed in was spacious with lots of windows. Lots of beautiful black granite everywhere you look. There is something special about these historic downtown buildings that have been brought back to life.

Room Tip: The upper floors have nice views and lots of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. I am happy that not only did you enjoy your visit, but you also enjoyed the wedding reception held at the hotel. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    48
    9
    8
    5
See reviews for
37
76
17
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed at the Ambasssador with the family and found the newly opened hotel to meet all expectations. The manager brings his years of success at the Ambassador in Tulsa to Wichita and this will clearly be the go to hotel in this City. The rooms were beautiful and the entire staff was eager to find ways to make the stay exceptional. Free use of the Escalade to shuttle around townmakes the stay an easy one.
We dined at the Siena Tuscan steakhouse on site, the menu provided lots of delicious choices and the hostess Zoe was the perfect face of the restaurant. A poised, welcoming and charming lady who quietly took care of our requests for seating and escorted our 10 year old daughter to the rest room to boot. The only possible downside was some early issues with seating and the meal which were likely the result of the difficulties present for any restuarant when starting anew. I am sure they will get the kinks worked out in short order. Overall I would rate the Hotel a 10 and the restaurant an 8 and I look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the new Ambassador Hotel Wichita. It is good to hear that our staff was attentitve to your needs. I am particularly greatful that you commended Zoe for her charm, poise and customer service. I shared these wonderful comments with her. Thank you again for staying with us and we look foward to you and your family returning to the Ambassador Hotel Wichita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2013

food...wine list....rooms...service 5 star 3 star pricing...GO!!!!!! just for the weekend or by yourself..its a treat---Chef very creative...dinning room stunning...greta vibe---Its done very well and the owner is committed to quality called and visited with me and asked about my stay...I am an interior designer...and have a trained eye...I am going back soon

Room Tip: corner KING
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelexpert_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the new Ambassador Hotel Wichita. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the food, atmosphere and libations. We are happy to have such a talented Chef on board. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairway, Kansas, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of booking a room at the Ambassador Hotel in Wichita, Kansas. It is a newly refurbished hotel inb downtown Wichita, which has the feel of a high end chic hotel right out of Vegas or new York. The room I had was initially a king bed, but upon arrival, and desire for additional amenity, (tub), I was allowed to upgrade to a great suite style room with a tub and shower (marble of course), a large bedroom and large living room, at no additional charge. The hotel staff was .....perfect. Outgoing but not in your way, extremely friendly and willing to do whatever it took to make your stay as comfortable, and as pleasant as possible. They did all that and more.
I would highly recommend this hotel to any traveling businessmen/women and artists, as each room is unique and extremely well appointed with comfortable yet extremely attractive furniture and amenities.
Check this one out when thinking of booking a room in Wichita. It's money well spent.

Room Tip: don't be afraid to ask for an upgrade upon arrival. If theres rooms available I am confident tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments regarding the staff are so apprecited and i was happy to share them. We look forward to being you hotel of choice when in the Wichita area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, Kansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

During the past year or so I've travelled to Wichita MANY times while building a house there. I always try new hotels, looking for hotels with jacuzzi suites, pools, anything to make my stays more interesting and fun. As a result I've stayed at almost every nice hotel in Wichita, and even some which weren't so nice! The Ambassador opened on January 1st this year, and I booked a suite for the following week. It is beautiful, brand new, with suites that have oversized soaking tubs and great views of downtown. They also provide limo service to downtown locations, which was a great plus for the Cirque du Soleil show-- no parking hassles! The decor is gorgeous, the restaurant serves delicious northern Italian fare, and when they have room service up and running there will not be a hotel in town that can come CLOSE to their four-star, world-class service. In my opinion this could be the first luxury boutique hotel here to rival even those like the Joule and the Palomar in Dallas. Congratulations, Wichita, we're "not in Kansas anymore!"

PROS:
Gorgeous decor and atmosphere
New, beautiful rooms with excellent views
Keurig coffee makers, pillow top mattresses and luxurious sheeting and towels
Excellent, personalized service including bell and valet services
One of the best restaurants in Wichita, serving great steak, seafood, and pasta
Excellent location close to the Intrust Arena with limo service gratis

CONS:
Expensive. (But they should be.)
Early on there were some quirks with the laundry service. I expect that to change.
Ice buckets are small and should be filled at turn-down for guests' convenience.
No pool on property, but there is a nice workout room.
No pay-per-view movies. (This would be a nice addition for room-service nights.)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaFairleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Wow, I was thrilled to hear your comparison of the new Ambassador Hotel Wichita to the Joule and Palomar in Dallas. This is quite a compliment and is greatly appreciated. I have shared your comments with our entire staff. We look forward to being your hotel of choice when in Wichtia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

A friend of mine and I went for a cocktail at the hotel bar. First rate service, friendly staff, and one of the best gin and tonic cocktails I've ever had! Ambassador wins a gold star in my book! Can't wait to try the restaurant. This place is fantastic, and definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank collinpowers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Reviewed January 10, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding the Siena Tuscan Steakhouse bar. We too look forward to your return visit to enjoy Chef Marshall's creations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

I could not believe the size/quality of the room when I opened the door; with a cool key card - BEAUTIFUL.

Wonderful staff from the young men who greet you at the door, to the front desk staff and even to some of the staff I met in the elevator.

Stay here and enjoy

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaimeInDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the new Ambassador Hotel Wichita. I am happy to hear that you appreciated the size and quality of the room and that you found our staff accommodating and friendly. We look forward to being your hotel of choice when in Wichita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wichita hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel at Old Town
Hotel at Old Town
#3 of 86 in Wichita
536 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Broadview Wichita
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Wichita
Hyatt Regency Wichita
#4 of 86 in Wichita
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront
0.6 mi away
Hotel At WaterWalk
Hotel At WaterWalk
#9 of 86 in Wichita
464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wichita Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection

Property: Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection
Address: 104 S Broadway Ave, Wichita, KS 67202-4116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic style meets contemporary design and tailored service at the Ambassador Hotel Wichita. Located within the beautifully renovated Union National Bank Building - at the the core of the city’s center at the crossroads of Broadway and Douglas Streets – this luxury boutique hotel ushers in a new paradigm of an unrivaled hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing