We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Adventure”

Sedgwick County Zoo
Ranked #1 of 76 things to do in Wichita
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: To inspire discovery, appreciation, and respect for animals and nature.
Salina, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Family Adventure”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Zoo is one of my children's favorite stops. I've even taken my wife there for impromptu dates. While most of the Zoo is top notch, some of the older exhibits are in need of some updating (reptile area / rain forest). Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KrisTravelsOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    812
    180
    41
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turon, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Best zoo around!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Not only is this a beautiful zoo, but it's a great day to spend the entire day! Many places to sit and rest and beautiful landscaping to enjoy! Very kid friendly and family oriented. We have been taking our kids there for years and now we are taking our grandaughter! We have always tried to make this an annual trip for our family and we all enjoy it!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tamra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, KS
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Zoo, LOCK YOUR CAR!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is one of the best zoo's in the nation. They have a great animals and a great exhibits. The one draw back? They don't care about their customers and their customers cars. They fail to hire a full-time security for the parking lot. They fail to install security camera's in the parking lot. They have a big rate of smash and grabs in the parking lot. So much that the Sedgwick County Sherif makes an hourly pass through the parking lot. But this does nothing to stop the crime. Our car was not only broken into in December 2011, it was actually stolen. The people who work at the Zoo told us they President of the Zoo fails to do anything to stop the crime because it would cost so much money to put in cameras or hire security. Yet the prices seem to go up yearly.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Zoo most of the USA has never heard of.”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Love this Zoo. Have been to zoo's all over the country, and our Wichita Zoo is as good or better. Great atmosphere, great workers and volunteers. Food is OK. If you are from out of town, do not miss this Crown Jewel of our city. You will not be disappointed.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank KRARAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This is my favorite zoo.”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I've been to a lot of zoos around the country, and this is one of my favorites. My son and nieces love it every time. It's spacious and easy to get around. No need to push through crowds and jockey for position. The zoo continues to make improvements, taking advantage of the space available to improve the quality of life for the animals. Love it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Monkeysmama M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sedgwick County Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Sedgwick County Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing