We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Indian History”

Mid-America All-Indian Center
Ranked #22 of 75 things to do in Wichita
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Mid-America All-Indian Center is the only facility of its kind in Kansas that is solely dedicated to educating people about and preserving the art and culture of American Indians. The Indian Center invites visitors to stroll through its many areas that include: A museum with exhibits of contemporary art and cultural artifacts that depict the American Indian nations of the past and present. Many of the exhibits have interactive aspects and hands on items for the kids. Seasonal outdoor learning center, which include a full-size tipi and native gardening area. Gift Shop selling American Indian-made items, music, movies, jewelry and Keeper of the Plains items. Large indoor area, known as the Gallery of Nations, contains nearly 100 flags of Indian nations. It is the area where special events and private rentals take place. The center not only showcases local tribes, but those throughout the United States and Canada. It is not affiliated with one particular tribe, so the Mid-America All-Indian Center is a place where are American Indians and the general public can come to share their experiences, learn and interact with each other. There are 10,000 American Indians representing 73 tribes in the Wichita area.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Little Indian History”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I was here for a convention dinner banquet and the performances they put on was fantastic.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank msgigglez07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    11
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Ne
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is one place that shows and tells history that is spellbinding. We went with our grandchildren and we had a very good time. The bridge and prayer cenetr in the middle of the bridges is really neat. Wallk down to the water when you are there.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank NVI_Owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
207 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place for a private event.”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Had never attended a private event here or even thought to host one but it was great.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank ddzKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OZ
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Native American Powwow, Indian History and Art”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

The Native American history has been forgotten by many. The local Powwow here is sometimes inside and other times outside. They have large drum circles, dances in original dress and lots of art venders. Good people paying tribute to their ancestors and heritage. Well worth checking out and supporting for young and old alike.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Autobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great historical perspective”
Reviewed March 29, 2011

I took my son who was 7 years at the time to this museum. It was really quite interesting particularly if you have any idea of the impact and significance of the Native American Indians on the area. My son loved the outdoor exhibits. We went through some of the artwork quick than others, but he had many questions and we discussed what it was like to live at the time and how things have changed. I enjoyed it immensely and would go back.

Visited June 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank axjayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mid-America All-Indian Center also viewed

 

Been to Mid-America All-Indian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing