We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for sleeping....not the cleanest.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown
Ranked #28 of 86 Hotels in Wichita
Cape Girardeau, MO
Level Contributor
69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ok for sleeping....not the cleanest.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2010

I stayed here on business. The service at the front desk was great! The lobby looked clean and well kept. When we exited the elevator on the 2nd floor, the wall where the window was directly off the elevator was covered in mold. Once in my room I noticed a fairly large mold spot near the window. There was also a whole in the wall where the door opened and hit it over and over. In the bathroom there was an exposed fuse box. The housekeeping did a good job of cleaning the room overall. While I did not swim, overlooking the pool and hottub, they seem to be pretty dirty and in need of a new paint job. The trash cans and ashtrays on the hotel grounds to not get emptied daily and the occasional piece of trash gets left sitting on the ground for at least a couple of days. Overall, it was fine to sleep in, but I would never go for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOGrl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2010
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I do apologize for the conditions that you had to see while you were here. Those had been addressed as our pool is now closed for the season and looking to do some refurbishing this spring. As for the mold issue that has been repaired and addressed. I am truly sorry for those conditions you witnessed as we do want our appearance to be something your remember as positive. Again I am truly sorry for the conditions and when you do return to Wichita you consider coming again and casee that improvements are important to us as well.

Thank you,
Amanda Bryant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    109
    98
    32
    28
See reviews for
104
65
34
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
485 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

Near to the Baseball stadium, large sized room, nice and clean. Also has bar at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheScubaDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2010
Thank you for your comments its always a pleasure to hear about how your stay was and I am very pleased that you enjoyed staying with us.

Thank you,
Amanda Bryant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

For a number of years I stopped staying in Holiday Inns for their reputation of poorly maintained properties and bad service. Recently I've stayed in a few more because of location and conferences. I have been pleasantly surprised at the refreshes at many of the properties, but the downtown Wichita Holiday Inn reminded me too much of a classic Holiday Inn (that's not a good thing).

It appears that they attempted a refresh, but it's very apparent that the owners/operators were looking for the cheapest possible options. In my room there were severe wall cracks, rusted vents, an exposed and rusted electrical panel in my bathroom and a poorly plumbed toilet. The carpet and walls were filthy. Throughout the rest of the property there were carpet baseboards that were falling off the walls, wallpaper peeling and dirty floors.

I ate breakfast in the restaurant on site and had to go get a waitress from the kitchen to take my order. She was unkempt and reeked of smoke. I then had to wait for her to bring my check while she, "ran a room service."

I'll be sticking with my Hilton and Marriott family. Sorry Holiday Inn; you had an opportunity but you had a bad one in the bunch and you lost.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pointcollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

One Friday night stay this. Easy to find and park at. The view was of the elevated road that passed the hotel yet the hotel interior was very quiet. In fact you know when there at not many guests when yours is the only room with a USA today outside it in the morning on the entire floor.
The kind reception lady gave me a suite on the 5th Floor, two room, two bathroom which was more than adequate. The room was showing the wear of a hotel that has seen some traffic but not dirty. Bed comfortable and shower good and powerful. I had a steak in the bar which was good and well priced and then headed off to town. To the bar/nightlife area it was $5 in a taxi.
Parking area was lit but could be a worry to some and the area wasn't that bad. There are some eateries within walking distance for families and about 1/2 mile away are recommended steakhouses on Wichita's tourism website. Total bill including food $130

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spiderpig41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2010
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. It is always a great feeling when a guest has a great experience as that is our goal in making sure our guests feel welcomed.

Thank you,
Amanda Bryant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2009

rooms very small no resturant open tornado warning. alarm sounded and staff did not notify guests

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2010
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I do apologize for the experience you had while staying at our facility as we do want to provide the best stay possible. We did address your concerned and had some training based on what you mentioned was needed from your stay. Again thank you and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

Thank you,
Amanda Bryant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leaflet22
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2009

I generally have a good experience with the Holiday Inn, and this was no exception. It was clean and the staff was friendly. It was a bit understaffed, but this was probably because we stayed there on the evening of January 1st.

We loved that they allowed us to keep our lab in the room for no extra charge. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

The restaurant downstairs wasn't my favorite place. They served me some sausage that was still frozen in the middle, but they did discount our meal because of this. I would stay here again, especially if we have the dog with us.

  • Liked — Great pet policy
  • Disliked — restaurant
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leaflet22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2010
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. It is always a great feeling to know when a guest enjoyed their time with us and we enjoy when the whole family gets to come including your lab. Your always welcome with us.

Thank you,
Amanda Bryant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
454 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2008

Sometimes you just can't pass up a good rate. The $72 rate intimidated me. I took a chance. I have stayed at this hotel twice, once in June 08 and again in August 08. The rooms are smaller and laid out a little strange. They are clean and comfortable, the work station is adequate but could be improved. Don't expect any extras. There is a restaurant and small bar onsite and the staff is very nice. This can be a problematic site if you don't have transportation, there is not much around and I have been warned that you don't want to stray off away from the downtown area.
I will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2010
Thank you so much for your comments. We always appreciate all feedback and I am pleased that we had worked for your needs. Again thank you for your comments.

Thank you,
Amanda Bryant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wichita hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel At WaterWalk
Hotel At WaterWalk
#8 of 86 in Wichita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wichita Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hotel at Old Town
Hotel at Old Town
#3 of 86 in Wichita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Wichita
Hyatt Regency Wichita
#4 of 86 in Wichita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.6 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Broadview Wichita
0.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown

Property: Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown
Address: 221 E Kellogg St, Wichita, KS 67202-3917 (Formerly Holiday Inn Wichita Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED!! Welcome to the Wyndham Garden Wichita hotel, a full-service, non-smoking hotel, located in downtown Wichita. NOW UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP! UPGRADED WI-FI SERVICE. FASTEST HOTEL WIFI IN WICHITA. ABLE TO CONNECT OVER 7000 DEVICES SIMULTANEOUSLY WITHOUT DISCONNECTION. Please check back often as new amenities are constantly being upgraded. Fitness Room will soon have Versa Climber, Precor treadmill, Precor Elliptical, and a Precor bike for your cardio needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Wichita Downtown Hotel Wichita
Wichita Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing