We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, but no breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown
Ranked #25 of 88 Hotels in Wichita
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here one night after getting off the highway, and was pretty pleased with it. The front desk staff were very friendly, and were helpful as well - the lady helping me suggested some things that I could do in the area, and another of the desk workers bogged a fellow guest down in paperwork when that guest started harassing me so I could make an easy exit from the lobby.

There is no breakfast served, which was a bit disappointing, as none of the other Holiday Inn Expresses I've stayed in over the past year have failed to provide that service. Getting luggage into one's room if one has to use the luggage trolley is a bit of a hassle, as the rooms are set back in pairs of two from the main hallways - you have to go down a short, narrow hallway off of the main hallway to get to your room, and the space isn't large enough for the trolleys.

But I was perfectly happy with my stay - quiet, the air conditioning was in good order, the staff, as I said, was friendly and helpful. I would've rated it higher had it had breakfast; unfortunately, a lack of that just serves to knock it down to merely average.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damariscotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Dear Damariscotta,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of our property. I am pleased you found our staff service commendable.

We are a full service hotel and Holiday Inn hotels do not provide complimentary breakfast but we do have a full service restaurant on site, a relaxing lounge and provide daily room service for your convenience.

We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again should your travels bring you back to Kansas.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

426 - 432 of 485 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2012

My family and I traveled in from New Jersey to Wichita to visit family, and wanted a place to stay that was central to many major roads and attractions to make things easy. This Holiday Inn jumped out at us for it's rather large suites. We stayed there for 5 nights, and made use of a number of amenities the hotel offered (outdoor pool, jacuzzi, laundry, etc.). We were very happy with the suite's size, comfort, and cleanliness. Way to go, Holiday Inn!

Room Tip: The suites have two full bathrooms and the sleeping quarters are partitioned with a door, allowing d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon-Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The recent stay was comfortable. The hotel assisted our group in every way. We arrived a bit earlier than the hotel check-in time, but the staff worked really hard to help us get into our rooms prior to check-in. The rooms were comfortable. Breakfast was good, we apprecitaed the kids eat free option. Overall the hotel provided what we needed for our stay in Wichita for a youth basketball tournament.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelley_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Brett & Michelle were very helpful telling us about the downtown area and were so friendly and humorous. The rooms were nice, building is alittle run down and outside area needs cleaned up more often, but overall had a nice stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank journeymandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Recent stay was nice and as a frequent female corporate traveller, I felt comfortable with the security of the hotel. Staff was friendly and responded well to requests. Dinner was also good and affordable.

Room Tip: I had a room with a king sized bed and a sofa. Lots of room to work comfortably (with the free wire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cass H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

By viewing pictures of this hotel on-line, seemed really nice and led us to believe it was in the downtown area. First impression when we pulled up- Dirty, needed painted and landscaped and trash was overflowing in outside trashcans. Walking in was a bit better. You could tell it has been updated in the last few years. However, upon entering our room, there was a distinct smell of cigarette smoke and we had asked for a non-smoking room. The shower in the King Suite leaked and had little water pressure. When we requested a manager, the hotel clerk is who showed up. She wrote down our issues and said they could give us 10% off, which they DID NOT DO. My credit card was billed the full amount. Also, this was not near the downtown area and the neighborhood seemed quite sketchy. Upon leaving the hotel the trash still had not been taken care of. Once home, I was e-mailed a questionarre and told the hotel staff all of our complaints and have never been contacted since. WOULD NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We booked a non smoking king bed room, we were given a smoking double bed room. The room smelled terrible so did the whole floor. We would let the bed mistake let go didn't even bring it up. Just asked the receptionist about the smoking riom we resieved and she did not handle the situation at all. Almost yelled at us that there are no more rooms and stopped talking to us. Completely ignore our presence leave alone to apologize. When we asked again - she accused us of booking online and asking for a smoking room. We called in to place te reservation and we also had an email confirming what we asked for but she just stopped talking to us and pretended we were not there. We are polite and reasonable people and we are truly shocked of the way they treated us - this is why this is the first review we are ever writing.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariabsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear Mariabsch,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the room accommodations you had and for the unacceptable service you received. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service. For that reason, your comments are troubling and certainly will be looked into. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details regarding your experience on your recent stay. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you would give us a chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wichita hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wichita Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hotel At WaterWalk
Hotel At WaterWalk
#14 of 88 in Wichita
490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Wichita
Hyatt Regency Wichita
#6 of 88 in Wichita
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wichita Northeast
0.8 mi away
Hotel at Old Town
Hotel at Old Town
#3 of 88 in Wichita
594 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Broadview Wichita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown

Address: 221 E Kellogg St, Wichita, KS 67202-3917 (Formerly Holiday Inn Wichita Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Wichita
Price Range: $85 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED!! Welcome to the Wyndham Garden Wichita hotel, a full-service, non-smoking hotel, located in downtown Wichita. NOW UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP! UPGRADED WI-FI SERVICE. FASTEST HOTEL WIFI IN WICHITA. ABLE TO CONNECT OVER 7000 DEVICES SIMULTANEOUSLY WITHOUT DISCONNECTION. Please check back often as new amenities are constantly being upgraded. Fitness Room now has Versa Climber, Precor treadmill, Precor Elliptical, and a Precor bike for your cardio needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Wichita Downtown Hotel Wichita
Wichita Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing