We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Illuminations!”

Botanica: The Wichita Gardens
Ranked #2 of 75 things to do in Wichita
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Sim Park, this gorgeous patch of cultivated flora offers themed gardens such as the Butterfly Garden, Shakespeare Garden, Rose and Wildflower Garden and the award-winning Sally Stone Sensory Garden, plus special programs for children.
Derby, KS
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved Illuminations!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife has taken our 17 month old son here a few times and she really enjoys it.

In December, we went to Illuminations at Botanica and we really loved it. The lights were amazing and it was great weather at the time, so we had a fun time with our friends.

I would definitely recommend going to Botanica!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    114
    16
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved Illuminations!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Write this on your 2013 calendar now. Must go see Botanica's Illuminations Christmas display. It's fun, festive and beautiful. We will definitely make this a family tradition each Christmas.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
476 reviews
211 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
“Fab "Illuminations" Holiday Lights & Music”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

A wonderful way to enjoy the holiday spirit and my first visit to the gardens.

We looked online and saw that we could get $2 off each if we brought 2 canned goods each for the Kansas food bank making entry only $5 each for adults.

There was an orchestra playing in the main building, but no one dancing as all were outdoors viewing the lights. It's an easy walk along a path with "paper bag" (plastic) lights to guide the way. The lights were creative and there were two displays set to music, one which had a "fire" show plus a few areas with toddler-friendly overhead light bridges. The kids were all oohing and ahing at the train and lights. Santa's workshop was closed as we went after Xmas, but some of the displays, like the "grapes", were unique and worthy of trying at home.

There was hot cocoa, coffee & cookies for only $1 and it was a worthwhile visit, even with the 27 degree temp that evening.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bchgrl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
103 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Christmas lights and music”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We just got home from taking our grandchildren to the Botanica for the evening. The weather was lovel, and we were pleasantly surprised at the lights and music. Two places had synchrondized lights and music and one had a fire show too. There were lovely places to get refreshments and Santa was there. We have always talked about going there at Christmas but just never made it until this year. It will be a new tradition for our family.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maxine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
2 reviews
“Christmas Display”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Christmas display is always so pretty. My son loved going. There was lots of warm areas for us to keep warm when it started to sleet

Helpful?
Thank azelsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botanica: The Wichita Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Botanica: The Wichita Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing