We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“RUDE MANAGER AND NOT AT ALL HELPFUL” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Springfield Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Springfield Inn
Ranked #56 of 88 Hotels in Wichita
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
228 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“RUDE MANAGER AND NOT AT ALL HELPFUL”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

My husband and I chose this place to stay , because the reviews were alright ( ok they may have been outdated reviews ) and the price was cheap.
The manager was downright rude when my husband went to the front office with the remote control to ask if they could exchange it so we could get the closed captions to work. These people obviously did not understand,my husbands request .
The room was so so and reeked of cheap airfreshener. If we were not so tired we would have gone else where if we had any indication these people were going to give us grief.
So if U are in this area and you have a disablility ( like I do ) do not stay here, these people are not helpful !!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CloggieUsa2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
4
9
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2008

I stayed here because I needed a place south of Wichita to stay en route to Clearwater and this place is pretty much it. It was fine, but otherwise nothing to write home about. The room furnishings were outdated and worn, the room was somewhat dirty and there was pornography in the nightstand underneath the bible. No big deal really but seemed to indicate the place probably hadn't been cleaned in a while. The office staff work behind a plexiglas partition and while there was supposed to be coffee and donuts in the morning, by the time I checked out -- 9 am -- there were only a few donuts and no coffee. The staff was nice, the parking was fine, the place was quiet enough but I wouldn't stay here again unless I didn't have other options.

  • Liked — simple and straightforward
  • Disliked — messy and shabby
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jessamyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wichita hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2006

We stayed at this hotel because we were moving across the country and had our dogs with us. There is almost nowhere to stay in Wichita that allows pets. We expected a dump, but since the other reviews said it was clean, I hoped it would be.

This place was really, really bad. It looks like there are several people who live there. The outside is dirty and old. The carpet in our room was awful. I was afraid to walk on it without my shoes. My husband didn't want the dog bed brought in because he was afraid our dogs would get fleas from the room. There was a huge dead spider in the corner of the room. There were crumbs in our bed between the bedspread and blanket. The tub wouldn't hold water. My mom had a room next door that was slightly better, but still really bad.

My husband was approached in the parking lot by a completely stoned guest/resident who was begging. We got a terrible night's sleep because we wondered what kind of creatures would come out and start crawling around when the lights were off.

Also, this hotel does not have a pool or indoor playground for children. I can't see any place where there ever could have been either of these things, so I think that reviewer might have reviewed the wrong hotel. This is definitely not a place that is good for children.

Having dogs, we have stayed in some pretty marginal places before, but this one is definitely among the worst.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rascooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2005

excellent staff very homely atmosphere very clean rooms will definitely be back to stay again next time we are in town thanks.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2005

My family stayed at the Red Carpet Inn on 47th St. in South Wichita (just off the turnpike) on a recent road trip. I found the rates to be very reasonable, $48. The rooms were extremely clean and well maintained. The staff was great and very helpful. There are a lot of fast food & other restaurants in the area wich is really convenient. The parking area was well lit, and very quiet, not noisy like many other hotels. I would definately suggest this hotel to stay at on your next trip to Wichita.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2003

We have stayed at the Red Carpet Inn on several occasions. The indoor pool and playground are great entertainment for the children. THE place to stay with children in my opinion. Not a real luxury hotel, but adequate and family friendly.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wichita hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn South
Quality Inn South
#57 of 88 in Wichita
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wichita South
0.4 mi away
Value Place Wichita South
Value Place Wichita South
#33 of 88 in Wichita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wichita
Days Inn & Suites Wichita
#34 of 88 in Wichita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
12.0 mi away
Days Inn Wichita North
Days Inn Wichita North
#69 of 88 in Wichita
3.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.0 mi away
No photo provided
Pawnee Inn
#59 of 88 in Wichita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Inn

Property: Springfield Inn
Address: 607 East 47th Street South, Wichita, KS 67216-1701 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn Wichita)
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 88 Hotels in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Springfield Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Springfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn Wichita
Wichita Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing