We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Easy on the budget” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northrock Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Northrock Suites
Ranked #62 of 87 Hotels in Wichita
McCook, Nebraska, United States
1 review
“Easy on the budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel was pretty easy on the budget, but there are some things they could improve on. The facility was clean and neat and the front end staff seemed pleasant upon check in. The decor and the rooms could stand an update though, as the lamps in the rooms were dated and needed replaced, the alarm clock had a short in it and shut off if moved just right, the dresser had nicks in the wood, and the carpet had some signs of wear. I wonder if they are planning to update soon? I think overall, the room was nice and comfortable, and well worth the stay. Thanks for an enjoyable trip.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows, as the ones in the rooms are a bit flat. The rooms are quiet; no traffic noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesMcGreg, General Manager at Northrock Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I appreciate the kind words. We are constantly trying to update and improve our hotel. There are several areas in our budget for 2013 that we are planning on improving. Replacing some old furniture is on that list. I hope you told the front desk staff about the alarm radio, we have replacements available, and would have gladly gave you a new one that would have worked much better. Thank You, and we hope to see you again at Northrock Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    11
    13
    13
See reviews for
30
14
Solo
0
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We used to live in Wichita, have family here, so, we come to NorthRock a lot! And it rarely disappoints. Just today we asked for a little extra time to check out & it was okay with the front desk :) My husband loves the free breakfast, even though, like everybody, they've toned to down to economize. We find the front desk people helpful. We find the rooms as spacious as we need. The beds are good, even though I may have picked the wrong pillow last night :) It is well situated for all we usually do in our beloved Wicita, KS :) Bravo, NorthRock! P.S. Love the new easy chairs with Ottomans!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Edie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesMcGreg, General Manager at Northrock Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank You for your great review. We try to do everything we can to make your stay with use pleasant. We are continuing to update the property and have several improvements planned for 2013. And an FYI, when you come back please request a room with the chairs with ottomans, because these are not in every room! thanks again..!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the stranger hotels I've stayed at in a while. The common areas (pool, breakfast area, lobby, etc) are really quite nice. But the rooms!... The design choices made here are just odd. They are spacious, and the place seemed to me to cater particularly to families with children. But you first walk into the room and flip on the light switch and a fluorescent ceiling fixture comes on. Not a CFL...and old fashioned fluorescent light that makes everything garish and ugly. Where there should have been the manual deadbolt lock on the door, all there was there was the four screw holes where it used to be mounted, until someone ripped it out of the wall. We had a room with two double beds (not queens, doubles) and despite the fact that the room had lots of floor space, they chose to position one of the beds so that one of them nearly blocked the entrance to the bathroom. Also, if you're much over six feet tall (I'm not) you may have a bit of trouble fitting into the shower.

Having said all this, this place really wasnt all that bad, just odd, with a lack of attention to detail. The place is clean. Kids will love the indoor/outdoor pool. The breakfast was pretty good. For example, they had hash browns that were really hash browns...not those pre-formed deep fried potato cakes you see in a lot of places. Also really high quality bacon.

I would stay here again, but I'd probably look to see what else is available first. With some attention to detail (and maintenance) and just a little money, this place could be very nice and a great deal.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jahansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesMcGreg, General Manager at Northrock Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank You for your response and input. We appreciate the positves you mentioned, and are continually working to improve the hotel with updates and remodeling. Please know that we do have alot of rooms with 2 queen beds, as well as double beds.(ask for a room with 2 queen beds on your next visit.) Some rooms are slightly smaller than others, which work better with 2 double beds than 2 queen beds. All rooms should have a manual deadbolt, we will double check all rooms to find any that are ripped off. Feel free in the future to tell the front desk staff about any issues you see with the room, and we will do our best to fix them. We hope to see you again...!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberal
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Good place if you are looking to stay on a budget. Welcoming lobby to walk into. Rooms are just ok, one of our beds had a big stain on the sheets that couldn't have been missed when the sheets were put on the bed and there was an empty pop bottle left behind the nightstand. The TV in the room was small and in an odd location as was the setup in the room. The morning breakfast is above average with eggs, potatoes, and pancakes, etc. The location of the hotel is good, near many stores and restaurants and conveniently located off K-96. Not the place for a romantic getaway, but good if you are looking to save money and comfort isn't a huge priority!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uncbears21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, IL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were so pleased with this hotel! The lobby/common areas were nicely decorated and didn't seem like a "cheap" hotel & the whole place always smelled good (so much so that my whole family noticed it). The mattresses were slightly uncomfortable, but the room was much bigger than any other double queen room we've ever had. We requested a rollaway bed & although they didn't have one they did offer a high quality air bed at no charge. It was very comfortable & easily set up. Staff was friendly & helpful. Breakfast was way above average & free. Eggs, bacon, pancakes, biscuits & gravy & lots more. Indoor & outdoor pool, but indoor one was small. Fridge & modern TV & DVD player in room. Room didn't feel dated or old. Overall a great stay for a great price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amvonnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wmcgreg, General Manager at Northrock Suites, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank You for your comments...we look forward to seeing you again..!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farlington, KS
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times several years ago and decided to give it another try. Several problems with the hotel including lack of towels in the room and very restrictive pool access. We won't be staying here again!

Room Tip: Try a different Hotel there are many better than this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wichita hotels

Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We needed a room fast because the place we had reserved prior to this was awful. This was a welcome change. The entry was nice, the reception we received was wonderful and informative. We needed 2 bedrooms so we had 2 adjoining rooms that shared a livingroom and it was exactly what we were looking for. We had the privacy of having separate bathrooms as well as bedrooms, but could come together with our cousins in the living room that had a TV, DVD player, refrigerator and microwave.
The rooms were hot when we arrived, but we turned on the AC and in no time at all, the room was quite cold. The decor was minimal, but we didn't care - we didn't rent a room for the beauty. The beds were adequate but will need replacing soon. The pool was nice and the children liked that you could swim through a canal to be inside or outside and enjoy the pool. Showers were excellent with great water pressure and the breakfast (free) was a wonderful end to our one night stay.
For the price that we paid for a family of 5 - 3 adults and 2 kids, it was well worth the money, especially when you consider the hot breakfast. I did read a negative review of this hotel that said there was no yogurt or fruit at breakfast, but that was not the case with us. It had all of that and more. Would certainly stay here again, especially with a large group!

Room Tip: Ask for late checkout so you don't have to compete with others. There is only one elevator, so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bondedinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesMcGreg, General Manager at Northrock Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank You for your positive review. Larger families like yours love our 2 bedroom suites! We hope to see you again!! And yes, we did add yogurt to the breakfast for people wanting a 'healthier' choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wichita hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wichita Northeast
0.0 mi away
Wichita Inn North
Wichita Inn North
#65 of 87 in Wichita
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Wichita East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Wichita
2.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wichita
Staybridge Suites Wichita
#23 of 87 in Wichita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Inn at Tallgrass
The Inn at Tallgrass
#20 of 87 in Wichita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northrock Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northrock Suites

Property: Northrock Suites
Address: 7856 E 36th St N, Wichita, KS 67226-3808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 87 Hotels in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Northrock Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Northrock Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northrock Hotel Wichita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing