We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel, bar none!”
Review of Wichita Inn West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wichita Inn West
Ranked #45 of 87 Hotels in Wichita
Elkhart, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My favorite hotel, bar none!”
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Jackie is a great manager. They've done remodeling since she took over. They now have flat screen TVs, and they've always had refrigerators, coffee makers, microwaves, ironing boards and iron. It is always clean. And everyone is friendly and helpful. The breakfast selection is good, and they have quite a selection of movies to watch in the room (no charge). They go out of their way to make sure that you have a room that suits you (close to entrance if you have difficulty walking, for instance). A wonderful, reasonably priced hotel. I only stay here when I'm in Wichita, and I've been traveling there for 15 years now.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    12
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
8
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St Paul MN
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2010

If you need to SLEEP this is your place nice clean room with nice TV and DVD player.
Comfortable bed and nice staff. But that is IT no frills, no pool, no workout room, nothing that would boost this place above 2 star status.
If you are drawn to places that serve continental breakfast this would NOT be your place unless you just want a banana or a muffin
Just use the $ you save here and go to Denny’s across the highway :-)
We stayed there one night. Got just what we wanted a place to crash a relax after a full day of driving and would stay there again in a minute

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lowteck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2009

Stayed here the last weekend of March when there was a freak winter storm in the area. Room was very clean and comfortable with many amenities akin to a higher-priced place included such as micro-fridge but with free Internet, many higher-prices places charge for connectivity. Very quiet with virtually no outside sounds filtering in. Definitely a good value for the money. Would stay here again and recommend it to anyone staying in Wichita, KS.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank potter660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2007

we love staying at this hotel the rooms are clean and it in a good safe location. our only problem is the day shift staff, they are very rude and impatient. we stayed there a while back and there happened to be a lot of school kids there, we got in late from being with family and the kids were running the halls and being loud and spoke very rudely in front of my 6yr old daughter. when we were checking out we talked to the head manager and she was just as rude to us as they were and then told us if we wouldn't of been out so late with our kids this wouldn't of happened, so she was blaming us for somthing her hotel couldn't take care of. that made us think twice about staying there again. and the free breakfast it says 6 to 10:30 but they stop restoking it at 9:30 and start closing and cleaning it up at 9:45. on another note the night staff is wonderful they are extreamly friendly and helpful, they are the reason why we come back

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jdcolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

This is a no-frills hotel, but a good choice if you are traveling on a budget. Amenities are few, but the hotel is clean and well-kept. The front desk and housekeeping staff we encountered were all friendly and helpful.

There is a complimentary continental breakfast which consisted of a selection of cereals, donuts, pastries, juice and coffee.

The rooms are spacious. The television has a wide variety of cable channels. There is a refrigerator and microwave in every room.

For us, the negatives were that the ceilings seemed low, the pillows were not great and the maroon carpeting made the rooms feel dark. Many hotels provide shampoo and conditioner bottles, but Wichita Inn provides one shampoo packet.

For the money (we paid $57 per night), this is a decent, clean hotel. Don't expect anything luxurious and you won't be disappointed. You might want to request a room on the 4th floor. We were on the 3rd and could hear people walking in the room above us.

That being said, if you can afford to pay $30-40 more per night there are much better rooms (with many more amenities) to be had in Wichita, particularly in the city's newer East side developments.

  • Liked — Free Internet access, complimentary breakfast, DVD player in rooms
  • Disliked — Dark carpeting, motel feel
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank carrie071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2006

Stayed at this hotel in September 2006. Early in the morning our toilet was to the point of overflowing and we were not able to use it. My wife and I made 2 trips to the restroom off the lobby from the 2nd floor because of this problem. When we checked out we told the front desk personnel about the problem. We were told that 2 or 3 of their toilets overflow everyday and they are aware of the problem. No hint of an apology or compensation for this trouble was given to us. The last time I checked a working toilet is part of the room price. When we got back home I attempted to call and find out who the person over the hotel manager was. After much calling (no one would tell me who that was) I got a name and wrote them a letter detailing our trouble and that no one at the front desk was helpful. Our letter either was not received or ignored. I will not stay at this hotel again and will definitely let anyone else, who is considering staying there, know about the poor service we received.

  • Disliked — No help on problems
  • Tips/Secrets — Maybe find another hotel
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2006

We stopped in Wichita while traveling across country and ended up in what seemed like a fairly seedy part of town. While getting fuel at a store I asked a policeman where we should go for the night and told him I wanted a safe, quite place where I wouldn't have to spend a fortune. He recommended the Wichita Inn and gave me directions to it; we were very happy with his advice.

This is a nice modern place in a decent part of town. There is a free breakfast and high speed access. The room we had on the thrid floor was very quite. It was large and clean. There was a fridge and microwave which we didn't use. It is close to the airport but we didn't hear a single plane all night.

We payed only $54 which I thought was a great value.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank oksooner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wichita hotels
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Wichita Airport
0.9 mi away
Quality Suites Airport
Quality Suites Airport
#40 of 87 in Wichita
176 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Wichita
Comfort Suites Wichita
#19 of 87 in Wichita
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wichita/Airport
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wichita Airport
0.8 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Wichita Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wichita Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wichita Inn West

Property: Wichita Inn West
Address: 6335 W Kellogg Dr, Wichita, KS 67209-2329
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 87 Hotels in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wichita Inn West 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Wichita Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wichita Inn West Hotel Wichita
Wichita Hotel West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing