We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many pros, a few minor cons during our 2-night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wichita Downtown
Ranked #17 of 88 Hotels in Wichita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is a nice, newer hotel in the outskirts of downtown, but within close driving distance to Dillon's grocery and other shops/restaurants. The staff is friendly and helpful, fitness center is new and has excellent cardio equipment, public spaces (breakfast area, lobby, bar, outdoor patio) are attractive and clean. Hand-painted, floral murals outside of the elevators add a nice, artistic touch. Our two-queen suite was enormous and relatively quiet. The breakfast selections were generous, but we wish they offered healthier muffin sandwiches instead of biscuits. Not a problem, though, as their other choices (oatmeal with chopped walnuts, many varieties of yogurt, fresh apples and bananas) were more than abundant. The breakfast attendant was cheerful and efficient and kept the breakfast food and drinks well-stocked. Upon check-in, park out front to unload luggage. The parking garage location is cumbersome and not easily accessible, but you don't have to park on top in the uncovered, hot, hotel spaces; park below in the covered garage areas (floors 2 - 4) as long as you don't park in a reserved space. Lastly, the very nice outdoor patio area is adjacent to a beautiful, small park with walking paths, a koi pond / gazebo, outdoor sculpture, and the quaint river walk path.

Room Tip: Inquire about the availability for the large extended stay, two queen suite; the small up charge is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 221 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

To be honest, I wasn't expecting much. We were in Wichita without a room and found ourselves at the Fairfield Inn & Suites.
The hotel was a great surprise. It's approximately a year old. The hotel is very clean and well maintained.
Parking is free (how unusual!) and so was Wi-Fi. The breakfast buffet is free, too.
The staff was really friendly and the hotel offered lots of amenities. Don't know when I'll be back in Wichita, but if I am, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMamaPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

As with most Marriott Fairfield Inn hotels they are a very good value. This hotel is fairly new ~1yr and in good shape. The rooms are clean and the staff is helpful.

The hotel is close to the airport and offers a shuttle service.

Not many restaurants nearby that are within walking distance.

This is the only Fairfield I have stayed at that has a bar with a nice sitting area outside with a fire pit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreqTraveler831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here 4 nights (june 2-6) for vacation visiting family. The Hotel is super clean and all staff are friendly. Enjoyed the free parking and free breakfast. The breakfast is basic items like toast, bagles, dry cerals, fruits, juices, oatmeal, jimmy dean sandwiches, waffles and coffee. It was just fine for us and since it's free we enjoyed a very nice supper. Hotel has a very nice indoor pool and pretty outdoor courtyard with a huge fire pit. Would be nicer if there was shade and we would have used that area alot more. Hotel is right off the interstate. Some of the things we did while here was Sedwick Zoo, World Treasures, Explaration Place, Aviation Museum and places we ate were Larkspur in Old Town also with Old Chicago Pizza in Old Town. We also went to Kansas Underground Salt Museum (a must!) and Cosmosphere which both about 1 hour drive but so well worth it. We ate at Bogey's Restaurant in this location. I will have a review for each one of these. This Hotel has no negatives from us! Everything was just fine and for the most part very clean! It opened in 2011.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cajunpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We spent one night here as we had to attend a wedding in Wichita. The hotel is less than a year old so is in excellent condition. Our room had two queen beds and adequate storage space. A large flatscreen TV, one easy chair and a desk with chair completed the room. As with every Marriott I have ever stayed in there was no in-room safe (do not understand why these are not provided). There was also no fridge in the room.

The parking for the hotel is a public garage adjacent to the hotel and is free. The signs in the garage said hotel parking was on the 5th level only but we were told at check-in we could park anywhere from 2 to 5 (maybe on weekends it is like that). The complaints in other reviews about the parking seem a bit overblown to me as this garage is part of the RiverWalk complex and also serves some high end Condos that are built on the front of the structure so is by no means seedy.

The lobby was large and the breakfast area huge with plenty of seating. The hotel also has a full service bar open in the evenings only - I have never seen a full bar in a Fairfield before. The courtyard is nicely landscaped and has nice firepit that is on in the evenings. There is also an indoor pool and a small gym.

The immediate area around the hotel is pretty quiet and there really no dining options close except for some fast food joints about a block to the East. This whole area is being redeveloped and as it grows more options will probably occur. If you stay here you should have a car and visit Old Town (a short drive away) for lots of dining options.

Overall a very nice hotel, clean, big rooms, very good breakfast service, and one that we would use again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms directly above the firepit as it can get loud in the evenings as it is attached t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Staff are friendly and helpful. The room is clean. Had one issue in the bathroom - the shower curtain was not properly placed in the shower rings and it fell while I was in the shower.
Nevertheless, I will stay here again. I love their clean linens, free breakfast and wifi. Parking is a little inconvenient especially when it is raining. It is also a parking garage for an adjacent condo and there is no link to the hotel. Had to go out of the garage and walk to the entrance of the hotel next to it. When arriving, park in front of the hotel, take your luggage out and check in first before you park.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We spent last night at the Fairfield Inn in downtown Wichita. It is a beautiful, new property located less than a block off highway 54. The decor in the lobby areas is modern and attractive. The staff there were extremely friendly and happy (maybe because most of the people checking in were feeling the same way since they were there to see Tom Petty at the Intrust Arena). Our room was spacious, had a roomy bathroom, and really comfortable beds. I'd forgotten to bring my own, small down pillow but the pillows on the beds were new, comfortable pillowtops with nice linens and I slept as well as I ever do in my own bed. Breakfast was included; basic but very satisfying. There is also a bar with an outdoor fire pit seating area. Unfortunately it is only open from 5-11 on weeknights so we left before it opened and returned after it had closed, but there were people with their own beers sitting around the fire pit outside. It looked very appealing but we were pooped and went to bed.
The hotel provide free parking at a 5-story lot located right next door. We parked our car and left it since hotel had a free shuttle service. We took their shuttle to Old Town for dinner before the concert. Then it was just a 5-10 minute walk from there to the arena. After the concert we were able to walk back to the hotel in about 10 minutes. There also is a free (?) trolley that runs around the downtown area that would also have taken us back to the hotel but we preferred to get some exercise. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again if I was needed to be staying in downtown Wichita.

Room Tip: Our room had a window towards the highway but I hear no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveldog007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wichita hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Wichita
Hyatt Regency Wichita
#7 of 88 in Wichita
736 reviews
0.5 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Broadview Wichita
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel at Old Town
Hotel at Old Town
#3 of 88 in Wichita
595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel At WaterWalk
Hotel At WaterWalk
#13 of 88 in Wichita
490 reviews
5.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Wichita Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Wichita Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Wichita Downtown

Address: 525 S Main St, Wichita, KS 67202-3703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 88 Hotels in Wichita
Price Range: $83 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Wichita Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the WaterWalk development, our hotel is just minutes away from Old Town - Wichita's entertainment district, as well as the Intrust Bank Arena, Lawrence Dumont Stadium, and many museums and restaurants. The Fairfield Inn and Suites Wichita Downtown is a short drive from many of Wichita's major companies, such as Cargill, Flight Safety, Boeing and Learjet-Bombardier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Wichita Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing