We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean and modern, but below average breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Wichita East at Plazzio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Wichita East at Plazzio
Ranked #25 of 87 Hotels in Wichita
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean and modern, but below average breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My family of four stayed one night for a family funeral. Our family stayed in a 2 queen room with a pull-out couch. There was plenty of room. The beds were very comfortable and the TV was large enough for everyone to see. Also the decor was modern and inviting. My only criticism is that the complimentary breakfast was below average. This prevented me from giving it a 5 out of 5 rating. The sausage was cold and rubbery, and the food selection was limited. Also, I have observed that more hotels are offering more than one station to spread out the crowd at breakfast. This hotel has one very long buffet line which is inefficient due to the location of the waffle makers (in the middle of the buffet line), and there is little else to eat if you don't want waffles. Additionally, the breakfast area is too small to accommodate the number of guests in seating.

Room Tip: If you have extra people, put them on the pull-out couch. It is very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amitche5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    37
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
59
17
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I always enjoy this hotel-spacious, clean room in a newer property. As a Marriott Platinum Elite, I stay in alot of Marriott properties. I appreciate the efficiency here-easy in-easy out. Close to the highways and some great restaurants about a mile away.

Staff is very good and always recognizes me and knows which rooms I like.

The workout room isn't spacious, but the equipment is solid and well maintained.

I have never had a bad stay here! Always look forward to staying here. Much better than the full service Marriott on this side of town-and the price makes it an excellent value, as well!

Room Tip: I usually stay on the first floor-occasionally hear a group down the hall in the bar, but the bar cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the worst experiences I have had in years. Upon arrival everything looked good, but once I made it to my room it all went down hill. The window has serious issues allowing a screaming/whistling noise to fill the room, along with all the road noise. There also appeared to be blood stains on the carpet. I went to the front desk and no rooms were available and no assistance was provided. When I returned to my room the key no longer worked.

Due the noise that could not be overcome by the HVAC system or TV, I slept maybe an hour. Finally to end this story, they locked all exterior doors at night and I was locked outside of the main front door in 15 degree weather for 20 minutes while buzzing and calling the front desk because of another key failure.

In short, the room was small,dirty/bloody, the windows made terrible noises, and the staff appeared more interested in socializing with one another than servicing their customers.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigDaddy083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goessel, ks
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I travel for work and normally stay next door at the Residence Inn, which I absolutely love, but this time it was for a family wedding so I had my husband and three teenage boys with me so we needed more space. We booked a double with a sleeper couch and even thought the room was tight/small because of us, we fit quite well. The boys were thrilled at the "cool-ness" of the room - they are really decorated nicely. Breakfast was outstanding and I was so thrilled to see Richard from next door when I walked in! Marriott, I really hope you appreciate this man because he is a GEM to your guests - road-weary work travelers and parents of rowdy teenagers as well!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
232 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was my first stay at a Springhill Suites for a business trip. The rooms are smartly designed and give the feeling of a junior suite. I especially liked the walk-in shower, although the broken seal at the bottom of the door leaked water onto the floor. The big problem is that the walls are paper thin and you'll hear the loud salesman on the phone and/or the unhappy baby in the adjoining rooms. The lobby decor may have been an attempt at hip and trendy, but it comes across as cheap and plastic, to the point that clients picking me up said, "You're staying here?" They need to offer some fresh fruit at breakfast in addition to the comfort food like biscuits and gravy. After breakfast, they have a friendly bar but no food, and the only choice within walking distance on a cold night was a dreary sports bar. Overall, I'll be back at the Hampton Inn on my next trip.

Room Tip: Bring your earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reliantship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

After spending all day at a local hospital with a friend, I checked in late (10:30 pm) and was greeted by a really nice lady (Ally, I think was her name) who was very helpful. The lobby is very hip and modern looking. I had a king room on the 4th floor, which was modern, clean and quiet. Breakfast the next morning was served in the lobby. Nothing unusual, just the standard oatmeal, muffins and such. This is the second time I have stayed here and it has been a good experience both times. I will choose this hotel, again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KansasJayhawk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed one night in a King with our two kids and was impressed with the overall value. We were able to check in early (10:00 AM) and the staff was very accomodating. We requested a crib (pack n play) and was provided one on request.

The room itself was very comfortable and clean. The room includes a mini-fridge, sink, and fridge which was very handy with two little kids. The bathroom was spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable for a hotel bed. There are reading lights and an I-Home which I thought added a nice touch. I saw previous complaints about thin walls/excessive noise but did not notice that whatsoever. Temperature of the room was very easy to control.

There is a bar (we did not use) and a small, but very clean indoor pool which provided a good hours worth of entertainment to our two kids. There is an exercise room which looked to be a standard hotel fitness center. The hotel has 4 floors but one thing I noticed is thqat the elevators are very fast.

The breakfast buffet was standard, maybe a notch above. The fruit was very fresh and they had sausage, bacon, omelets, oatmeal, cereal, waffles, and muffins. Coffee was good but OJ was not (it tasted like half OJ/half water). One thing I liked about the breakfast area is that they stocked the fridge with milk and yogurt and this was left open to the guests 24 hours. Again, very handy and convenient for those with little kids!

If we you are looking for a safe, comfortable, clean, place to stay in Wichita, this is it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rob6334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wichita hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Wichita East at Plazzio
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wichita Northeast
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wichita-Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wichita
Staybridge Suites Wichita
#21 of 87 in Wichita
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Eastgate Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Wichita Marriott
Wichita Marriott
#20 of 87 in Wichita
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Wichita East at Plazzio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Wichita East at Plazzio

Property: SpringHill Suites Wichita East at Plazzio
Address: 1220 N Greenwich Rd, Wichita, KS 67206-2665
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Wichita
#19 Business Hotel in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Wichita East at Plazzio 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Wichita East at Plazzio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Wichita East At Plazzio Hotel Wichita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing