We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Shopping Center” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of 316 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
316 Hotel
Ranked #62 of 86 Hotels in Wichita
Salina, Ks
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Convenient to Shopping Center”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were taking in the after-Christmas sales and this motel was super close. The room was large and we were comfortable for the night. Breakfast was the usual fare, but not promptly kept refilled. Summing up -- nothing special -- good nor bad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kansasokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    18
    7
    10
See reviews for
31
7
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I was hoping for a bit more when I saw the sign "Quality Inn." The price was decent for the area. The room was clean but needed updating. The beds were soft and a bit saggy, not at all a quality mattress. The furniture in the room was old and the table could not be used because of the extreme wobbly leg. The free breakfast was average. Overall not bad but surely not great! The staff was friendly but it was clear that their job was not their utmost priority.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMB529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

I often stay at hotels in the Choice Hotels line (Quality Inn, Comfort Inn, etc..) because my son works for the company and they have a nice Friends & Family rate program. I was looking forward to staying at this Quality Inn near downtown Wichita while I was attending a meeting in town. I had planned on staying for 4 nights, but checked out after the forst night's stay of uneasy rest. First - the property is run-down and dingy. Carpets are old and worn, my bed mattress on both beds in my room were saggy and broken down, the sheets on one bed were stained and it looked like the pillow cases were not changed. The first room I checked into had a large industrial fan on the floor to dry the carpet. Obviously, they had not removed the fan, and when I looked in the bathroom and flicked on the light switch the bath vent fan sounded like it was going to rattle out of its moorings. All furniture, TV's, etc. were just old and worn out.

Additionally, I was not impressed with the neighborhood (although I do not know Wichita well) - it seemed a little sketchy.

On a positive note, the people working the desk were friendly and helpful. The morning breakfast was as expected: nothing out of the ordinary, but a good solid continental my most mid-priced hotel standards.

I couldn't get past the cleanliness and broken issues, and chose to move closer to downtown and more upscale for the rest of my trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildlifedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wichita hotels

MO
Level Contributor
121 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

My family stayed there for 5 days and found it to be a quiet and clean place to stay. Downtown and was recently purchased by quality inn. Average breakfast but was free and got you going in the morning. Older hotel, beds need replacing as well as the towels but for the money it was fine. Vending machines will not take paper money so be prepared. Close to many good places to eat and it was very clean each and every day. Very quiet as well. Would stay again if in the area. thanks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dutch57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We recently stayed here at the Kansas Inn. It was clean and a nice place to stay. The location is very hand as we had a family event just a mile away. Although, the Queen beds are more like a full size bed. Don't ask for change for the vending machines "they don't have change". The machines don't say how much the items are. So the machine pretty much ate my money. Another con was my husband left his keys on the dresser. When we called to inform the hotel staff the keys were no where to be found. One staff member actually went and looked for them and said to call back later and maybe they would turn up. So when he called back the next staff member didn't care wasn't sure what to do and actually asked another member what to say. Depends which staff member you speak to depends on what kind of service you will get. So, all in all this place has pros and cons.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AL811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

The pictures on this site do not do this hotel justice! They have very recently renovated and everything is brand new. To start with, I stayed here when I had a family member stay in the hospital near this hotel. The staff was very compassionate and gave their condolences when I told them my story. The room was clean and the bed was AMAZING! Breakfast was standard what I expected. Overall, it's a great hotel. If I am ever in the area again I will be sure to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunnytravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanute, Kansas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We had a family member at Via Christi. This motel was across the street - security will escort from the hospital. The beds were comfortable; we had a refrigerator and microwave oven in the room. Breakfast was carb heavy, as is usual in a motel like this. The staff was friendly. The price was right for us just needing a place to sleep.

Room Tip: The motel has a hospital discount, but AAA discount was better for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRue1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wichita hotels
1.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown
2.1 mi away
Wesley Inn
Wesley Inn
#50 of 86 in Wichita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel at Old Town
Hotel at Old Town
#3 of 86 in Wichita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wichita Downtown
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Wichita
Hyatt Regency Wichita
#4 of 86 in Wichita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel At WaterWalk
Hotel At WaterWalk
#7 of 86 in Wichita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 316 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 316 Hotel

Property: 316 Hotel
Address: 1011 North Topeka St, Wichita, KS 67214 (Formerly Quality Inn Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 86 Hotels in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 316 Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The founders of the 816 Hotel in Kansas City have taken their local-centric vision of service and value to Wichita. This vision includes providing rooms at economical prices with amenity levels that you would expect to find at luxury hotels. Extras like made-to-order breakfast, free drinks, free shuttle and FAST Wi-Fi. Discover the newly renovated 316 Hotel #thedoodah and enjoy the best value and service in hospitality. ________________________________________________________________________ * Complimentary breakfast with omelet station, freshly cut fruit and locally brewed Reverie Roasters coffee * Complimentary wine and beer featuring craft beer from the Wichita Brewing Company every evening during our Managers Reception * Free shuttle service to local attractions including INTRUST Bank Arena, Old Town Entertainment District, Century II Convention Center, Wichita State University and the new Wichita Airport * Free Wi-Fi - the fastest at any Wichita hotel - Guaranteed ________________________________________________________________________ Located next to St. Francis-Via Christi Hospital, the 316 Hotel is just blocks from all of Wichita’s best attractions...and our free shuttle will whisk you to and from with no hassles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your 316 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas Hotel Wichita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing