We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convenient place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of 316 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
316 Hotel
Ranked #64 of 87 Hotels in Wichita
Chanute, Kansas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A convenient place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We had a family member at Via Christi. This motel was across the street - security will escort from the hospital. The beds were comfortable; we had a refrigerator and microwave oven in the room. Breakfast was carb heavy, as is usual in a motel like this. The staff was friendly. The price was right for us just needing a place to sleep.

Room Tip: The motel has a hospital discount, but AAA discount was better for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRue1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    18
    7
    10
See reviews for
28
7
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

10/24/2011


Subject: Letter of Recommendation
To: General Manager
For: Crystal - Receptionist
Location: Kansas Inn, Wichita, KS

To Whom it May Concern:

Management is always seeking to locate excellence in working ethic and character, finding an individual who displays these qualities is too frequently time consuming and elusive. Following a diagnosis of pancreatic blockage, my wife had to endure a protracted surgery which has required an extended stay (on my part) at the Kansas Inn (located on Topeka Street in Wichita Kansas). During this time, I have been more than impressed by the professional help afforded me by the staff at the Kansas Inn. Specifically, a young receptionist – Crystal – has gone out of her way to make sure that rooms have been reserved, questions have been addressed and concerns about lengthy stay have been answered. Her polite, courteous and helpful manner reflect an outlook managers can only envy. It is too bad that all businesses are not able to capitalize on this type of exceptional and professional inner beauty. She has gone beyond normal job related requirements by extending, to those who stay at the Kansas Inn, a heart of gold. Please include this letter of recommendation in her personnel file and promote her at the earliest time possible.

Bob Wilson
DAV
10/24/2011


Subject: Letter of Recommendation
To: General Manager
For: Crystal - Receptionist
Location: Kansas Inn, Wichita, KS

To Whom it May Concern:

Management is always seeking to locate excellence in working ethic and character, finding an individual who displays these qualities is too frequently time consuming and elusive. Following a diagnosis of pancreatic blockage, my wife had to endure a protracted surgery which has required an extended stay (on my part) at the Kansas Inn (located on Topeka Street in Wichita Kansas). During this time, I have been more than impressed by the professional help afforded me by the staff at the Kansas Inn. Specifically, a young receptionist – Crystal – has gone out of her way to make sure that rooms have been reserved, questions have been addressed and concerns about lengthy stay have been answered. Her polite, courteous and helpful manner reflect an outlook managers can only envy. It is too bad that all businesses are not able to capitalize on this type of exceptional and professional inner beauty. She has gone beyond normal job related requirements by extending, to those who stay at the Kansas Inn, a heart of gold. Please include this letter of recommendation in her personnel file and promote her at the earliest time possible.

Bob Wilson
DAV

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

Very convenient place to stay. Right across the street from the Via Christi St. Francis Hospital. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly when we checked in. They even had a shuttle that gave us rides back and forth from the hospital.

The rooms were very clean and in good condition. The lobby was very comfortable, we spent a good deal of time watching T.V and using the computer in the lobby.

Very nice place, I will stay again any time I come to wichita.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

Literally the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. After waiting 30 minutes to check in with a clueless staff we walked through a hallway in construction that resembled a fraternity house and arrived in our room (circa 1986) and slept in our clothes for fear of what might be on the sheets.

If it were a $29 motel some of this would be expected...but it's not. Spend your money elsewhere and save the regret.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLG1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wichita hotels

Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

We stayed at the Kansas Inn to be close to the Intrust arena. The rooms were very clean. The staff was helpful, and the waffles in the morning were fun to make. It looks like they recently remodeled with new carpet. The people who worked there let us hang out in the lobby near the fire place and watch Tv. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunflwrsnjaybrds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winfield ka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

I stayed at this place and they charged me for 3 days instead of two. I thought this should be easy to solve. I could not get in contact with the general manager and had several clerks telling me they hardly saw him and did not offer to call him so i could talk to him about the matter. This involves my money and i would think it would be important enough to get the General manager to call a disgruntle customer.
Better Business Bureau said they had one complaint that still has not been resolved. In the mean time the ordeal continues.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREMONT
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Kansas Inn while she attended a conference at the Via Christi Hospital across the street. The hotel was extremely convenient to the hospital, and within a short drive from the Old Town section of downtown, which is filled with trendy shops, restaurants, and nightclubs. The hotel does not have a lot of frills, but we didn't need them. Our room was clean and comfortable, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and they made sure that our stay went well. The only real problem we had was that they are remodeling the hotel at this time, and so there was a strong smell of paint in the hallways. They had the windows in the hallways open to help clear the air, and because of that, they had turned the air conditioning off in the hallways. Our room air conditioner worked fine, though, and kept our room cool and comfortable. There was no smell of paint in our room. The morning we left, the smell had cleared from the hallways. They had a nice, simple continental breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that needed a place to stay close to Via Christi hospital, or that needed a place to stay near the downtown area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank litespd_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wichita hotels
2.1 mi away
Wesley Inn
Wesley Inn
#40 of 87 in Wichita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown
1.6 mi away
Hotel At WaterWalk
Hotel At WaterWalk
#8 of 87 in Wichita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel at Old Town
Hotel at Old Town
#3 of 87 in Wichita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Wichita West Airport Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 316 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 316 Hotel

Property: 316 Hotel
Address: 1011 N Topeka St, Wichita, KS 67214-2913 (Formerly Quality Inn Downtown)
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 87 Hotels in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 316 Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your 316 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas Hotel Wichita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing