We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long term stay with family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Tallgrass
Ranked #22 of 87 Hotels in Wichita
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita
1 review
“Long term stay with family”
Reviewed February 23, 2007

I stayed at the Inn at Tallgrass for 7 months with my wife and three children while our house was being repaired due to a tragedy. I could not have picked a better place to stay. The front desk employees were the nicest people. Jan, who sets up breakfast during the week and her daughter Danette who runs the happy hour are wonderful. We got to know the housekeepers. They went overboard to help us out in our time of need and made us and our dog feel very welcome. It was a blessing to have this home away from home. Thank you.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank DBTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    37
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
45
19
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Boston, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2006

I had booked with this hotel due to the amenities and within walking distance from where I was doing business. The night I came in I was told they overbooked and were sending me to another hotel. When I complained about having a room guaranteed by a credit card I was told I should be happy they were picking up the charges. This should not have happened and I was told by another traveler who called to check if they indeed were sold out and was told there were rooms available.
The hotel I was sent to was not comparable, although I was told it was. There was no swimming pool, hot tub, refrigerator or microwave. The Inn at TallGrass was within walking distance of where I was doing business and the one they sent me to was to far away to walk. Needless to say I am not happy. I hope anyone will reconsider staying here after reading this.
Carolyn
New Boston, TX

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgw1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2006

We recently stayed in this hotel while in town to visit family. We had a large suite with 2 separate bedrooms and baths. One bedroom had a patio. There was a living room with fireplace and pull out sofa. The beds were excellent. The pull-out was okay, but not much support or comfort. There was a small full kitchen with all the comforts of home. This is an ideal set-up for family travel. Everone is together, but with some privacy available. The living area was great! We were able to host get togethers with our family in an intimate and quiet setting. The service was exceptional and very friendly. The comp breakfast was good; besides the standard cereal and muffins, there wwas a hot dish, yogurt, and fresh fruit. My brother used the country club and enjoyed hitting a bucket of balls. He was disappointed that our schedule didn't allow enough time for a round of golf, becasue the course looked good. We had dinner at the club too. Very nice we could just walk over. The food was very good, the prices were reasonable, and the service was great too!
HIghly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunnyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 15, 2005

Terrific place, especially if you're here on business or for several days or more. I checked in after fleeing a downtown hotel which was awful but which charged more than this place. Inn has wireless in the rooms; big rooms (even the studios are twice as big as a normal hotel); microwaves and fridges and coffee makers in each room; free newspapers and continental breakfast, plus free happy hour each evening in the lobby. There's a nice pool and hot tub, and you get free passes to a top-notch health club down the street. It's a few miles out of downtown but is well-located next to a nice mall and a big grocery store so you don't have to eat out for every meal. Best part: a great restaurant across the street called YiaYia bistro.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 10, 2004

Nice place to stay. The service is great. They are very helpful and always great to deal with.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wichita hotels
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wichita
Staybridge Suites Wichita
#21 of 87 in Wichita
119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wichita
Hilton Garden Inn Wichita
#14 of 87 in Wichita
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hotel At WaterWalk
Hotel At WaterWalk
#9 of 87 in Wichita
472 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Wichita East
Courtyard Wichita East
#43 of 87 in Wichita
102 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wichita-Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Tallgrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Tallgrass

Property: The Inn at Tallgrass
Address: 2280 N Tara Cir, Wichita, KS 67226-1914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Tallgrass 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inn at Tallgrass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Tallgrass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing