We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at the Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Tallgrass
Ranked #18 of 87 Hotels in Wichita
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Christmas at the Inn”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

WOW! What a unique experience. We travelled to Wichita for a Christmas vacation with family. The Inn was decorated so beautifully. The staff were so nice and accomodating to our trivial needs (directions to a Dillards). The rooms were spacious and ours had a fireplace--super nice.
The rooms were recently redecorated and were sooo comfortable. HD TV's and an ove, dishwasher and microwave in the suite. Two thumbs up for an awesome stay at the Inn! Thank you for a great holiday!

Room Tip: Maybe get a room on the bottom floor. Our second story floor suite was a little drafty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTF007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    44
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
56
22
11
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We arrived in Wichita to adopt our second daughter and didn't know how long we'd be there but needed a two bedroom suite. The suite was fantastic, clean, large and the service was fantastic. I can't recommend this highly enough - plus, it's right next to a grocery store and near a number of restaurants, so everything we needed was near.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indypenny0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2010

I stayed here for a few weeks as part of a corporate relocation. All in all I'd say it's a good but not great option. Key takeaways below:

Positive: absolutely wonderful staff, great weekday happy hours, very convenient location.

Negative: unappealing breakfast buffet, slightly older facilities, nonrefundable pet deposit significantly higher than competition.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WesGotro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2010

The staff at the Inn is very customer-friendly, the location is within walking distance to many nice restaurants, shopping, and services. It is well-maintained with a lovely pool and access to a great golf course and a membership to a good fitness center. What more could you ask. Great place for a family gathering and perfect for all ages. We will definitely come back and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkastens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

The Inn at Tallgrass is securely tucked in an upscale east side neighborhood of Wichita, allowing all of our wedding party, family, guests, to have within a walking distance, eateries, 24 hour grocery, upscale boutiques, hair salon, department & electronic stores....and best of all some of Wichita's finest jewelry stores. This same venue was used for our family's wedding guests 20 years ago, and we all noticed the vast changes. Rooms are modern, clean, and exquisitely furnished with comfortable beds in every room. Having the cocktail hour on weekdays, bbq on Thursday, and complimentary breakfasts guaranteed our guests a great stay as well. Having the shopping convenience allowed our wedding party to have their hair styled within walking distance, purchase souvenirs to take home to their countries of Brazil and Mexico, and for the groom from Brazil to buy a gift for his bride, a long awaited diamond engagement ring, a custom of America but not of Brazil to give her at the altar.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DellaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hays, ks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

I needed a place to stay on short notice and this place was much cheaper than the name brand hotel across the street. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. As soon as I checked in they had a kick back hour where they had drinks and hot wings for free. The place looked like an old apartment complex they turned into a hotel. If you ever needed a long term stay this would be the place.
The place was a little dated and looked a little dingy even though I think it was clean. The sheets made me itchy but that could just be me. Breakfast was good too with a nice ham and egg casserole.
Overall very pleased.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aj_qwert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

I came here after staying in another hotel for two nights on recommendation from another contractor at the company I was helping. Like other reviews have said, the place is old, but the bathrooms at least were recently renovated and the living rooms are massive enough to entertain (if I were going to). The full kitchen is dated but spacious and functional, the flat screen TV is pretty awesome, and the bedroom is comfy. The only reason I give the rooms 3 bubbles instead of 5 is because there are two windows, and they both look directly at the bed. It might just be me, but being on the ground floor, I don't really want to open my curtains so weirdos can look at my bed.

All in all, I would recommend staying at this hotel for a long or short amount of time. The staff is helpful and quick, and everything else is top notch. And negotiate a rate - they came down quite a bit for us!

Also, they don't have a gym on the premises so they give you a guest membership to the health club across the street. Everyone at the gym is great too, and they're more than helpful to people who've never been there before and need assistance. You just go to the desk and get a one day pass, so easy!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajurkash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wichita hotels
6.4 mi away
Hotel At WaterWalk
Hotel At WaterWalk
#10 of 87 in Wichita
480 reviews
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront
5.5 mi away
Hotel at Old Town
Hotel at Old Town
#3 of 87 in Wichita
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Broadview Wichita
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wichita-Northeast
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wichita Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Tallgrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Tallgrass

Property: The Inn at Tallgrass
Address: 2280 N Tara Cir, Wichita, KS 67226-1914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Wichita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Tallgrass 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inn at Tallgrass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Tallgrass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing