We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable”

Lady Musgrave Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$173.54*
and up
Lady Musgrave Day Trip from Bundaberg Including Snorkeling, Glass Bottom Tour...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This island has some of the best diving and snorkeling in Queensland.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were travelling from Cairns to Brisbane in a campervan and really wanted to the the Great Barrier Reef. We had been put off by other family members regarding the Cairns experience and the Airlie Beach experience. The first because we'd been told that the coral was dying off Cairns and the second that Airlie was very expensive. The trip was quite expensive for the time of year.
We did this at what could be called 'early season' so the catamaran was not at all crowded. But the sea was VERY rough. I do not like sailing in the slightest but I managed to not be sea sick by watching the horizon and relaxing the stomach muscles-and it worked!
The crew was attentive and knowledgeable, especially Sabrina, and worked well as a team. We were told that this was the only reef trip that went in to a lagoon so therefore was quite calm for snorkelling.
The island visit was interesting and informative but I wouldn't enjoy it in high summer because of th smell of bird droppings. It was pretty minimal in September. We saw several huge turtles on the journey from the pontoon to the island.
Snorkelling was very interesting and I found that facilities were adequate for the number of people onboard the pontoon. I don't think it would have been so accommodating in high season. Unfortunately we had a rain shower which made the snorkelling interesting and also dulled the colours of the coral somewhat. The number of highly coloured fish was amazing to see.
The food was very good and plentiful.
Overall I would recommend this trip in either the the early or late season, but possibly not in high season.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    31
    8
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A lot of sick people on the boat!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Well travelling out to Lady Musgove on this boat was like being in the middle of a busy town centre at 1am on a Saturday night. People were throwing up everywhere! Luckily I escaped but my boyfriend didn't. I'm sure the journey took over 2 hours to get there. If you suffer at all from sea sickness then take a tablet before you go

Anyway there are a lot of people one the boat so you are given stamps and numbers so that you can visit all the 'attractions'. We decided to wait until getting to Cairns to dive so we just did some snorkeling which was amazing. We saw loads of fish and giant clams.

We had a good go in the glass bottomed boat which I really enjoyed, the glass could have done with a bit of a clean though! The same for the semi-submersible.

Lady Musgrave Island was beautiful. I would definitely recommend trying to book a night's stay on it. Unfortunately we didn't have time to do this.

There was plenty of food available all day and with all the sick people most weren't eating!

If you can put up with the people then I'd recommend this trip

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Uluru_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“the Wal-Mart of Great Barrier Reef Tours?”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Let’s start with the good parts: the tour is very reasonably priced, lunch is pretty good, most of the staff is friendly and funny, and you’ll get to say that you saw the Great Barrier Reef.

And now the not-so-good part: the 120-person boat was absolutely crammed with people, and the entire day was all about moving us from station to station. Our wrists were stamped with numbers, and we were given specific times to visit Lady Musgrave Island (interesting, but the tour was too quick) and eat lunch. It felt incredibly rushed, cramped, and impersonal.

Everything was crowded, and everything went by far too quickly—we had 45 minutes on the island, only a few minutes in the glass-bottom boat, 20 minutes in the semi-submersible, and roughly an hour of snorkeling.

This is a great tour for “checking the box” and saying that you got to see the reef without eviscerating your bank account. But it’s not a great tour in general—I highly recommend looking elsewhere if you can afford a better tour.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank WildBoarNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice snorkeling but too expensive for what you get and definetely stay away from the diving...”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We booked a tour with lady musgrave cruises for 180,- pP. The crew on board was nice, but the boat quite old and not suitable for the many tourists they take onboard. No place for our group of 4 to sit together & no space to move around a bit. Makes the almost 2 h trip (although they promise you 75min) seem very long. Snorkeling was very nice, but we also booked the two dives and were gravely disappointed. Groups too big, dives very short and totally unmotivated dive masters that didn't point out a single interesting thing and rushed us through the whole experience. First dive at the outer reef is mostly damaged coral, none of the turtles or rays that you "always see". The second dive in the lagoon was nice but nothing special, you see nothing that you wouldn't see if you only snorkel.

Helpful?
1 Thank littlepenguin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic trip”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We book a day trip from Town of 1770, it was not cheap, but worth it. You go 3hours by boat to the island. there is lagoon, so the reef is very clearly visible. We had also the lunch provided, and snorkeling all day long, diving was also possible.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank burtie144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lady Musgrave Island also viewed

Lady Elliot Island, Queensland
Great Keppel Island, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Lady Musgrave Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing