We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open 24 hours”
Review of Penny's Diner

Penny's Diner
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
South Haven, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Open 24 hours”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

It has good home cooked food. We were there when it first opened and they had some problems. It is better now. It is nice for the railroad workers because it is directly across from the motel and is opened all the time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!!!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stopped in at Penny's Diner on our way back home to Texas. I just happened to see the state sign on the side of the road. We had the Hearty Breakfast and it was FABULOUS!!! The pancakes are so light and fluffy. The hash browns were the best I have ever had. Golden crispy on the outside and so moist and buttery onthe inside, YUM!!!

The atmosphere is a 50's diner with decor to match. Very clean and plesant. Our waitress very friendly and cheerful! we highly recommend Penny's Diner if you are in the Wellngton, KS area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Ca
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Happiest employees I've ever seen”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Food good...like most diners. Their hamburgers are all 1/2 pound Black Angus. Lots of those guys on the prairies around here so I assumed the beef was local. Fries nice & crispy.
The best part was the attitudes of the cooks & waiters. Wanting to please in every possible way & smiling & laughing all the while! One waitress even said; "Aren't we lucky to work in such a happy place? We just have so much fun!"

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PanAmPatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Five happy diners!!”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Traveling from Tulsa with kids wanting breakfast for dinner. Penny's hit the spot!! Bacon was delicious. Best hash browns we've had in a long time! Servers were nice and very accomodating. Decor was awesome! And we got to watch as our food was made...A lot of satisfied customers!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kskolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not clean”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Good food but slow service.
Cant think of 50 characters. Reviews must be at least 50 characters Reviews must be at least 50 characters

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TraveltooMuch60885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penny's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Penny's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing