We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northeast Kansas comfort”
Review of Simmer Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Simmer Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wamego
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Simmer Motel is a jewel of a find. Located in Wamego, KS just about 15-20 minutes away from KSU campus, it is the perfect travel stop for families, couples, girl trips - even hunters and field workers find respite here. The rooms are well-equipped and clean. Beds are comfortable and the staff is friendly. Some of the rooms have a fun themed decor. When I stay here I feel like I'm visiting a friend.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Big12chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 82 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

The people who work here are incredibly nice. They bent over backwards to make us feel welcome and our stay was great. We brought 2 dogs and there was plenty of room to walk them around. I lost my room key and they told me not to worry about it... no charge. I found it in my purse today so I'm mailing it back. Simmer Motel has unique features no chain of hotels has and I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennySwonderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Rooms could use a little updating, but was very large and had two bedrooms, a full size fridge etc. Stayed there after a K-State game and it was a fairly quick drive from Manhattan. Bathroom was a little small, but clean. Front desk staff person was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We came to town for our daughters wedding, my wife,mother in law and i shared a room. They even had room for me to park my semi truck.very friendly, quick to take care of our needs, very clean, affordable wash/ dryer. Everything in walking distance. Great country setting, clean pool, playground, excellent staff. Oh did i mention that it was labor day weekend, and k- state game. No rate increase! May not be a five star, high price hotel. But got treated like 5 star guest. Thank you very much for your woundful hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank truckdriver1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were recently traveling through Kansas and were looking for a place to stay close to Alma, KS, and the Simmer Motel had very good reviews and great prices. Simmer Motel lived up to and beyond our expectations! The owners were very nice and talked to us about some of the local history and places to see. The room was immaculate and very nicely outfitted. It is probably the cleanest place we have ever stayed. We travel through Kansas periodically, and we will definitely make this a stop whenever we can, and we highly recommend this place to anyone. It's worth the few extra miles off of I70!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 765ericb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimmerManager, Owner at Simmer Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank-you so much for taking the time to write a review on tripadviser. I am so glad that your stay was a good one. It made me so happy to read all of the wonderful things you said about us.
We try so hard to achieve the high standards that people expect and rightly so. I will let my staff know that all my ranting about having to be the cleanest motel around was appreciated. Sincerley Simmer Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Was not impressed with hotel across street so we ventured here...Must say we had a GREAT stay!!We didn't arrive until almost midnite yet they didn't hesitate to show us a few room choices...WE WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND TO ANYONE ANYTIME.Lovely creative clean rooms...Staff and owner was VERY NICE..She even gave us directions and info for our future destinations on our Anniversary Roadtrip.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimmerManager, Owner at Simmer Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank-you so much for your kind words, I enjoyed visiting with you and appreciate that you would take the time to give us a good review. For the small business it is the word of mouth as the old saying goes, that will make or break a business. I am so glad you had a good experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We initially chose this motel due to its close proximity to the Oz Museum and the fact that they have a 3 Queen bed suite to accommodate our family.

Very clean room and friendly staff. Everything we needed was in the room including dinnerware in the kitchenette. We will likely be in the area in the future and will stay here when that time comes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank firefly36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wamego
0.2 mi away
Wamego Inn & Suites
Wamego Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Wamego
57 reviews
13.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 16 in Manhattan
151 reviews
14.3 mi away
Bluemont Hotel
Bluemont Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manhattan
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simmer Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simmer Motel

Address: 1215 W US Highway 24, Wamego, KS 66547-1200
Location: United States > Kansas > Wamego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wamego
Price Range: $66 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Simmer Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Simmer Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing