We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very awesome family owned Motel”
Review of Simmer Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Simmer Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wamego
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We had a 50th surprise birthday party here for our cousin it was so awesome we will be having a family and friends gathering here every year. Enjoyed the park like setting that is kept very clean, swimming pool very clean also. Rooms are very awesome very clean and comfortable.
Will recommend to anyone looking for a nice place to stay.

The Johnson and Reed Family's

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 84 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2010

I have traveled all over with my husband, and there are very few hotels that I would recommend. This one is one of the few. Super CLEAN! We stayed in the Wizard of Oz theme room, and it was a truly great experience. I actually smiled every time I opened the door to come into the room. Wonderful painted murels on the walls of scenes from the movie, Auntie Em's "kitchenette", and the cutest theme decorations make this room a must to bring your children or grandchildren to. There is a sitting room with a sectional sofa and tv that is separate from the double queen size bedroom. Lots of room to spread out in. Also, a huge plus for me.....American/local owned, and the management bends over backward to make your stay the best!! We will stay here again when we are in the area!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tntcox77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We left I-70 in search of somthing different from the usual motels found at every interstate exit and fund it at Simmer Motel. Ten miles north of I-70 we enjoyed our stay with a very friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, and great prices. We recommend it to anyone willing to take a few extra minutes for a real down home experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobAndJerene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Stayed at this motel so I could check out the Wizard of Oz Museum. Located about 20 miles off the Interstate. Clean and comfortable and priced right.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDY8050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

I'll start with the major disappointment here -- we didn't have Wi-FI in our room. We didn't have any problems with the router reaching us in other places -- just here. But, the manager was accommodating to the extent she was able at the time and loaned us her son's laptop so we could get reservations ahead for the return trip. The "rate" we received was some more than I had anticipated, but I should have got that understood from the first by calling on the phone, so it was my own fault. We had a 1-bedroom apt, in essence, with a total of three very comfortable beds throughout. The decor is very Americana, cute, and we had a faux fireplace in the corner of the living room. The kitchen leaves quite a bit to be desired if you plan to cook. All our room had was a four-burner electrip cook top, plus a toaster that doesn't toast, a coffee maker, and a microwave -- no oven. But, we did have a full-sized refrigerator. We just spent most meals "dining" at McD's or Sonic just down the street. There is a nice grocery store just a couple of doors down, and we were able to get plenty of fruit and sandwich stuff (plus the requisite junk food) for our stay (about 5 days). This Inn is older, but in a park-like setting with ample parking. The rooms were very clean and stocked with basic cooking utensils, pans, and dishes. We travel with our little 7-pound Chihuahua, and he was very welcomed there. There was a huge celebration throughout the town the entire week of July 4th, and we were able to watch a tremendous fireworks display from just sitting out front of our building -- one to rival the one at Pasadena Rosebowl in California that I've seen many times from when we lived in the area. Just a lot of community spirit, and it shows everywhere! We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janberridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

The simmer motel is an excellent choice if you are going to Wamego Kansas, they are cheaper than the the competition in town and the rooms are nicer. They also have a great swimming pool.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank asharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2006

The Simmer Motel in Wamego, Kan., offers an affordable stay with nice rooms in a small town setting. Convenient to Manahttan, Kan., and Kansas State University, this privately owned motel is a great place to book a stay when you are going to Manhattan for a K-State football or basketball game. It's only about 15 minutes from Manhattan along a four-lane highway. As a bonus, Wamego is a delightful little community featuring an old Dutch Wildmill, a Wizard of Oz museum and a Theatre featuring paintings from an early 20th Century Worlds Fair in Chicago. Check out the Simmer, the rates are so affordable, even for their best rooms, it's tough to go wrong.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mltdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Simmer Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simmer Motel

Address: 1215 W US Highway 24, Wamego, KS 66547-1200
Location: United States > Kansas > Wamego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wamego
Price Range: $62 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Simmer Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Simmer Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing