We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's no place like home, except the Oz Museum!”
Review of Oz Museum

Oz Museum
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Wamego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This museum houses one of the largest private collections of Oz memorabilia in the world.
Livingston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“There's no place like home, except the Oz Museum!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The Wizard of Oz was/is a favorite of mine, as it is many of us since we were kids. Going thru the museum will make you feel like a kid again. You'll see life size images of the characters and scenery from the movie along with many other things pertaining to it, the author, and toys that have been sold thru the years. You can even go into the theatre room they've provided and watch the movie on a large screen. They also have a shop, when you first go in, where you can buy everything Oz related. Loved it and hope to go back some day with my granddaughter.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    119
    36
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Aransas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Must If You Loved the Movie!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Wasn't expecting much when I saw the billboard for the Oz Museum but turned off the highway and headed into Wamego to check it out and I'm so glad I did! What a fun little museum! There are displays for each character and lots of memorabilia! Really a nice stop for any Wizard of Oz fan. There are some fun tshirts and other items in the gift shop as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank outtahereaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you love Oz or Entertainment History this museum is worth it”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Although this little town of Wamego, KS is off the highway by 7-9 miles, it was totally worth the detour for my family. Mind you my teenage boys were much more interested in getting a break from the car than seeing a museum based on a movie that didn't involve zombies. I have loved this movie from way back when I would crawl into my daddy's lap during the dark forest scene and any scene with those dreaded flying monkeys! This museum was perfect starting with the author's history and family and ending with the movie playing in a little theater. The museum has a gift shop for all things Oz related too.We ate at Toto's Taco's next door, great Mexican food and wonderful people serving us. Highly recommended!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamie881970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Walk Back In Time”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The wizard of OZ is a historical period. This little museum brings back the days of Dorothy and Toto, along with the wicked witch. Interesting stories and artifacts. Worth a visit for the nostagia.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JRSilverstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I'm not a Wizard of Oz fan, but...”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This was very well done and a nice surprise as you are driving out I-70 in rural Kansas. Kids will enjoy it, anyone who likes the movie was just love it. Worth the time and the 10 miles off the interstate. Local volunteers are really nice, and are quite proud of their town of 4,000-5,000. And they should be, very nice place with friendly people. Make sure you go across the street to their "yellow brick road".

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oz Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing