We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On par with other Courtyard Marriott's I've been to”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Kansas City Shawnee
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shawnee
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My wife and I along with another couple stayed at this Courtyard on a Saturday night, we were visiting KC for a birthday weekend. We picked it mainly because of its close location to the Legends Shopping center just a 7-10 miles north of the hotel. Its pretty easy to get to right off the interstate and there is a Herford House just across the parking lot.

We arrived mid-afternoon and our room was ready, the front desk staff lady was very helpful and friendly, she asked where we were from and what we were doing in town. She had us on the 3rd floor and said that a hockey team was staying on the first floor, so that hopefully it would be quiet up stairs. Our room had two double beds and we shared with another couple so it was crowded, but it worked.

The bathroom was fine but no fan, the thermostat was a little tricky to figure out, but we did get it to work and it worked well. Everything of a hotel was pretty typical. The elevator is kinda strange very slow and noisey, but no major issues. There have breakfast the next day, but its around 10 bucks, your better off to just go somewhere else.

We were able to relax and play some cards and watch TV in the room before going to sleep which was nice, beds were fine and the room stayed dark for us facing the east in the AM, let us sleep in a little. All in all its a pretty good stay, the price fit for what we got. If you want smoething fancy this is not the place, if you want a place you can sleep comfortably this will work.

Room Tip: Find out if sports teams or some other group is staying in the hotel, if so try to get a room away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cougar729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 112 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2011

we had a good stay in Shawnee Kansas visiting family. Everyone was friendly. The room was very clean. The bed was comfortable. The location (for us) was excellent. We had dinner in the steak house right next door and my prime rib was excellent. Would definitely stay here again if we come to Shawnee.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bartschmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We normally stay on the Country Club Plaza but chose the Shawnee location to be closer to family on this trip. The front desk staff was surprisingly unfriendly, very unusual in our experience with Marriott. The elevator was excruciatingly slow, but luckily we were only on the 2nd floor, so after the first creaky experience, we took the stairs. There is almost nothing within walking distance of this Shawnee Marriott, just one steakhouse restaurant. For anything else, you must get back into the car. The Courtyard Cafe was fine on a weekday but very, very limited on the weekend--the only option was the $10 buffet, a bit of a problem on a weekend when the waffle iron was broken and there were not even any decent baked goods. Next time we'll go back to the Plaza!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank halltab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

I travel to the KC area frequently. Typically, I stay with family, however for this trip we opted to check out this hotel. The first impression of the lobby and staff were very positive and I felt like we had made a good decision. I will say the elevator in this hotel is perhaps one of the slowest I've ever experienced. We were on the 3rd floor and had lengthy waits each time. When we finally arrived at our room the smell of stale/stuffy air was almost overwhelming when we opened the door. The temperature in the room was eighty degrees. We immediately turned on the AC and contacted the front desk about the smell - their response was to send housekeeping with a can of air freshener. The smell didn't go away the entire time we were there, though it did get significantly better as long as the AC was running. Overall, the room was very clean and comfortable. We inquired about staying another night as we weren't ready to head back to Minneapolis. We asked at the front desk and were told by a rude and surly front desk clerk it would be $169 for the extra night. There was no way I would EVER pay that for this hotel room. We found the same room on the website for $109 and called the front desk clerk who laughed at us and simply hung up on us. This hotel could be great- it's a nice property but the issues we had were more than enough to ensure we won't be back. The Hampton Inn just down the road will get all of our business.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank enigmaMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Very nice Courtyard by Marriott near the Kansas Speedway. They got to us for the weekend rate, but it was so close to the speedway and convenient to get in and out. We really did enjoy the motel that we signed up for their reward program in order to have another option when we traveled again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HighlineFarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

I stayed here with a group of about 50 -- two youth futsal teams from Massachusetts. A smaller portion of us had stayed the previous year at the nearby Hampton Inn. But after staying at the Marriott this year we've concluded it to be the superior hotel in the area.

The staff was excellent in our preparations, communicating with us and arranging our entire group to be on the same floor together, including several adjoining rooms. They helped with special requests at breakfast and at night and were always courteous and helpful.

The rooms were well-appointed, clean and regularly refreshed. The wireless Internet worked great, and the mini-fridge was a great thing to have in each room.

The pool was small, much to the chagrin of the players, who would also have preferred more computers in the lounge/lobby. But overall it was an excellent experience and I'd recommend the hotel to anyone, including large groups.

We'll be back in February 2009 and look forward to staying at the Marriott again.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MillerWordScore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2008

My husband and I just spent a week at the Courtyard Marriott in Shawnee. Our room was very clean (and I am extremely picky) and the service was excellent. Having never been to the area, we often asked the front desk staff about different places to eat, places to go, things to see & do, etc. They went out of their way to always find answers to our questions and were very polite and helpful. We had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JustWag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawnee
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Shawnee Mission
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shawnee - Kansas City West
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Merriam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission
2.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Kansas City Lenexa/City Center
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City/Lenexa City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kansas City Shawnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kansas City Shawnee

Address: 17250 Midland Dr, Shawnee, KS 66217-8901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Shawnee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shawnee
Price Range: $94 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kansas City Shawnee 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard Kansas City Shawnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kansas City - Shawnee Hotel Shawnee
Courtyard Shawnee
Shawnee Courtyard
Shawnee Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing