We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can find a better eating experience.”

Renee Kelly's Harvest
Reserve with OpenTable
Renee Kelly's Harvest is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 121 Restaurants in Shawnee
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You can find a better eating experience.”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We go out for fine dining quite often and many times on someone's expense account. There are many great places to enjoy a great meal with friends and family and I strongly suggest you go elsewhere. The bar experience suffers from a lack of experience , slow and awkward but they try. Food options limited with many signature items not available (at least when our party was there on a Saturday night). Service was slow (the place was serving three tables at the time) with mistakes and resulting faliure to serve all at once with barely warm food. The pasta was bland and sticky, serving portions just sufficient. Prices were in the higher range. It is hard to understand how it got the reputation. Maybe great for private events. There was a large private party downstairs when we were there but with so few in the dining rooom it just showed up the lack of attention to the other diners. You can find much, much better throughout the city.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SScott4950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    15
    9
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto,Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mediocre food,bad service,good wine”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We took our son and his family to celebrate our daughter-in-laws birthday while visiting.We had a very bad experienc.Our daughter in law ordered chicken and the chicken was dry & inedible.She returned it & asked for a pasta dish because she thought it would be the quickest service.The pasta dish never appeared before the rest of the party (5 of us)finished our food.The management did not handle the situation well.We decided not to have dessert & coffee at the restaurant.& left.I was out about $190 for what can be at best be described as mediocre food.
We will never return to this place.We had 3 glasses of wine which was the only good thing

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank revamark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
202 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Dreadful kitchen problems ruin stellar food.”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

A group of four friends, including myself dined at Renee Kelley's Harvest restaurant with a reservation of 715 pm. The restaurant had few occupied tables. At 800 pm, we were finally seated. This was not because the main dining floor was busy. The upstairs was empty. This was because servers were standing around. When we said something, we were told there was a private party of 30 being served in the basement. We began our attempts to order only to find out many things were not available. We ordered a cheese and charcuterie board. It was supposed to have dried fruit on it. Less than a dozen dried cranberries does not constitute dried fruit(S). There was a tablespoon of jelly, no crackers or any sort of bread, very small slices of various cheeses, and three thinly sliced fatty pieces of meat consisting of pancetta, raw bacon and another unidentifiable meat. Our meal took forever to be served and when it arrived, many of the things on the plates did not match what the menu described. The food was excellent but its obvious either Renee Kelley or her management had no clue what was going on in the kitchen or they simply did not care. Very disappointing experience. Your party in the basement made the main floor dining experience an unforgettable one.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“So disappointed ..”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We arrived with our table of 11 to celebrate a special family birthday . The server let us know that many items were not available , sold out. She was a bit annoying with her descriptions of the entrees' " I'm really excited about this.. Etc."
When our food finally came , after a long wait.. I was so hungry I would of eaten a shoe ..and that's about the way the food tasted. Bland tasting food, poached eggs were over cooked on the salads, pasta all globbed together w a underwhelming sauce. Steak.. Just ok. And the loud group across from us made it nearly impossible to talk . I about fell over when I saw the other reviews?! Is there a new chef? How could our evening been so different ?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunflowergal62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
243 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This farm to table restaurant is set in a lovely 100 year old castle like stone building. The food is quite good and changes with each season of the year. They even grow some of their produce.

While not cheap, the prices are quite reasonable for this type of restaurant. Meals run from $20-35. Servings are not huge.

This is the nicest place in the area where you can get in without a long wait on a Saturday evening.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lighthouselovertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Renee Kelly's Harvest also viewed

 
Prairie Village, KS
 

Been to Renee Kelly's Harvest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing