We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priced too high”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Shawnee Mission
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Shawnee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The hotel was clean and the breakfast was ok but it was overpriced for what you got. We were there with a group of girls having a basketball game and we didn't receive any discount and the room was still expensive even with my AAA discount.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank winstonmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 323 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

Great atmosphere here. The rooms are clean, there is an awesome breakfast spread and chocolate chip cookies in the evening! The staff is very friendly and it's a nice and quiet hotel close to restaurants and easy acess to the highways.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kristine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Did not need workout facilities due to aerobic workout provided by standing in the shower/tub. Had to call the hotel number to get staff to come to front desk to check in. Somewhat entertaining but would not want to stay at this location again. Overall experience with Hampton Inns has been very positive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

While on a business trip I stayed in this hotel. The breakfasts were awesome and the kitchen staff was very pleasant. Most of the desk clerks were friendly, but a couple could try a smile on every once in a while. It was quiet and clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJWesterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay. Typical Hampton inn. Clean room and front desk was friendly. Pool and business center were good. I used the exercise room real quick. In town for marathon so not from the area. What I liked is I could walk out of the hotel and there were plenty of places to walk to for lunch or dinner.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank craig t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Always a good value. Seasoned staff who genually care about the hotel and guests. Great location with everything you need within walking distance. 200 words are not necessary to summarize this consistantly good experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Two of us had to attend an early morning meeting in the Kansas City area so we spent the night at the Hampton Inn. The location was good, close to several good restaurants, but the rooms were a little disappointing. I stayed there a few years ago, when they were fairly new, but this time I felt that they need a little bit of an overhaul. The beds are way too soft, the bathroom tile needs replacing or a good scrubbing, and the carpets should be shampooed. The breakfast was good and the coffee good and strong but the eggs should be "real". They have updated the breakfast area and should give the rooms the same attention.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValkyrieKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawnee
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Shawnee
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shawnee - Kansas City West
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Merriam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City/Lenexa City Center
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Overland Park
4.8 mi away
Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Kansas City/Shawnee Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kansas City/Shawnee Mission

Address: 16555 Midland Dr, Shawnee, KS 66217-9533
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Shawnee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Shawnee
Price Range: $126 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Kansas City/Shawnee Mission 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Kansas City/Shawnee Mission reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Shawnee Mission Hotel Shawnee
Hampton Inn Shawnee
Shawnee Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing