We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Average Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Shawnee Mission
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Shawnee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

As far as Hampton Inns go, this one is pretty average and starting to show some aging ... but still a great place to stay. The TV in my room was broke, but they were good to fix it. I've seen Hampton Inns offer a little more food than they did in their morning breakfast, but still not bad. Kathy was good to help me at the front desk with a change to my reservation, but she must have been having a bad day as she didn't seem to want to smile. I wish that the rooms had actual thermostats where you can select a temperature rather than having to do so from the window unit. But again, an alright (and convenient!) place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cl3dwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City/Shawnee Mission, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for your time and for your comments you have posted. I do want to let you know that we are set to remodel the entire lobby to the new Hampton Inn Lobby. We are awaiting our approval and should have it done very soon now. I think this will help show we are updating our hotel. I do appreciate your business and can''t wait for you to see our new lobby. If you have any questions or additional comments, please feel free to contact me at 913-754-3885.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 321 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great area right off I 435. Near shopping in Overland Park and Legends. Great restaurants close by. Can't beat the price for quality. Great breakfast! Helpful and professional hotel staff. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The staff is the best. Everyone was helpful and friendly. Nice breakfast and wonderful choice of food. The room was clean and the beds are very comfortable. Bathroom was cleaned daily and amenities were lovely. I always stay at this hotel when in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a house fire and this was the only hotel that would work with our insurance to give us a place to live for a week or so..... that week turned into a month+ while the insurance found us a rental home. We had meet some of the staff and one of the housekeepers had gone thought toys with her daughter and brought our daughter toys since our daughter had lost all of hers. Then we went up to use the microwave up front all the time and if we weren't doing that we were eating out which was quite painful on the wallet. About our second week into our stay the owner, managers, and staff had bought us a microwave. That help out greatly! We did have the plastic piece on the toilet handle break but they instantly replaced it with metal and we had no other problems. Every one was great and so helpful! It was very hard to leave. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The staff was friendly. They helped me with directions and also had some recommendations. The breakfast was very busy, but the staff was working very hard to keep a nice variety of food stocked and breakfast area well maintained. My kids and I enjoyed the entire stay! It was also nice to have the added security with an off duty officer available.

Room Tip: For me, it was perfect to have the room right across from the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hope H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've stayed here MANY times as this Hampton Inn is close to my company's headquarters. It's your "basic" Hampton Inn - a little on the older side and showing it. The rooms are generally clean and the staff is friendly enough. The location is very good for restaurants nearby (relative to the fact that you are in Shawnee, KS) and there's a movie theater right across the parking lot if you have free time to kill. Parking is ample and close.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beach_Life_PVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We booked this hotel because it was close to friends we were visiting. The refrigerator in my room so moldy i was afaid to use it but over all the room and hotel was clean. The rate was a little high but it is in Johnson county and everything there is over priced. My one real complaint was about the breakfast buffet. The scrambled eggs were dry, there was no sausage or bacon and the potatos were cold and raw. On top of that there was no wheat bread for toast. How do you run out of wheat in Kansas?

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 479bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy B, Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City/Shawnee Mission, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. Also, thank you for letting me know about the issues you had with the breakfast and the refridgerator. I would be more than happy to talk to you aboue these issues and also to get more information about your dates of stay so that we can pinpoint and resolve these issues. Please feel free to contact me at (913)248-1900 and ask for Randy Bull. Again, thank you for your feedback and my sincerest apologies for your inconvenience. Sincerely, Randy and your friends at the Hampton Inn - Shawnee, KS.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawnee
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shawnee - Kansas City West
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Shawnee
4.8 mi away
Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City/Overland Park
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Merriam
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Kansas City/Shawnee Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kansas City/Shawnee Mission

Address: 16555 Midland Dr, Shawnee, KS 66217-9533
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Shawnee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Shawnee
Price Range: $116 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Kansas City/Shawnee Mission 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Kansas City/Shawnee Mission reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Shawnee Mission Hotel Shawnee
Hampton Inn Shawnee
Shawnee Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing